Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE AT THE TIME OF CHARLES II
I am only part way through this book but I am finding it very interesting. One of my ancestors was in London at that time and it is nice to see what life was like in those days
Published 24 days ago by Ronald Degg

versus
39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read
I got this to test out my new Kindle, not so much to read as I have the full version in hardback. I'm glad I don't have to rely on this. The text is all there, but endlessly interrupted by scholarly additions and annotations. These would have been useful as a separate appendix, but are very annoying if you just want to read the Diary. Free, though, so I can't complain,...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Mr. K. H. Cobb


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Diary of Samuel Pepys - A man of his time., 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of Samuel Pepys - Complete (Kindle Edition)
Samuel Pepys lived and was involved in a very interesting time in English History. The population was tired of Cromwell's Puritan England and wanted to return Monarchic government. Pepys was amongst those who sailed to France to recall King Charles II to the throne. Pepys witnessed the new king's displeasure towards those who he held responsible for his father's execution; he saw them being disembowelled. Domestically Pepys tried a new infusion for the first time called "Tee" or "tea".
January has not always been the first month of the new year so some dates appear confusing e.g. March 1661-1662 depending which calendar you are working to. A long book, perhaps for bedtime but an interesting read never-the-less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have a peep at Samuel Pepys!, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of Samuel Pepys - Complete (Kindle Edition)
This is an absolute gem of a book, quite rightly regarded as a masterpiece, but don't be put of by that. I found it eminently readable.
There were many contemporary diarists and there have been many others throughout history, but Samuel Pepys stands out in the front. It may be just that he was in the ascendancy at a very interesting and complex time in English history or it may be that his style (of including very personal thoughts and incidents and day-to-day matters) was pretty much unique at the time; although much copied in fiction and faction since.
After reading the diary, I felt I knew part of the the man and would certainly have liked to have met him. He was curious about things outside the realm of his immediate life and had a guilty eye for the ladies. I am not too sure just what his thoughts were about the Restoration of the Monarchy, but he had the sense to keep them largely to himself, only hinting at what he truly thought.
Anyway, even if you don't like History or biography books, I would recommend you try out this book.
As it is a real-time diary, there is some banality, but these bits you can skim to get to the real nuggets, and what nuggets! ( Just like they do in modern "reality T.V." shows"!!?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars pepys spoilt, 28 Oct 2012
This review is from: Diary of Samuel Pepys - Complete (Kindle Edition)
Very difficult to read because of the continous and unnecessary editorial
notes on nearly every page - I have gone back to my original un-annotated hard copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A first-hand view of the history of England, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of Samuel Pepys - Complete (Kindle Edition)
I have long been an adherent of Pepys, and regard him, along with John Evelyn, as a wonderful source of historical information relating to people and events at the time of the Restoration and the ten following years. It is sad indeed that due to failing sight Pepys was obliged to cease to record the day by day events affecting his life and those of so many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seventeenth Century England Revealed, 1 Sep 2012
By 
D. C. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of Samuel Pepys - Complete (Kindle Edition)
Pepys describes his activities as a government servant in mundane terms, but still manages to convey the excitement of being at the heart of decision-making. The characters are mentioned as people, not as public figures. The narrative lacks the pace of modern fiction but can be compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery excellent, 13 Aug 2012
By 
J. Farrow (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of Samuel Pepys - Complete (Kindle Edition)
It is very difficult for me to review this, my son has read it and needs to review for himself. However he assures me the delivery to the Kindle service is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diary of Samuel Pepys - Complete
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews