Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This novel portrays the ups and downs of Tilly Trotter.
I am an ardent fan of Catherine Cookson and all of her novels but Tilly Trotter is arguably the best I have ever read. In this novel Catherine portrays the life of this young girl Tilly Trotter and the many trials and tribulations that she has to face. Set near Newcastle Tilly lives with her grandparents and early on in life she loses them and very quickly has to...
Published on 26 Oct. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tilly Trotter
I love the Trilogy, a little dissappointed this wasn't the complete trilogy which was wh I thought I was getting. Not to worry I will get tathe other two when I can afford it.
Published 21 months ago by RONICA DAWES


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This novel portrays the ups and downs of Tilly Trotter., 26 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (Paperback)
I am an ardent fan of Catherine Cookson and all of her novels but Tilly Trotter is arguably the best I have ever read. In this novel Catherine portrays the life of this young girl Tilly Trotter and the many trials and tribulations that she has to face. Set near Newcastle Tilly lives with her grandparents and early on in life she loses them and very quickly has to survive on her own. She manages to do this despite being labelled a witch and eventually finds a good job looking after the children of the most important man in the village.
But unfortunately she loses her job and is forced to work down the coal mines, until disaster strikes when she and the owner of the mine are nearly killed. This forces the mine to close and she obtains a job again at the manor where she used to work only this time she looks after the master who was crippled in the mine diaster. As love eventually blossoms Tilly's life begins to take a happy twist but not before many other grievances arise.
In my opinion this is Catherine Cooksons best novel because she manages to portray the life of this girl so well that you almost believe that Tilly is your best friend. A thoroughly enjoyable read and one that will not disappoint. Tilly Trotter Wed and Tilly Trotter Widowed continue her story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis, 16 Sept. 2008
First novel in the epic trilogy set during the reign of Queen Victoria, which follows the fortunes of a young girl from a small village in Tyneside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson at her best, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
Wobette (The Wild West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is Catherine Cookson at its best. Tilly is a 15 year old orphan at the beginning of the story. She is living with her grandparents and in love with her farmer neighbour yet unaware of the secret that binds him to her family. But as Tilly begins her journey of self awareness, she comes up against prejudice, fear and lust but as she battles against all those who wish her and her family harm, disaster and the poverty she was born into. she draws on her inner strength to rise against it all time and time again... even catching the eye of the Lord of the Manor.

Tilly is a hero of her time who you will want to root for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great series of books., 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Tilly Trotter Trilogy is another of Catherine Cookson's writing at her best. It is a wonderful insight into how to deal with suffering and even when you have it bad in your life. To go on. There is always another corner to turn with another story in your life with a different outcome for you. How sometimes we are not always able to cope but a person or persons can come into our lives and change it for the better. It's a book that you can relate to on so many different levels.
I would highly recommend this Trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tilly Trotter, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
l Have not read the book yet but have seen the film so l know l will enjoy the book
Catherine Cookson books are just fantastic.

I ordered and paid for Shadows of the Workhouse and Life of Pi but they have not been downloaded on my Kindle.
Why is this please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, un-put-downable, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I gave this story a 5 star rating, as it is an excellent tale,with lots of twists & turns to keep the reader interested. There is so much detail of the lives of the rich & the poor in the 1800's, that you understand the way it all happened then. Catherine Cookson at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this book down, you get drawn into the main character and those around her, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book after I had watched the drama of it, book was better and I found it hard to put down. It is easy to read and the characters are well written and really draw you into their world. It made me feel very lucky and humble to be living in this day and age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tilley trotter, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Throughly enjoyed reading this triology, as always Catherine Cookson manages to transport you along side the characters. I read this book several years ago but have just purchased a kindle so chose this book knowing that I would enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 1 July 2012
By 
Pamela (ELGIN, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this trilogy. I found the writing style easy to read, and the story flowed along at a good pace. Description was informative to set the atmosphere but not overdone to become boring. A good bedtime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent saga!, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Frankie (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Tilly Trotter trilogy is absolutely brilliant. Really well written and on a par with the Mallen Trilogy. I couldn't wait to get to the end of each book and then was very disappointed when there were no more to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews