Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beatiful toast
It's a beautiful toaster and works really well. The only complaint is that dries the bread quite a lot and needs to be set at a very low level otherwise it will burn everything completely. But if set properly it makes very nice toasts in the morning.
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by Ligia, Portugal

versus
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like crisp bread
This Toaster looks great & has 2 long slots that can fit a decent sized farmhouse slice of bread in it. It also has a neat feature that allows you to lift the toast without cancelling, but that is where the good points end. Half the heating element loops don't get properly hot because they are tight against the centre board instead of being loops. This means you end up...
Published on 29 Sep 2011 by P. R. Filmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like crisp bread, 29 Sep 2011
By 
P. R. Filmer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
This Toaster looks great & has 2 long slots that can fit a decent sized farmhouse slice of bread in it. It also has a neat feature that allows you to lift the toast without cancelling, but that is where the good points end. Half the heating element loops don't get properly hot because they are tight against the centre board instead of being loops. This means you end up with a piece of toast that is just dried out bread or like Melba toast. If you leave it in for longer it just burns. Unfortunately I had binned the box before I found this out.

It is also incredibly slow, my old Kenwood toaster that isn't as pretty and only takes a homepride sized slice can do 2 full rounds of hot crispy toast in the time it takes this one to ruin a good bit of bread.

Avoid!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a burner, not a toaster., 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
This has to be the worst toaster I've ever had - bought because it's by Kenwood, looks great, and has an eco-function that means you can turn off one slot if you aren't using it.

But on its lowest setting it managed to burn brioche and thin slices of bread, which meant we had to hover over it in order to make it pop before it incinerated our breakfast. Its crumb tray catches only the most minute crumbs, but shaking bigger crumbs out of the toaster doesn't work either - they seem to get caught in a trap between the crumb tray and the bread slots. The result was that one morning one of the larger crumbs caught fire, the toaster went bang, and stopped working.

I'm not complaining, because it's gone back to the shop for a refund, and I'm now going to do my research to make sure that the next toaster I buy actually toasts, rather than burns. But I do marvel at how hard it appears to be make a machine that toasts bread properly and doesn't accumulate crumbs to the extent of becoming a fire hazard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay clear of this model, a potential death trap, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. M. L. O'hare (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Bought 2 of these from John Lewis and both burn bread on 1st setting.
Set on No3 the timer takes 4 mins and 35 seconds to pop up.
Having hah a Morphy Richard Toaster burn my kitchen down 20 years ago I am very careful to ensure this doesn't happen again.
This model or at least some batches of it should be withdrawn immediately.
Don't wait, take yours back now and demand a refund.
Have bought predecessors of this model for past 15 years without complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You need to read this! Before you buy!, 8 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
I purchased a Kenwood Metallics Kettle which is outstanding, so I ordered the toaster from Amazon at 44. NOW 65!][ASIN:B004TRPPLO Kenwood Metallics 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster, Latte Steel]]!

The first one, nearly set on fire at the lowest setting. The toast was unusable and was replaced by Amazon.
A second toaster was sent, this was exactly the same and now has to be returned. Looking inside I could see the element strands were not all lit and some glowed, whilst others did not.

I wish I had done a video review of the smoke!

Looking for another toaster yesterday I noticed Comet were selling the exact same toaster for 31 reduced from 60!
I bought it thinking the Amazon toaster had the thermostats set wrong at the factory.
Oh no, this was worse, smoke filled the kitchen, just short of flames
I did ask the Comet assistant why the toaster was half the price, and she explained they were not selling them any more!

Now we know why and why you need to read this before you buy!
If you have already got the kettle like me, I'm sorry, as it is a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hot....not!, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Hot in someways, but leaves me cold. Set on the lowest possible setting even thick bread goes black. Don't buy this even if the looks tempt you. Also 1 slot button had to be pressed everytime or both slots heat up, so you can forget, and waste electric. This will go in bin,toasters are supposed to pop up, or they aren't toasters, I keep forgetting to stand over it and it's black toast and smoke everytime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beatiful toast, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
It's a beautiful toaster and works really well. The only complaint is that dries the bread quite a lot and needs to be set at a very low level otherwise it will burn everything completely. But if set properly it makes very nice toasts in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!, 19 May 2012
By 
Lesley J. Pringle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Dodgy from day one and a few weeks after it ran out of guarantee it started working only when it felt like it! inthebin.com!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work at all, but Amazon service was great, 20 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Update 29th September 2011;

Just a quick update to say that although the toaster was defective, Amazon service on fixing the problem was great. Used their returns service, printed off the returns label and teh courier was here within 2 days to pick it up. Even better, the refund was given on the 2nd day after pickup. Fantastic and a feather in the cap for Amazon - things go wrong in the best run businesses, it's how you respond to them that makes the difference. 5 stars for the service. I bought theKenwood Miro TTM333 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Metal in replacement, and that one is working just fine.

Original review (1 star)

Purchased this after extensive searching for toasters with 2 long slots (ideal for toasting pitta nans !). Excellent delivery service, arrived within a couple of days and very well packaged.

Alas, the first time I tested it by pushing the toasting handle down, it stayed down for 2 seconds and then sprang back up. Mystified I tried again, and same result. a few further attempts yielded the same outcome (reminder - if you keep on doing the same old things in the same old way, you'll get the same old outcome !).

My son yelled down from upstairs demanding to know who had crashed his new Mac computer, and mysteriously all the lights had gone off, as had the telly. Not willing to believe the toaster was to blame (what can a toaster do !), I reset the breaker and tried again. Sure enough, my son yelled down again about what the hell was going on.

So, not sure if this is a recurring issue, but an electrician looked at it and it tripped the mains every time (fortunately I had warned my very irate Mac-owing son). So, beware, and 1 star (I cannot give zero) as I got not a single toasted nan from this, but a lot of hassle in buying and returning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Colour is great. Toaster is fairly compact for a four slice.
Able to just use one slot if only two slices of toast required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood Metallics TTM124 2-Slot 4-Slice Long Toaster - Latte Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this after my old ken wood toaster died. I was initially a bit apprehensive about the colour but when delivered fitted in nicely with the rest of my colour scheme. Am very happy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews