Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (232)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking
There are times when you know you have brought your kids up properly. Pretty decent gift buyers at the best of times, mine excelled their own high standards when they raided the piggy bank to buy me the BBC's Frozen Planet on Blu Ray for Christmas.

Having watched it and loved it when it was broadcast on TV, and in High Definition, this wasn't the same as when I...
Published 23 months ago by James Adamson

versus
12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning footage, poor DVDs
The footage in Frozen Planet is stunning and whilst the series is not really a documentary as it lacks any real attempt to inform, the images are stunning. The series is worth watching for the sense of wonder it invokes. However, some of the footage is actually recycled from 'Life in the Freezer', there is too much focus on 'cute' photogenic animals and a strange...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by crisisfan


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 23 Aug 2012
By 
There are times when you know you have brought your kids up properly. Pretty decent gift buyers at the best of times, mine excelled their own high standards when they raided the piggy bank to buy me the BBC's Frozen Planet on Blu Ray for Christmas.

Having watched it and loved it when it was broadcast on TV, and in High Definition, this wasn't the same as when I reacquainted myself with the Planet Earth series I'd seen on normal TV when the Blu Ray box set came out, and finally got to see it in all its HD glory. This was quite simply a case of really having to have this on disc, for posterity, because it's such a damn good series.

All the elements we have come to expect are here - and what high standards we have been allowed to develop! - Attenborough's obligatory, authoritative narration of course. Stunning visuals, high drama. A glimpse of living things and environments so alien to the way most of us live, it's surprising that we even occupy the same planet.

The standout moment in the series for me was the devastating encounter between a bison and a wolf in the Arctic, in which predator and prey (the latter many times larger and more powerful than the former) are separated from their respective groups and face off in perhaps the ultimate life or death batttle ever captured in a nature documentary. I was emotionally drained when I watched it, and it retains its power on repeat viewings. It really brought home what a titanic struggle the daily life of some animals can be.

There have been so many nature programmes over the years that you wonder if there's a tiny corner of the planet that hasn't been filmed yet. But still Attenborough and the BBC deliver surprises, and show us new worlds right under our noses. The astonishing stretch of frozen forest and tundra across Earth's northern hemisphere. The underwater world under the Antarctic ice, with its dazzling array of strange creatures and occasional marauding whirlpools of iced water full of substances that kill everything they touch.

As ever, there is as much entertainment to be had in the short snippets of how the various teams captured the footage for the show, from the sociable penguins, killer whales who seemed almost to mock their observers like celebrities playing cat and mouse with the paparazzi, to the incredible story of how they managed to film the wolf and bison sequence. It always hits home how much the filmmakers go through to deliver these nature programmes - luckily it has been worth it when you see the finished product. An essential Blu-Ray purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe Inspiring, 15 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be the very best of David Attenboroughs offerings. Life, Planet Earth etc just amazing. The Blu Ray comes alive and is visually stunning. A wonderful collection for any avid enthusiast. Amazing photography and with 5.1 sound just awe inspiring.

You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White out, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you think about it, the poles would be the worst places for a filmmaker, mainly because there is nothing to the landscape except white, white and more white. But Frozen Planet on Blu-ray is gorgeous, with icy textures and snowy contrasts so vivid, it really feels like you're there. FP is not just about the landscape and the wildlife, but also the people who eke out a tough and sometimes treacherous living in the frozen clime. most amazing is the people who go out on a limb and a rope (literally) down the side of a jagged cliff just to collect bird eggs for their diet. Then there's the mind-blowing technological feat of building a huge research station in the Antarctic, with about 50 people working there at any one time. Imagine, -40 degrees out in the wild Antarctic winter, but 24 degrees within the high-tech research complex, and the greenhouse in there is the single brightest spot in the whole south pole during winter.
But the series is also strong on emphasising the melting ice and rising ocean levels due to climate change, and leaves us with a strong warning that all is not well with the Earth. With such gorgeous visuals of the natural landscape of the polar ice caps, it is impossible that the viewer not be moved by the destruction of nature by our irresponsible human hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: Frozen Planet - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Such a beautiful series. Visually stunning and David Attenboroughs narration is excellent. It captivated my 16 year old daughter which is a real achievement! The final 5 minutes which is set to "What a wonderful world" had the whole family in tears.Absolutely wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 8 Dec 2011
I think this is one of David Attenborough's best shows.
Watching Frozen Planet on my 50 inch LG Plasma the footage is stunning in HD.
This is well worth getting for Blu Ray as it will really show how good your TV picture can look.

Its also a really interesting show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 12 Dec 2011
By 
Chris (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frozen Planet - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
For me this justifies the licence fee and the cost of the DVD. The best thing broadcast on any medium in 2011. Watch and learn, and enjoy. Hugely inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning!, 12 Dec 2011
I must admit, I was expecting a lot from this new series. It lived up to my expectations and more!

The 1st episode really gets the series of to a spectacular start and, with the odd exception, it stays at that standard throughout the series.

Wolves, bison, owls and of course penguins and killer whales are just a few animals that are featured in this series. Other clips of glaciers and brinicles are just staggeringly beautiful. My 'WOW count' was undoubtedly in double figures!

A 'must' buy for anyone's DVD/Bluray collection. You'll watch this more than once just to appreciate how beautiful it looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can these get any better?, 11 Dec 2011
By 
W. Stevenson (Garstang, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frozen Planet - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Another review said not. I keep saying it about every BBC 'nature'documentary series, and keep being wrong. How do they film the spectacle of the bison and the wolf that you can hardly bear to watch? They even show you how in the 'endpiece' to each programme, and you still can't believe anything can be this good. Yet again, I can't even imagine what they can do to surpass this, and they don't have to- if the next is only half as good, it will still be unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Frozen, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry to say this blu-ray set won't play for me and I have a quite new blu-ray player??!!
The program itself was beautiful and always good with Sir David Attenborough who is a
National Treasure!! I then bought the DVD version which is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 Episode justifies the license fee, 20 Dec 2011
The most cleverly photographed and wonderfully narrated wildlife series ever. Let's hope it fulfills its purpose; and helps to educate people to the really urgent issues mankind needs to urgently address if we are to pass on a livable home to our children's children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frozen Planet - The Complete Series [DVD]
Frozen Planet - The Complete Series [DVD] by David Attenborough (DVD - 2011)
8.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews