Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and so to bed.
My knowledge of history would not get me 1% of a GCSE, so I may not be the best suited to comment, but I find this book absolutely fantastic. Much has changed since his day (e.g. Science and Medicine) but one thing hasn't (human nature).
Published 10 months ago by amazing chester

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fascinating if some what dull at times
I have always wanted to read Pepys diary specifically the entries about the plague years and the great fire of London. For these two topics alone this was worth reading. You get a real sense of the fear and emotion of the time. I loved it when Pepys described burying his wine, money and parmesan cheese in the ground to protect it from the fire.

On the down...
Published 20 months ago by James Hobbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fascinating if some what dull at times, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
I have always wanted to read Pepys diary specifically the entries about the plague years and the great fire of London. For these two topics alone this was worth reading. You get a real sense of the fear and emotion of the time. I loved it when Pepys described burying his wine, money and parmesan cheese in the ground to protect it from the fire.

On the down side it's still a diary and not everything is interesting so some bits can be dull from time to time. Overall this is an ideal book for anyone interested in this period and looking at the day to day life in 17th century England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and so to bed., 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
My knowledge of history would not get me 1% of a GCSE, so I may not be the best suited to comment, but I find this book absolutely fantastic. Much has changed since his day (e.g. Science and Medicine) but one thing hasn't (human nature).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pepys is Fabulous, but BAD footnotes, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Of course this classic 1875 text is fabulous, but someone hasn't thought about readability on the kindle, and this kindle edition is made unreadable by the insertion of the original 1875 footnotes in with the text. Very, very bad. My advice - spend a quid and get a better edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Notes, 4 May 2012
By 
John Meanwood (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
This is the version of the Complete Diaries of Samuel Pepys that does not have the annoying notes breaking up the narration. If you want the notes, get this version. Check out the 'Look Inside' options on both versions to see which you prefer.

Unfortunately in this version there are no notes at all, so you will probably also need to buy this in paperback, as it is not available on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this after hearing it serialised on the radio and so fantastic that it is free. Great to be able to dip in and out of the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old news, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
I knew much of the content of the book but it is stil la comfortable feeling to know that peoples hopes and fear have remained the samre over the years even if standards have altered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Character, 13 Oct 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is another fascinating historical biography that reads more like a novel than a stuffy factual book. Virtually everyone knows the name of Samuel Pepys. Ah yes, he's the man who wrote the diary. This is of course true, but do they actually know anything about the man behind the name of Samuel Pepys. What for instance were his feelings on the politicians of the day. What were his own ambitions and aspirations.

Pepys was a naval administrator and friend and confidant of some of the most famous and powerful people in London . Sex, the plague, music, marital conflict, naval life, public executions and incarcerations in the Tower of London. These are just some of the colourful events in the life of a man famous for his writing of a diary.

The book contains a wealth of interesting material about the life of a man who's name goes before him. Everyone knows his name, but few know of the life of the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Things I learnt many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating glimpse into a bygone age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History as it was lived., 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
A perennial, classic account of life at the beginning of the 17th century. If you are studying The Restoration, this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary of Samuel Pepys
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews