Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2010
Even the approach to Christmas fails to excite restless Agnes Conway, the twenty-two-year-old manager of the sweet and tobacconist shops owned by her feckless father. There are dark secrets in Arthur Conway's past, and these come tragically to light when Agnes's younger sister falls pregnant by one of the notorious Felton brothers. And Agnes herself has a secret, which she knows she must keep from her father: her relationship with Charles Farrier, son of a local landowner, who outrages his own wealthy, pious family by proposing marriage.

However Charles is not the only man who could shape Agnes's furture, as his brother Reginald makes no secret of his admiration for her. But she could not have foreseen how significant a part he is to play in her destiny...

The Wingless Bird is an absorbing story of love and the harsh realities of Britain's class system.
a MUST READ!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2008
I loved this one. Down to earth characters, every day situations, with a little grit thrown in. Loved it !
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2000
I read this after seeing the tv adaptation. I think it's the best of Caroline Cookson's stories.
Aggie has to put up with a violent father, a mother who doesn't care and a flighty sister, but still loves them all. She spends her time working in the family shop hoping for a life of her own.
Then all at once she discovers that things are not right with her family, her parents hate each other violently, and her sister is in love with 'scum from the docks'. At the same time she meets a charming man, whom she falls in love with...
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2008
Even the approach of Christmas, 1913, fails to excite the restless Agnes Conway, the twenty-two-year-old manager of her feckless father's adjoining sweet and tobacconist shops. There are dark secrets in Arthur Conway's past, and these come tragically to light when Agnes's younger sister becomes pregnant by one of the notorious Felton brothers. And Agnes herself has a secret, which she knows she must keep from her father: an attachment to Charles Farrier, son of a local landowner, who outrages his own pious family by proposing marriage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
I have read this book several times, and have enjoyed it everytime that i have read it. But i lost my copy so had to buy a new one. It was in good condition and the story had as usual was as much fun to read as ever x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Loved this book, enjoyed it on t.v, but much more content in the book.\having watched the film though, I could put faces and voices to the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Excellent, goes into more detail than the film. Get more feeling of the horrers of the 1st ww, and the social divide of the times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Very good book. Catherine Cookson at her very best. Although sad at times, gripping all the way through. Highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Not read a Catherine Cookson book in a long while. So enjoyed her easy reading style once again, good story line
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
i got a real bargain with all these books i got six books all by cath cookson for 99p each,good on ya amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£4.99
£4.99
£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.