Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars112
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2013
If you are interested in the history of the life and times of people in the 1600's this is for you. Covers predominantly Naval
matters, English fleet against the Dutch, day to day domestic living , eating, clothes, food, wigs, illnesses, The Plague its effects, Start of great fire of London, and what happened next. Plenty of gossip about who had what mistress and when.
Mr Pepys was no angel, neither was the King! At the end of each year there is an Editors summary of salient points from that year. It is definitely not a short story .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
An absolutely fascinating glimpse into life in the 1600s. Pepys goes about his daily business, recording his work and home life in great detail. The diary is also extremely funny, as Pepys makes snippy comments about his colleagues, friends and family and repeats amusing incidents as they were related to him. Copious notes have been added within the text, so the reader is never at a loss to understand who or what Pepys is talking about. The daily entries are short but information packed, making this an ideal read for those odd spare moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
not often do you get such an insight into times past. Not only do you get personal accounts of known historical events but glimpses inside the mind of 17th century man . Personally , I find the descriptions of places in and around Cambridge fascinating ,though bear in mind it is mostly about London. Many places are still recognisable today . A book to read over a long time. This will not be read in one sitting! You will not always like this man but his inner struggle to try and do the right thing is somewhat endearing .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Whilst I am one of those who ridicule the 'what I had for breakfast' type content of much social media postings, 300 yrs later it takes on an all together more interesting aspect. Pepys had the bonus of being close to powerful people and the diary begins at an uncertain period. The political aspects are recorded together with the bowels and boils stuff. Social networking required a lot more walking and banking seems to have been done by carrying cash around
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Excellent read , but not to be read all at once something to dip into for relaxation.I keep it permanently on my Kindle.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
I have wanted to read this forever but it is like most diaries just a routine of boredom. Up betimes, to the office, home for a venison pasty, back to office, fiddle with breasts, if possible, home, count money and so to bed. Nobody could make the plague and the great fire so uninteresting! March 1666 205 people died, April 1666 .... Admin admin admin!

Took me forever to read it and, 2700 pages, maybe read edited version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
I have long been an adherent of Pepys, and regard him, along with John Evelyn, as a wonderful source of historical information relating to people and events at the time of the Restoration and the ten following years. It is sad indeed that due to failing sight Pepys was obliged to cease to record the day by day events affecting his life and those of so many others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Had I known that I was starting to read some 20 diaries, I might not have started so casually, but over the months it became a part of every day, and I know that some day I will read it again, and I can hardly think of anything else that I say that about.
IF I ever came to be able to meet a character of history, 'Sam' would be that person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
This is still not a complete edition of the diaries. Words which the Editor thinks are offensive have been changed, Pepys' sexual adventures have been omitted. This is a 'Polite' edition, not the colourful one I was hoping for. Disappointing. However, it's free, and it's easy enough to skim or skip the embedded notes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Persevere with the diary and you will be rewarded by a clear insight into the life of this extraordinary man and his times.Well worth investing the time in.
Pepys was a man torn between pleasures that life has to offer and his genuine sense of duty to his country and his wife.
A wonderful read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)