Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, sassy inspiration for women of all ages
More to Life Than Shoes is a book you can pick up for five minutes or fifty minutes and come away believing you have it in you to turn your life around. More than a career book, MTLT is a source of inspiration and practical tools for kick-starting the journey towards achieving ANY of your (wistful) dreams - which may of course be career-bound. The front cover might...
Published on 14 April 2011 by Jessica Chivers

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to kick-start your career
Has not held my attention in the early part of the book but as I have it as an ebook I keep forgetting I have it. I'll get around to reading it all one day
Published 19 months ago by eils


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, sassy inspiration for women of all ages, 14 April 2011
By 
More to Life Than Shoes is a book you can pick up for five minutes or fifty minutes and come away believing you have it in you to turn your life around. More than a career book, MTLT is a source of inspiration and practical tools for kick-starting the journey towards achieving ANY of your (wistful) dreams - which may of course be career-bound. The front cover might suggest this is a book for young women - it's not. Both men and women, young and old can get something from it, although it is especially relevant for someone who feels drained or despondent with the way their working life is at the moment.

The authors combine self deprecating wit and warmth with case study after case study of women who've achieved some incredible things. They deconstruct how each woman they profile has achieved what they have and draw out insights for the reader to take away and use in her own life right now. That's what makes it a powerful and useful read and why I will be recommending to some of my clients.

Being a writer myself (Mothers Work!: How to Get a Grip on Guilt and Make a Smooth Return to Work) I liked the profile of Joanne Harris who says it's OK to walk away from your PC on days when the words just aren't coming. My favourite story though, was that of Hilary Lister, the quadriplegic who sailed the coast of Britain single-handedly. I shan't say anymore but suffice to say the book will move you and highly likely to make you take action on your own life. If it doesn't, you'd do well to try the More To Life Than Shoes group meetings in towns across the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More to Life than Shoes, 26 Mar 2011
Every time I dip into this compelling little book, it pushes my buttons and sends motivational tingles down my spine.

It is written by two women, Nadia and Emily, on a quest to improve their lives and follow their dreams - but they don't know how to do it, so they talk to all sorts of successful women to learn their secrets. They take us on the journey with them and together we work it out. It is a fun read, full of human interest stories that are totally engaging and inspiring. Nadia and Emily pull together what they have learned to provide us with tips, help and support but, unlike other `self-help' books, it is not preachy - It is more like a chat with your best friend.

I think it is a `must have' for every woman with a pulse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more to life than shoes, 29 Jun 2011
A most inspiring read!

For those looking for the nudge they need to make the change, this book is perfect. With real life scenarios from leading women and a comprehensive chapter summary of top tips, Nadia and Emily have made it impossible not to take action!!

Even for those of us who are not looking for a life overhaul, the book makes for an incredibly interesting read that will reignite your desire to do all those things that you know will take your life / business to the next level but you never get round to doing!!

Well done, Nadia and Emily, I will most definitely be recommending your book to all that I meet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, fabulous book!!!!!!, 13 May 2011
This review is from: More to Life Than Shoes: How to Kick-start Your Career and Change Your Life (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must have for any woman trying to achieve something. A truly inspirational read that should become a bible for motivating all women to keep striving for their goals.

Thank you and I cannot wait for the next version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bags of inspiration from some of today's most successful women, 26 April 2011
It's impossible not to be inspired by this book, with its cheeky, easy-reading upbeat tone. This is no preachy, self-help book and Nadia and Emily don't take themselves too seriously. They're just a couple of real people juggling all the demands of life and writing a book in their spare time - something that makes it all the more plausible.

'More to Life Than Shoes' is packed with women who didn't just moan but got on and did something to change their lives - and often those of others too. Where else can you hear the secrets of success from women as diverse as fighter jet pilot Jo Salter, 'The Lady' editor Rachel Johnson and Kanya King who created the MOBOs?

The book won't give you a ready-made solution to all your dreams, ambitions and frustrations but it will give you bags of inspiration. There are helpful, motivational soundbites at the end of each profile, as well as a wealth of resources at the back.

I especially liked the section on receiving feedback which is always a tricky thing to handle. The book's not all about work and business though, you'll find it useful whatever it is that you want to change in your life. There are tips on de-cluttering, getting organised and finding confidence.

So what are waiting for? No more procrastination, it's time to kick-start you career and change your life. There is more to life than shoes, but a funky new pair might make a nice reward when you've achieved your first step along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars change your shoes...(!), 26 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not read all of this book and the format of it allows for dipping in and still getting something of use I feel. The tone is lighthearted but not frivolous I find because the information and ideas are so far genuinely helpful. The authors seem wise,reassuring and non-judgemental and, although I have nothing against American self-help books which can be great, I was surprised to see such a work form two English women. So often this positive stuff seems to have to come out of America. Not patronising or expecting perfection nor advocating any affirmations or such (again fine when done properly) but just things to do that could help written in a chatty sometimes amusing way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 6 Jan 2012
By 
A. stephenson (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I LOVE this book.
It's for those moments when you question yourself for doing something brave; Read this and its reassuring that others have done it too.
An inspirational book without being too preaching; If you're motivated you can achieve your goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More to Life than Shoes, 27 July 2011
I've always been a very positive person but when you're running your own business you can sometimes hit a 'low' period; that's where I was when I bought this book. It's fun, motivational, full of real success stories that show the pain of developing a new business. Dip in and out when the need arises. Very readable. I thoroughly recommend it.More To Life Than Shoes: How to Kick-start Your Career and Change Your Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advice & Great Read, 2 Jun 2011
After you've read this book you'll be amazed how many very successful women struggle with a lack of confidence. I think many of us believe we can't, so we don't. If that's you - read this book. It really shows you that even self doubt shouldn't stop you from achieving. Well done the girls at More to Life Than Shoes! Brilliant advice, great contributors and funny to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More to this book than words, 28 May 2011
Let's get the obvious out of the way. This is an inspirational, funny, easy-to-read, woman-centric book that should be recommended to girls of all ages. If you want a sound, positive, down-to-earth kick to move off that couch and out of that rut, this is the read for you. Plain and simple.

But the book is only half the story. The MTLTS authors don't set you up on a tough journey to then leave you there, in the middle of the motorway, pedalling on your own. MTLTS is a real network of real women all over the country who get together every month to share the huffs and puffs of the adventure, to remind each other of goals and aspirations. Or even to compare cleaning agents and smart buys. Same for the website. A sisterhood of ladies who are not afraid to ask for help, share hints and tips, boost each other's business, be friends.

And to me that is the message of MTLTS. Life is hard. Don't sit and whine about it. Get up and do something. The book will give you a few ideas on how to. The network will be there for you. Not bad, uh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews