Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilly Sings Zimmy!!
Thea continues her run of outstanding albums with this wonderful release. Her take on "I Dreamed I Saw St Augustine" is already recognised as one of the best Dylan covers ever but the rest of these tracks are just as good if not better! Thea re-invents the album in her own unique style. Her voice is just amazing and the way she gets under the skin of these magical songs...
Published on 6 May 2011 by Boswell

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice....It's....yes, nice.
I must first declare a (lack of) interest: never having been an avid Dylan fan, I'm both unaware and unconvinced of the original iconic status of John Wesley Harding. So, when Thea Gilmore, one of my favourite artists, declared her intention to re-record the whole thing, I was somewhat baffled and bemused, but I had faith in her: After all, her version of "I Dreamed I...
Published on 16 Oct. 2011 by Adam K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilly Sings Zimmy!!, 6 May 2011
By 
Boswell (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
Thea continues her run of outstanding albums with this wonderful release. Her take on "I Dreamed I Saw St Augustine" is already recognised as one of the best Dylan covers ever but the rest of these tracks are just as good if not better! Thea re-invents the album in her own unique style. Her voice is just amazing and the way she gets under the skin of these magical songs is spine tingling. The band behind her pull out all the stops. Drummer Paul Beavis, Robbie McIntosh and Nigel Stonier all deserve acclaim and all play out of their skins. This is a must-buy album by one of the best female singer-songwriters in the business.
My personal favourite track is "The Ballad Of Frankie Lee And Judas Priest" which Thea just lives and makes her own. A superb release that deserves success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Wesley Harding Reinvented, 2 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
Thea Gilmore's interest in Bob Dylan's John Wesley Harding began when she recorded 'I Dreamed I Saw St Augustine' a number of years ago for her Songs From The Gutter album. Now, in her own words, she has gone back to the studio and 'cut the whole bloomin' lot'. Such a bold move might set alarm bells ringing about the potential pointlessness of such a project. While Dylan's songs have received copious cover treatment over the years, the concept of re-recording an entire album, albeit a more unfamiliar one like John Wesley Harding, might seem a tad ambitious.

In fact, such fears prove to be groundless. Gilmore breathes new life into most of the songs on the album. Things start sedately enough with a distinctly Dylanesque harmonica on the title track. On the touchstone of 'All Along The Watchtower' she does not fall into the trap of attempting to reproduce either the Hendrix version, arguably better known than Dylan's original, or the all-out rock thrash of Neil Young's version that appeared on the Dylan 30th Anniversary Tribute album (and indeed in live concert). Instead the song is turned into an attractive blues shuffle that doesn't outstay its welcome. There are rocked out versions of 'Drifter's Escape' and 'As I Went Out One Morning', a piano-accompanied 'Dear Landlord', and a ringing Byrdsian take on 'I Pity The Poor Immigrant'. Production by other half Nigel Stonier, who also supplies backing vocals and multi-intrumentals, is crisp and crystal clear. Thea Gilmore's live performances, as well as her 2004 album Loftmusic prove that she is no stranger to a judicious cover version. This reinvention of one of Bob Dylan's entire albums is a worthy addition to the extensive catalogue of an artist who for this reviewer can currently do no wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never known to make a foolish move.., 7 May 2011
By 
J. C. Williams "JohnWillimas" (Daventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Thea's since discovering her covers album "Loft Music" and was intrigued by the idea of her covering an entire album as she does here.

Stand-out tracks for me are "Pity The Poor Immigrant" (which comes close to the soul wrenching of Joan Baez's version)and "I Dreamed I Saw St Augustine" closely followed by "All Along The Watch Tower" is a fascinating reinterpretation that stays away from Dylan's own and from Hendrix too. Probably one of the most effective uses of double tracked echo I've heard. Excellent!

Thea's voice is ideally pitched for these songs and the sparse backing and simple production fit them well.

The CD jewell case comes in a box with a nice pack of 12x12 cards - one for each track with some artwork on one side and the song lyrics on the other. It won't stop the rush to digital download from solid disks but it's a nice add on (as it was on Thea's last album, "Murphy's Heart"). Warning though - If you're OCD about alphabeticising your CD collection and have fixed size shelves, the box won't fit!

"Never known to make a foolish move" must apply to Thea's musical choices too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-inventive!, 8 Dec. 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
It's not exactly unknown, quite the opposite in fact, for movies to be remade. It's also extremely common for one artist to cover someone else's song, though it's rare for it to be an improvement than the original. Ironically, one such cover is Jimi Hendrix's version of All Along The Watchtower which even Dylan prefers, as does everyone in the known universe. It's also one of my favourite songs and covers I own include those by The Grateful Dead and an absolute balls to the wall live version by Neil Young with guest Chrissie Hynde. It is, however, extremely rare for an artist to cover an entire album but Thea Gilmore has done it and with one of my favourite Bob Dylan albums.

Gilmore is one of those artists who can be classified as a singer/songwriter, folk, and folk/rock. Unlike, however, the album which followed this one -Don't Stop Singing (see earlier post)- where she channeled Sandy Denny, she doesn't attempt to recreate the original album, Gilmore does it her own way.

And she does it brilliantly by reinterpreting the songs in a variety of different ways, all different to the originals but always doing justice to one of Dylan's landmark albums. All Along The Watchtower is a shuffle, The Drifter's Escape rocks out. There are elements of country, folk, folk/rock, and more including echoes of Fairport Convention (the Sandy Denny-Jerry Donahue lineup) which is probably to be expected. The small band is tight as a newt's bottom, playing with precision and skill -some great guitar solos too. Gilmore's vocals are flexible and expressive -she is truly one of the best current British female vocalists in any musical genre and I've a feeling I'm probably going to end up buying all her albums.

This is great genre-transcending stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 13 May 2011
By 
Gregory E. Hinton "Gregg Hinton "music fa... (Lurgan Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
WOW THIS IS BRILLIANT. THIS LADY HAS A GREAT VOICE AND THE INTERPRETATIONS OF BOB DYLAN'S JOHN WESLEY HARDING LP FROM THE MIDDLE SIXTIES IS BY FAR THE BEST DYLAN TRIBUTE I HAVE EVER HEARD. I MUST ADMIT THAT DYLANS VERSION OF THIS ALBUM WAS NOT MY FAVOURITE OF HIS FROM THE SIXTIES BUT AFTER LISTENING TO THEA GILMORE'S VERSION IT HAS REKINDLED ANOTHER LISTEN TO DYLAN. ITS GREAT TO HEAR ACOUSTIC/ELECTRIC GUITAR BASS DRUMS AND MANDOLIN BEING PLAYED TO GREAT EFFECT WITHOUT THE INTRUSION OF BARING TRUMPETS OR SAXOPHONE. THE BEST SONG IS I PITY THE POOR IMMIGRANT WHICH IS SUNG WITH GREAT PASSION AND BELIEF IN THE PROJECT. THEAS STYLE IS PUNCTUATED ALL OVER THIS RECORDING AND I RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY. I WOULD SUGGEST YOU PURCHASE THE LIMITED EDITION WHICH HAS THE CD ENCASED IN A LOVELY BOX ACCOMPANIED BY VARIOUS POSTCARDS (PAINTED) WITH THE LYRICS SYMPATHETICALLY PRINTED ON THE REVERSE. EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My joint album of the year - that's two for Thea!, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
I'm led to belatedly review John Wesley Harding, having heard Thea Gilmore's superb new album, Don't Stop Singing, her musical interpretation of Sandy Denny's unused lyrics. Being a huge Dylan fan I was overwhelmed by her interpretation of the entire John Wesley Harding album a few months ago - a firm personal favourite album of the year. She brings compassion and emotion to this Dylan classic, and I could hear all these songs in a refreshing new way - perfectly suited to her lovely vocal style and great musical arrangements. Nothing else I've heard this year has really come close, except for Don't Stop Singing! In my view, a highly gifted artist and both these albums come highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 5 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
I was wary of this album ,how could anyone cover such a classic Dylan album.No need to worry Thea and her band have done a great job.Every track is a winner,wonderful singing combined with power playing.Any Dylan or Thea fans will love this.Folk rock at the highest level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Wesley harding Thea Gilmore, 22 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
Thea's release of the the whole album of Dylans 'John wesley Harding' is quite breathtaking in it's scope and beauty.

I have been a Dylan follower for 30 years and in that time I've listened to thousands of covers of Dylans songs.

Enough to say this rates among the very best of them.

Most importantly it makes you want to go back to the original release which in itself is a great achievement.

When you realise Dylan wrote and recorded this in the 60's it undelines the mans genius.

Many artists would loved to have recorded just this album alone and their place in rock history would have been secure.

Thanks Thea............Dylan people you need this album.

Bluefrog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dylan covers for a decade, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
P. C. Langman "dracoustic" (sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
Dylan's 70th has coincided with the release of a number of cover CDs. This is by far my favourite. Brave venture taking on an entire album and avoiding any dreary karaoke impressions..but Thea Gilmore exceeds herself breathing 21st century life into these songs .....normally I go for simply acoustic intrepretations (loved the first Nod to Bob) but even like the more rock influenced tracks on this. Hits you from opening track with some great harp playing ..only one track I don't like, Down along cove, but never liked this anyway. Fav tracks,rythmic Frankie Lee and atmospheric As I went out one morning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john wesley harding, 30 May 2011
This review is from: John Wesley Harding (Audio CD)
john wesley harding. a country style cd.but dont let this put you off because it is stamped with the authority of thia gilmore risky but brilliantly well done .a must if ur a gilmore fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Wesley Harding
John Wesley Harding by Thea Gilmore
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews