Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feelin' Reelin' Squeelin'
In the land of grey and pink the third album by Canterbury favourites Caravan, and possibly their best known album, it still came as a bit of a surprise though that the 40th anniversary edition comes with a brand new surround mix as well as a host of extra tracks previously unreleased songs and a host of BBC tracks.
The first disc is a straight re-master of the...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by Fletch-a-sketch

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been just a little bit better...
Don't get me wrong, I have been a Caravan fan for decades and this has always been my favourite album. It was therefore with great joy I read about this 40th Anniversary release. Mine finally arrived today and unquestionably the music is outstanding, especially Steven Wilson's 5.1 mix. I was however disappointed that the only sound choices are Stereo and (Dolby) 5.1...
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by MW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feelin' Reelin' Squeelin', 1 Jun 2011
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
In the land of grey and pink the third album by Canterbury favourites Caravan, and possibly their best known album, it still came as a bit of a surprise though that the 40th anniversary edition comes with a brand new surround mix as well as a host of extra tracks previously unreleased songs and a host of BBC tracks.
The first disc is a straight re-master of the original album and core Canterbury sound album somewhere between prog rock and prog folk, with outtakes tacked on the end two of which are newly created from the original master takes by Steven Wilson.
Disc two is a further selection of outtakes and some brilliant BBC recordings contemporary to the album.
Disc three is the main reason why I brought this set Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree, Blackfield and much more) who is probably the best surround mixer around at present, was allowed to go back to the original master tapes and remix the whole album in surround as a bonus you also get a surround mix of `frozen rose'. The new mix brings out elements of the album which were recorded but buried deep in the original mixes given the extra sound field of a 5 speaker set up this does not make for an intrusive change, and the album retains its original feel even with the update. For fans of surround sound this is a stunning new mix, I wish more bands would take the time to do this. The bonus Beat club movies are great too (all Flairs and Tank tops).
Now to the moans and really this is picky as I am overall very happy with the set and the content price etc, this is good value for money. However why tuck the DVD into the sleeve as an after though why not give it its own tray in the digipack, and why only Dolby digital for eth 5.1 mix I understand that not everyone has a DVDA player but this album could really sound like the bees knees with a MLP or even a DTS track it's a music DVD not a film use the format with the greater bandwidth for music please record companies. Finally Universal used to use nice plastic sleeves for their deluxe editions now they are using the decidedly un-deluxe stick band round the pack, not good.
A quick summary then nice set reasonably priced and great surround mix a worthy rerelease which could be improved but is still pretty good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
i bought this for the surround sound disc,the actual album is totally awesome and ive known this for years.
just look at the cover!the music on the album is exactly what it looks like if you know what i mean,
simply put the surround sound mix is perfect - ok dvda/sacd/dts would have been nice but even with just the dolby 5.1 its the best surround sound album ive got.im one of the few poeple who bought a dvda, sacd and dts machine to play surround sound stuff on.i pretty much own most of the surround stuff available as i spent so much on the system.
when i first played this dvd i hadnt turned all my speakers on yet and i was confronted with just the centre speaker blasting the crystal clear trumpet(or whatever it is) intro to golf girl and it is amazing!
it is blatantly obvious whoever mixed this had full access to all the tracks on the 16? track original.
and they were a fan of the album and totally "got it",
im not sure how the "new" mix of 9ft underground was done but it has other instruments and bits ive not heard before and it seems heavier too.wait till you hear the cannon in the centre speaker!
as for the "twin pak" cover where you have the dvd stuffed in with the booklet instead of its own tray - put the first disc in the car then put the dvd in its place- sorted
im a huge fan of this album (was even in a band that played the whole thing live)and am a bit of a grump but this version is exactly how i would have wanted it done - deffinately a worthwhile purchase for any music lover.
i still havent listened to the cds with all the extra stuff on but they came free with the dvd!
go on buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Release, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this release to bits.

Steven Wilson's remix of the opening passage of Nine Feet Underground takes a bit of listening to get used to. The different keyboard and saxophone pieces are very interesting. Absolutely fabulous in my opinion.

If you've not yet worked this out, I'm a bit of a Caravan devotee, but don't let this put you off purchasing this fantastic release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 29 May 2013
By 
A. J. Paterson (Auckland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
This is not a BluRay but a humble DVD. Good job really because the level of detail and texture is phenomonal. In BluRay it would probably be overwhelming! It's hard to convince yourself that one is listening to 4 teenagers with nary a skerrick of electrowizardry. The album was avant garde in 1971, and it still is 42 years later. The only, tiny, criticism is that the 5.1 mix is a little rear heavy, but that's what audio controls are for I guess. Turn out the lights, close your eyes and float away on the magical transport of 9 Feet Underground; 30 minutes of complete perfection. An absolute must buy for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5 Star Grey and Pink Product, 18 Feb 2013
This is a wonderful double album, with 2 180gm Grey and Pink vinyl LPs packaged neatly within an excellent gatefold sleeve. Sounds great and good value for money with bonus tracks 'I Don't Know Its Name', 'Disassociation/100% proof', Its Likely To Have A Name Next Wee/Winter Wine' and 'Group Girl'. If you like Caravan, and this album in particular, then this a really excellent addition for your collection. With high quality music throughout, and some nice coloured vinyl, this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected do not be put off!, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
After reading the reviews of not-up-to-scratch packaging I feared the worst. However, I can safely say I am very pleased with the overall product, although with this amount of booklet and discs perhaps better suited to a more rigid Digibook setup.
Both front stickers peel off without any residue despite what some people have said. Because the covers have the waterproff 'sheen' finish they are very easy to rub clean too unlike the matte finish covers on other CDs. The white tape is easy to cut and peel off again with no sticky marks left I seriously don't see what other people were getting in a tiz about.

All in all I just wanted to squash the 'bad stickers' reviews (after all, only the angry and very pleased customers are driven to review...) If you take a few moments to peel carefully you end up with a very nice gatefold cover. And of course, then you can open up and delve into the music....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Land of Grey & Pink deluxe, 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
Nicely packaged with original artwork and plenty of new info plus bonus tracks though many are outtakes. Live DVD is good to see but shows it's age as you'd expect. A collectors item unless you are new to Caravan a ITLOGAP is a classic. Also reasonably priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Caravan fans, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
I still remember the first time I heard this magical album way back in the 70's, and have always owned a copy on vinyl or on CD. I couldn't resist buying this edition and I'm absolutely delighted. No Canterbury scene/prog rock collection should be without this seminal work. The reproduction of the original album here seems better than that on my other In The Land CD.

The second CD is a definite bonus, especially for getting an insight into the development of the tunes which actually appear on the released version of the album. There are other songs, which have appeared elsewhere, but some of the versions are new and well worth a listen.

My five stars are for the two CDs, as I've yet to hear the 5.1 surround sound DVD, but if the production is up to its reputation then, with the Beat Club sessions, this has to make this 40th anniversary edition an absolute bargain.

There has been some criticism by other Amazon reviewers of the packaging, and while it's admittedly not the best, I'm still happy with it. All in all a splendid release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CARAVAN OF DREAMS, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
Having read other reviws elsewhere i was expecting to be disapointed in this magnificent opus,well i am not!!
193m37s spread over 3 cds and 2 videos seems good value to me.
The original album was always a favourite of mine,but the new mixes sound crisper,and Steven Wilson has done a good job.
"Golf girl""Winter wine""love to love you" and the superb"Nine feet underground" all sound totally reinvigorated especially on disc two.
Good Value and great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! A Stunning Job., 3 July 2011
By 
This review is from: In The Land Of Grey And Pink [Deluxe Edition - 40th Anniversary] (Audio CD)
This has to be Caravan's finest album which has been given another "remastering". To celebrate the fortieth anniversary they have brought in Steven Wilson (porcupine tree) to add his skills and the remixes he has done. In my opinion,it really does justice to an album that does not age over time.

For the first time (to my knowledge) the third cd has the option of a 5.1 mix as well as new stereo mixes by the aforesaid Mr Wilson. What a terrific treatment this has been given. I have always been rather suspicious of messing around with Classic albums and trying this effect. It mostly doesnt work, but in this case, it does not disappoint! The added bonus is an alternate mix of "nine feet.." which brings out a different sounding first section. Wow! It is hard now to determine which of the two to play first, but rest assured Caravan devotees you will not be disappointed. This will continue to be one of my all time favourites. Now, can we do the same to "if I could do it...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews