Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book
An excellently written, but harrowing account of this young woman's life with severe M.E., and of the disbelief, neglect, abuse, cruelty and torture she received from the M.E. specialists supposedly 'caring' for her that led to her symptoms worsening so much that she - left paralysed, incontinent, unable to speak or swallow, finally could take no more.Thank goodness she...
Published on 17 April 2011 by Bluebottle83

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for those who know someone who suffer from ME
This book tells the true story of a young women's battle against a horrible illness told through the eyes of her mother who assisted on her suicide.

As some one who suffers from this condition I failed to connect with the real life battle with this condition purely because it was written by her mother and from her mothers point of view. My own mother and family...
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by Eccentric Genius


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 17 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellently written, but harrowing account of this young woman's life with severe M.E., and of the disbelief, neglect, abuse, cruelty and torture she received from the M.E. specialists supposedly 'caring' for her that led to her symptoms worsening so much that she - left paralysed, incontinent, unable to speak or swallow, finally could take no more.Thank goodness she had loving family.

M.E. has been classified as a neurological illness by the World Health Organisation since 1969, yet in the UK it is treated as a form of malingering. No-one in the medical profession seems to have asked what contaminant was in the vaccine that caused so much damage to a healthy, lively, intelligent 14 year old's body.

Kay writes:

"When her body was examined by the pathologist who specialised in M.E., he discovered 'dorsal root ganglionitis' - infected nerve roots - and nodules of Nageotte, which are liitle tombs of dead cells, in her spinal cord. These would have caused her terrible pain and sensory nerve damage. They found similar cells in the body of Sophia Mirza, an M.E. sufferer who died in 2005 at the age of 32,and I believe also in other sufferers."

Yet still the UK psychiatric profession take all the research and treatment funding. The situation is a national scandal.

may Lynn rest in peace after so many years of incredible suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Story, 15 April 2011
Kay Gilderdale and her family have had the terrible misfortune of being not only the victims of the terrible neuro-immune disease ME ('CFS'), but also of the British government's persecution of ME patients. She is very brave to speak out and tell her gripping story. One of the most moving narratives I have ever read. If you think patients are not intentionally victimized by the government in 'civilized countries' in order to save itself and insurance companies from having to treat them, think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The TRUE reality of severe M.E., 16 April 2011
By 
P. D. Gray (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not only a heartbreaking story of bravery but also an insight into just how devastating ME is not only to the sufferer but also their familes and friends.
The NHS, goverment and media choose to belittle and ignore this disease and sufferers face scorn, disbelief and a life in pain and poverty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly moving, 12 May 2011
By 
Alison L (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
I don't normally read "misery memoirs" but made an exception for this book because it's about a young woman with ME, which I myself used to suffer from. I thought that I had it badly, but my symptoms pale into insignificance compared with Lynn Gilderdale's. Her story is unbelievably tragic. She couldn't speak, move out of bed, do anything for herself, and was in so much pain that she was permanently on morphine. Anyone who doubts that ME is a real illness should read this book, which is heartbreakingly readable. Her mother Kay was the best mother anyone could ask for in such circumstances, and Lynn was lucky to have her. Kay didn't have much of a life outside of caring for Lynn, but she never complained, because she loved her daughter so much. One of the most poignant moments in the book for me was that Lynn loved animals so her mum got her a hamster to run around on the bed and be stroked. When Lynn decides she can't take it any longer and asks her mum to help her die it is almost unbearable to read.
Lynn was a beautiful young girl who should have had a wonderful life ahead of her. This devastating disease robbed her of that. Having read this book, I shan't forget Lynn, and I really hope her mother can have a good life knowing that she was a truly loving mother, a mother to be proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desperately sad, 2 May 2011
The story of Lyn and Kay Gilderdale was the saddest I have ever read. However combined with enormous sadness there was anger at the medical profession and the powers-that be for the brutal treatment of those diagnosed with ME. There is a refusal to only see this as a psychological condition which it is definately not. I have experience of nursing someone with ME and know it is the most devastating in its effect and is of neurological origin. When will the UK government fully recognise what patients go through and come up with proper treatment. The positive side of this sad story is perhaps it may give attention to the harrowing suffering of those experiencing this dreadful illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One last goodbye, 10 Jun 2011
A very moving story told by a mother who loved her daughter so much that she tried against all odds to find some treatment, but was very badly let down by the NHS. I fully understood her dilema, as I am also an M.E. sufferer and know from first hand experience how extremely difficult it is to get accross to non M.E. people how on a daily basis you struggle with all the different symptoms. Sadly Lynn was one off the 25% of patients with M.E. who are totaly bed bound.

Kay Gilderdale (the author) is a wonderful lady and deserves a medal for coping with the a very tragic life of her very brave daughter.

A wonderful book, easy to read and understand, should be sent to all GP's and M.E. specialists to help them understand exactly what M.E. is about.

Fully recommend this book to everyone who cares about humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts, 24 April 2011
Wow, what an amazing book, I saw Kay on a daytime programme and felt compelled to buy her book. I don't normally leave feedback nor read this type of book but I couldn't put it down. The constant brick walls Kay encountered would have floored the best of us but to continue and never give up is testament to an amazing woman. Lynn was so lucky to have you for a mum. Fantastic account of what Kay and Lynn went thro. Thank you Kay for sharing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and Moving, 27 May 2011
This is a well written and moving book.

I have been ill for many years with M.E, (though less severe than Lynn) yet I found more help in coping with this illness than in some "practical" guides to M.E. For example it explained the various ways the family coped with Lynn being bedbound like how her mother bought her a hamster to stroke and reorintated a small computer that could be used in bed.

The medical profession's neglect and abuse of Lynn was horrfying, yet reading about it gave me some comfort as I also went through a similar ordeal with doctor's neglect. I felt less alone after reading the book.

This is an important book because it is the first mass published book on a severe case of M.E that tells the story in a narrative. This is a big landmark when you consider how common M.E is (more cases than AIDS or M.S) and how neglected it is as a medical subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sad state of M.E. in Britain today., 8 Jun 2011
This book should be read by every single GP in the country and every consultant, currently working in 'so-called' ME/CFS clinics in the UK. This tragic story highlights the true reality of having ME in the UK today. There is NO MEDICAL HELP OF ANY USE ON THE NHS. People are dying of this illness and THE UK GOVERNMENT IS IGNORING THEM. I have M.E. and if (God forbid), one of my own children were to become ill with it, I would do the same as Kay Gilderdale did. An amazingly brave woman, an outstanding Mother, a credit to her beautiful and brave daughter, who will be remembered by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving..., 10 Jun 2011
By 
I am extremely glad I read this book. It probably isn't many people's cup of tea and I'll be the first to admit, it is a difficult and harrowing read. However, it is so well written and really gives the reader a clear insight into what life was like for this family, as well as promoting awareness of the disease, one of the reasons why I ordered the book.
The love, devotion and bravery shown by both Kay and Lynn is incredible. It also highlights the ignorance the medical profession has when it comes to ME, as well as the laws on assisted suicide and illustrates why for so many reasons this situation was so damn unfair.
At first I didn't see the point in including chapters about Kays childhood, but you soon come to realise how significant this is to the rest of the story.
I read this book in a day, and it stays with you long after the last page. If I ever feel down, or even a bit under the weather, I remember how Lynn must have felt for 17 years of her life and it makes me appreciate everything that I have. A very humbling story. I can only aspire to be as devoted and caring a mother as Kay was. A true inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews