Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
This is a terrific book, in which the life of St Francis and beginnings of his Order are very thoroughly researched. It shows just how controversial the movement was with the Popes of the time, and the appalling treatment of St Francis by them. I was very struck by the joy which St Francis exuded.
Published 7 months ago by Ms R. Ng

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit sugary
I bought this because I wanted to know more about Francis and I achieved my objective so I think it's OK but I couldn't say I liked it.
I found the comment in the first part of the book about setting Francis in his own time was useful and there are a lot of footnotes for further explanation and reading. However, the style is a bit sugary, possibly because it's a...
Published 20 months ago by B. Bampton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit sugary, 15 Mar 2013
By 
B. Bampton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of St. Francis of Assisi (Kindle Edition)
I bought this because I wanted to know more about Francis and I achieved my objective so I think it's OK but I couldn't say I liked it.
I found the comment in the first part of the book about setting Francis in his own time was useful and there are a lot of footnotes for further explanation and reading. However, the style is a bit sugary, possibly because it's a translation, and it put me off a bit.
There seems to be this general concensus that Francis must be portrayed as somebody who was a bit simple, not in the sense of being humble or self denying, but in the sense of somebody who was childish and never grew up or accepted his responibilities as an adult. I think this book rather falls into that trap and I sense that Francis was much more than that.
I bought this on kindle, which I use for all my fiction these days. I wonder if I'd have done better to buy a proper book on this occasion so I could study it properly more easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 April 2014
By 
Ms R. Ng "Rebecca" (East Molesey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of St. Francis of Assisi (Kindle Edition)
This is a terrific book, in which the life of St Francis and beginnings of his Order are very thoroughly researched. It shows just how controversial the movement was with the Popes of the time, and the appalling treatment of St Francis by them. I was very struck by the joy which St Francis exuded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Francis of Assisi, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: Life of St. Francis of Assisi (Kindle Edition)
A great book about a man who god gave to us to teach us poverty humility and obedience a lesson for us all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars But a good insight to religion in the middle ages, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of St. Francis of Assisi (Kindle Edition)
It is a bit hard going, and sometimes difficult to understand. But a good insight to religion in the middle ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of St. Francis of Assisi (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting book would recommend it to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of St. Francis of Assisi (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life of St. Francis of Assisi
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews