Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
Really enjoyed reading this after hearing it serialised on the radio and so fantastic that it is free. Great to be able to dip in and out of the stories.
Published 23 months ago by Kateb

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fascinating if some what dull at times
I have always wanted to read Pepys diary specifically the entries about the plague years and the great fire of London. For these two topics alone this was worth reading. You get a real sense of the fear and emotion of the time. I loved it when Pepys described burying his wine, money and parmesan cheese in the ground to protect it from the fire.

On the down...
Published on 5 Dec. 2012 by James Hobbs


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fascinating if some what dull at times, 5 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
I have always wanted to read Pepys diary specifically the entries about the plague years and the great fire of London. For these two topics alone this was worth reading. You get a real sense of the fear and emotion of the time. I loved it when Pepys described burying his wine, money and parmesan cheese in the ground to protect it from the fire.

On the down side it's still a diary and not everything is interesting so some bits can be dull from time to time. Overall this is an ideal book for anyone interested in this period and looking at the day to day life in 17th century England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pepys is Fabulous, but BAD footnotes, 3 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Of course this classic 1875 text is fabulous, but someone hasn't thought about readability on the kindle, and this kindle edition is made unreadable by the insertion of the original 1875 footnotes in with the text. Very, very bad. My advice - spend a quid and get a better edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this after hearing it serialised on the radio and so fantastic that it is free. Great to be able to dip in and out of the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable excerpts from the the famously candid diary of a fascinating man living in troubled times, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
NB - - - I thought I'd copy my review from the CD version over to this download edition, as the content ought to be much the same. It's strange how on Amazon's website some reviews, such as my review for this audiobook do get appended to certain other related products, e.g. Pepys' diaries themselves, but not others, e.g. this download, of the very same audiobook... weird!) - - -

First of all this is a review of Maloney's abridged reading for Naxos Audiobooks. Many of the other reviews here appear to be about either the diaries themselves or other Pepys related products. 'Tis a pity when this happens, as it misrepresents and misinforms re the actual product customers are seeking to learn more about.

I have to admit I've not heard of Michael Maloney before. There's a Kenneth Branagh version out as well, which I haven't heard, and which Amazon have mistakenly referred to in their product description above (at the time of my submitting this review at any rate). He reads his part as Pepys very well, but with a decidedly affected plummily posh accent that I found simultaneously strange and charming. It leaves one, or me at least, wondering how such decisions about voice-casting are made. Maloney's characterisation is so affected that I feel it gives a slightly strange slant to the material at times.

But in the end what makes this so fascinating and compelling is the material: Pepys' candid confessional diary entries tell a marvellously vigorous and entertaining tale of a highly interesting life lived through very turbulent times. Pepys grew up during the English Civil War and Cromwell's 'protectorate', and this audiobook abridgement selects several key episodes, such as outbreaks of the plague, the great fire of London, the naval war with Holland - which his work for the navy meant he was intimately involved in - and, talking of intimate involvements, his relationships with numerous women, in particular his wife and Deb Willet, all of which give the abridgement some narrative shape and drama.

Mostly this is a solo reading, but it is augmented by some narrative comments, and a few brief interludes of period music, including a very short song which Pepys set himself, music being, amongst his other accomplishments and, alongside the company of women, his chief pleasure in life. Pepys' diaries are noted for their candour, including detailed and frequently hilarious relations of such things as bowel movements and ejaculations. Aside from a few coy references to hanky-panky (often in a strange jumble of tongues, inc. French and Latin), and a few bouts of flatulence, this side of Pepys rather 'earthier' nature is notably and sadly absent, which slightly emasculates this edition.

Despite these caveats, however, this is enormously enjoyable. I found myself very much compelled to listen to it - I/we always generally listen to audiobooks during car journeys - as near straight though as possible, albeit over numerous individual journeys. And indeed, I've already listened to several parts several times over. I'd like to hear Branagh's version (is that similarly abridged?). I generally dislike Branagh on-screen, but I'd be intrigued to see how his voicing of the part compares with Maloney's slightly effete rendering.

So this Naxos audiobook isn't necessarily the perfect Pepys for me, but it is nonetheless excellent, and great fun to listen to. As a result of listening to this (thanks mum!) I've started reading Tomalin's Pepys biog, The Unequalled Self. On CD (at the time of writing), the CD version is approx £17, whilst this download is just over £6. As long as the audio quality is good, that's great value for a 4-hour sojourn in the intriguing world of Sam Pepys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Character, 13 Oct. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is another fascinating historical biography that reads more like a novel than a stuffy factual book. Virtually everyone knows the name of Samuel Pepys. Ah yes, he's the man who wrote the diary. This is of course true, but do they actually know anything about the man behind the name of Samuel Pepys. What for instance were his feelings on the politicians of the day. What were his own ambitions and aspirations.

Pepys was a naval administrator and friend and confidant of some of the most famous and powerful people in London . Sex, the plague, music, marital conflict, naval life, public executions and incarcerations in the Tower of London. These are just some of the colourful events in the life of a man famous for his writing of a diary.

The book contains a wealth of interesting material about the life of a man who's name goes before him. Everyone knows his name, but few know of the life of the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Notes, 4 May 2012
By 
John Meanwood (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
This is the version of the Complete Diaries of Samuel Pepys that does not have the annoying notes breaking up the narration. If you want the notes, get this version. Check out the 'Look Inside' options on both versions to see which you prefer.

Unfortunately in this version there are no notes at all, so you will probably also need to buy this in paperback, as it is not available on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful if biased contemporary account of Restoration England, 20 April 2014
By 
Mr. Kevin P. Futers "Who's afraid of the Bill... (Northumbria, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Having read the free Kindle edition I find that I have read the sanitised 19th century edit, complete with annoying but sometimes helpful notes about the lineage of persons of quality mentioned in the text and identifying most of the plays that he goes to see. No rumpy-pumpy allowed in the Victorian version!

Now, is there a free Kindle edition of John Evelyn's diaries The Diary of John Evelyn? Every time I read his name I felt ever so curious as to whether Evelyn thought it worth mentioning that he had bumped into Pepys.

Glad to have read it, although beyond the Restoration, the Plague, the Great Fire and the war with the Dutch, and the handy markers in the development of Restoration fashion (of which he is a dedicated follower), the book has much that can only be described as dull and self-serving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and so to bed., 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
My knowledge of history would not get me 1% of a GCSE, so I may not be the best suited to comment, but I find this book absolutely fantastic. Much has changed since his day (e.g. Science and Medicine) but one thing hasn't (human nature).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It is a daily journal and so is an unusual ..., 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
It is a daily journal and so is an unusual read.It gives a real insight into conditions at the time for people in the serrvice of the king or commonwealth.At one stage Pepys sells his job for 4 years wage and presumably the purchaser profited from the patronage of the position and the gifts he would obtain for using his influence.Recent articles in the press suggest that people connected to government still consider this to be their due.Worth reading but repetitive and not fascinating in its own right.According to the introduction the diary was written and deciphered much later by a scholar which would account for the lack of style in writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (Kindle Edition)
Once you get used to the difference in English - this is an amazing first hand account of 1600s England. The stories are facinating, full of intrigue and the intricacies of daily life in the higher echelons of British society. The main gripe I have relates to how the work is transcribed on kindle - is not possible to move from year to year or month to month in terms of the diary. So although I've had the book for some months now even though I don't read it all the time - I am still only 30% through as I am not able to dip in and out very easily ie.. to specific points in time such as the Great Fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary of Samuel Pepys
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews