Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
62
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2012
Bringing his well-wrought, deadpan, observational comedy back to our screens, Jason Manford's latest DVD, 'Live' is another excellent (if slightly flawed) performance from the likeable Manchester comic. Manford draws on similar themes to previous shows, but provides a fair bit of fresh material. His musings on matters such as 24-hour supermarket staff, Prince Philip's racism, and his mum's penchant for using phrases which don't actually exist, are all superb, and provide an interesting view into Manford's comic way of viewing the world. Having seen Jason perform live earlier in his career, it's fair to say that his delivery has become slicker, and the jokes on 'Live' flow excellently; although with this added slickness, has come a slightly irritating habit of namedropping, which is in evidence, on this collection.

There are plenty of excellent moments on 'Live', and Manford's skill at delivering surprise twists and one-liners to end his stories, mean that there are plenty of genuine laugh-out-loud moments on display, here. The personal anecdotes tend, here, to be the best in his repertoire; from watching a German porn tape labeled 'World Cup Italia' by his Dad, to finding out his Nan once swore in the blitz. There is a bit of a double-edged sword here, though, as whilst tales like this are endearing and humorous; and often painfully relevant to those of us who can look back on our awkward teenage years with humour, there is a bit too much focus on his telling stories about his wife and kids, some of which aren't that funny. Still, on balance, 'Live' is a highly amusing and well-wrought live performance from a man who is currently amongst the nation's best comics. For fans of Jason Manford, or just for those looking for a smart, dry-witted and fun comedy DVD, I would definitely recommend 'Live'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
I was shocked that this comedian has repeated some of his jokes, so I have burnt his house down and also knocked a star off.

Seriously, he's a good comedian and his shows always make me laugh. He's not in the same class as some of the comedians putting videos out at the moment, but he is funny and this is well worth seeing.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
I am glad I found this DVD, he has to be one of the best comedians and I am a big fan. I got this one for christmas and can't wait to watch it. I loved the last one I bought so have high expectations. Happy to own it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Bought this DVD for my daughter for christmas and she loved it, she has another Jason Manford DVD and finds him extremely funny. Very pleased with this purchase, Came fairly quickly and packaged well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
Bought this DVD out of my Christmas money after loving his first stand up DVD. I would say it's not quite as good as his first one but it still made me laugh pretty much all the way through, so would definitely recommend it! :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I am a big Jason Manford fan. I think this DVD isn't as good as the last one. I think it was a hard one to top, as it is one of the funniest stand up shows ever. I do believe this is a great show, it is funny, clever and I have watched it time and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
From his smash-hit new show ‘Off On Tour We Go’, Jason’s new DVD is guaranteed to get you laughing (which it did), with hilarious tales ranging from shower mishaps and embarrassing stories to the phrases that people get wrong and dealing with nappies. Renowned for his hilarious observations and loveable, friendly delivery, Jason has been a firm favourite with comedy fans of all ages since his first solo stand-up show earned him huge critical acclaim. Jason Manford is now selling out huge arenas, including the Manchester MEN, where this show was filmed, and the London O2. Jason is making his mark as the master of observational comedy. Brilliant, funny man, well worth it, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Saw Jason live on this tour and whilst he was funny, I've seen plenty better. It was quite irritating that I'd heard a lot of the material already on his innumerous tv appearances - other comedians choose to reward live show attendance with original material. But he did make me laugh, just not as loud, as often or as long as other comedians.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
He is not funny, in fact, he is really irritating and his observations are boring and as banal as him. The funniest thing he has ever done is getting sacked from the One Show. I have had more fun and laughed more in the children's burns ward of my local hospital.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Dreaful jokes
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)