Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Comedy
This annotated version of Dante Aligieri's Divine Comedy is, in my opinion an excellent and true translation. It ranks among the great classics and is a must for anyone interested in early Italian literature.
Published on 3 Sep 2012 by Mr. P. G. Bronks

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Formatting
I would not bother with this version. Whether or not this is complete is almost impossible to say, since I have not yet managed to find the beginning of the book. The pages seem to be in the wrong order, the links and contents don't take you where you want to go. This is simply terrible!
Published on 5 April 2012 by J. Oram


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Formatting, 5 April 2012
By 
J. Oram (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
I would not bother with this version. Whether or not this is complete is almost impossible to say, since I have not yet managed to find the beginning of the book. The pages seem to be in the wrong order, the links and contents don't take you where you want to go. This is simply terrible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, and NOT illustrated, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
Okay, I appreciate this is free, but I remain confused. Where or how can you access the illustrations?

It clearly states this is illustrated and even credits Gustav Dore in the Index, along with mention of clicking on images to enlarge them, but I cannot for the life of me see or find any images and I've tried to go through the text page by page in case I've missed something. Help?

In light of the above, I can't recommend this at all. Awful. And the proliferation of links to every Canto and every part and sub-part --no doubt included to make things easier to navigate-- ultimately makes this look like a disorganized, hurried mess, and nigh on impossible to feel at ease with.

Not impressed. Amazon doesn't allow a zero star rating, unfortunately, but you get the gist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Substandard editing ruins the book, 8 Mar 2012
By 
John Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
The book is in a weird order - Dante's journey is from Hell, through Purgatory, to Paradise. The Kindle edition mixes the books up, places cantos out of order and has hyperlinks that don't go where they say they're going. It's impossible to read this in the order that Dante wrote it without a truely ridiculous amount of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard Work, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Personally I found this translation (the Cary translation) of "The Inferno" hard work. I didn't find the text flowed very easily and only understood about half of what was being said. Abandoned it half way through and opted for the Longfellow translation which was instantly better. The Inferno is an excellent read but make sure you get the right translation for you as there are lots out there to choose from (Don't forget to download a sample for free if using your kindle so you can compare)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad index, 15 April 2014
By 
Mac (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
Let down by an incredibly poor index that makes the text unreadable. Still, it cost nothing and you get what you pay for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great work, terribly rendered, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
This version is almost impossible to read. The cantos are not in any kind of order, pages are dispersed at random throughout. I realise that this is free, but free and unuseable is pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Comedy, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. P. G. Bronks "Peter G Bronks" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This annotated version of Dante Aligieri's Divine Comedy is, in my opinion an excellent and true translation. It ranks among the great classics and is a must for anyone interested in early Italian literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not overly impresed, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
went to start reading it to find it was missing half the book.
disappoint ended up going a buying the book from waterstones.
deserves no stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally worth five stars....in any circle given..., 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
A beautiful reminder of how medieval poetry has life affirming messages to us in the 21st century...a must read for any European with a glass of wine and a chunk of ciabatta to dip in extra. Virgin olive oil...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very badly formatted, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated (Kindle Edition)
Compared to the paperback version, this is horribly formatted and confusing to read. I very much recommend the physical copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Divine Comedy by Dante, Illustrated
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews