Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As fun and warm as visiting an old friend
Sequels are always a risk, and this one paid off. It's not perfect, but it's a great read and one for the keeper shelf.

This is very much like As you Desire. If you liked that book, and wanted to read it again, but without already knowing the plot, this is for you. It's the same humour, setting, and smile inducing romance in a different book. - If you haven't...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to read....
The download was so poor. Chunks missed out, paragraphs repeated. I've given up on it. Thankfully only cost me 99p....
Published 16 months ago by Liz Wareing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As fun and warm as visiting an old friend, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
Sequels are always a risk, and this one paid off. It's not perfect, but it's a great read and one for the keeper shelf.

This is very much like As you Desire. If you liked that book, and wanted to read it again, but without already knowing the plot, this is for you. It's the same humour, setting, and smile inducing romance in a different book. - If you haven't read As you Desire, then read both, in either order - they're both fine as stand-alones.

The plot synopsis above is fine, and so I won't really add to that, except to say that Ginesse is very much like her mother, Desdemona (which is understandable, the apple doesn't fall far from the tree) and ends up with a man rather like her father (which again, is not unheard of). The setting is Egypt, and is as beautifully atmospheric as expected. Ginesse is a trouble magnet, and Jim is her champion. But it's not her fault... ;)

This book doesn't fall into the mistake of spending ages focusing on previous characters - Dizzy and Harry are mainly absent from this novel. I do have one slight criticism: I'm not a fan of overly sweet baby filled ever afters, and some of my favourite Connie Brockway books are notably absent of this (for instance All through the night). If you like this, all to the good. If you don't you may have to kind've mentally block out that Dizzy has eight children, and Ginesse already has one at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Helen Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
It's the beginning of the 20th century and feisty, accident-prone British heroine Ginny is returning from exile in England to Egypt, the place she considers home. Her interesting, extrovert family are well-known there, with both her father and her great-grandfather having made their name as Egyptologists, and two of her six younger brothers setting about establishing theirs, too. Ginny is determined to make her mark - but it isn't long before she meets the man who may well prove to be her undoing: Jim Owens, a half-English, half-American mercenary with a secret past and a gorgeous body.

Jim and Ginny are thrown together on a treacherous journey across the desert where their attraction to each other grows stronger and stronger. They have courage, humour, resourcefulness, passion and intelligence, and they're young and attractive. However pride on both sides leads to misunderstandings that are are difficult to resolve, neither of them is truthful about their real identity, and even if they manage to outwit the dangerous enemies that have been pursuing them since they left Cairo, society's conventions may make it impossible for them to be together.

The adventure story is told with warmth and humour, the characters are engaging and the sex scenes are well-written. In the week that the contenders for the 2011 European Bad Sex award were announced, reading Connie's book was a reminder that sex scenes in books don't have to be awful. The Other Guy's Bride was very entertaining and the sex scenes are sexy. I have already downloaded the book that preceeds it, As You Desire, and I look forward to reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Guy's Bride - outstanding read, 24 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't too sure what to expect as I had read the prequel and despite being impressed with it, I wasn't 100% convinced that the novel would be as good but it certainly didn't disappoint. The writing style was brillant, the story really flowed, there was a lot of humour between Ginesse and Jim as well as passion. I loved the fact that she kept turning down his marriage proposals until the penny finally dropped as to what he was doing wrong. I found it addictive, I just couldn't put it down once I had started reading it. I'll certainly now look at what other books Connie Brockway has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to read...., 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
The download was so poor. Chunks missed out, paragraphs repeated. I've given up on it. Thankfully only cost me 99p....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Enjoyable Read, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
Yes I agree with previous reviewers. This is a really enjoyable read with a lively plot and interesting, amusing characters. It's well written and I actually laughed out loud a number of times. You don't have to have read the previous novel to enjoy the plot but it helps a little bit to get some of the references. I can imagine reading this book several times and enjoying it again and again. I won't go into plot details as other reviews have already covered this but having read an awful lot of historical romances, I can honestly tell you that this is a good one. Don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of factual errors but good anyway., 29 April 2014
By 
Dutch Biker (St Neots, Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
This novel is chock-a-block with factual errors and inaccuracies that really irritated me and distracted from the story. For examples:
- the Southern Cross is not visible from the Sahara, which is in the northern hemisphere; the Southern Cross is only visible from the southern hemisphere (the clue is in the name...).
- Only a madman would try travel to Italy from London by boat and then travel on to Cairo by train. (If you don't see why, check a map!). I know it sets the scene for the rest of the story, but it's still ridiculous.
- There is no English army. British, yes, but not English!

Having built up a head of steam about all the mistakes, Connie Brockway then (mostly) disarms me by saying that she knows that, for example, women were not awarded degrees at Cambridge University in those days and she used a lot of poetic licence elsewhere too.

I still think she was careless in places and there are genuine mistakes, but at the end of the day it was otherwise well written, entertaining and original, and so yes, I will be reading more by Connie Brockway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
good funny adventurous
recorded to.anyone that likes adventure and free spirits.
really entertaining and difficult to put down
enjoy the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
Very believable. romantic characters. vivid description. exciting hunt and twists to the story gave it a definite edge. me likely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
A great book with interesting references to Egyptian history entangled in a wonderful love story. Hard to put down, great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by its cover (well, not entirely...), 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Guy's Bride (Kindle Edition)
I had looked beyond the Mills & Boon style front cover when I downloaded this book and I'm glad I did. Whilst somewhat predictable, this was an enjoyable read, with fun characters. I had not read the book that preceded this one and don't feel I really needed to, although the heroine's father makes a somewhat unnecessary appearance at the end, to presumably tie the book in with the previous story. Overall, an enjoyable and easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other Guy's Bride
The Other Guy's Bride by Connie Brockway
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews