Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This novel portrays the ups and downs of Tilly Trotter.
I am an ardent fan of Catherine Cookson and all of her novels but Tilly Trotter is arguably the best I have ever read. In this novel Catherine portrays the life of this young girl Tilly Trotter and the many trials and tribulations that she has to face. Set near Newcastle Tilly lives with her grandparents and early on in life she loses them and very quickly has to...
Published on 26 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars home-spun, home life story
it was ok, had to skip forward at points, but overall family story, good character development. Not sure I want to read next 2 in trilogy.
Published 2 months ago by Grammy J


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This novel portrays the ups and downs of Tilly Trotter., 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (Paperback)
I am an ardent fan of Catherine Cookson and all of her novels but Tilly Trotter is arguably the best I have ever read. In this novel Catherine portrays the life of this young girl Tilly Trotter and the many trials and tribulations that she has to face. Set near Newcastle Tilly lives with her grandparents and early on in life she loses them and very quickly has to survive on her own. She manages to do this despite being labelled a witch and eventually finds a good job looking after the children of the most important man in the village.
But unfortunately she loses her job and is forced to work down the coal mines, until disaster strikes when she and the owner of the mine are nearly killed. This forces the mine to close and she obtains a job again at the manor where she used to work only this time she looks after the master who was crippled in the mine diaster. As love eventually blossoms Tilly's life begins to take a happy twist but not before many other grievances arise.
In my opinion this is Catherine Cooksons best novel because she manages to portray the life of this girl so well that you almost believe that Tilly is your best friend. A thoroughly enjoyable read and one that will not disappoint. Tilly Trotter Wed and Tilly Trotter Widowed continue her story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis, 16 Sep 2008
First novel in the epic trilogy set during the reign of Queen Victoria, which follows the fortunes of a young girl from a small village in Tyneside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson at her best, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Wobette (The Wild West) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is Catherine Cookson at its best. Tilly is a 15 year old orphan at the beginning of the story. She is living with her grandparents and in love with her farmer neighbour yet unaware of the secret that binds him to her family. But as Tilly begins her journey of self awareness, she comes up against prejudice, fear and lust but as she battles against all those who wish her and her family harm, disaster and the poverty she was born into. she draws on her inner strength to rise against it all time and time again... even catching the eye of the Lord of the Manor.

Tilly is a hero of her time who you will want to root for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars home-spun, home life story, 10 May 2014
By 
Grammy J (Shingle Springs, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
it was ok, had to skip forward at points, but overall family story, good character development. Not sure I want to read next 2 in trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second time I have read this story Like all Catherine Cookson books this is an excellent read Will have to get the next book in the trilogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to everyone who likes to read Catherine Cookson. I am still reading it. enjoying it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars smashing, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
good book,classics are always a winner. easy to download,easy read,although you need to e able to do a good geordie accent to make it proper!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tilly Trotter - Catherine Cookson, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. Janet M. Spratley (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As avid fan of all of Catherine Cooksons' novels, reading this one on my kindle was very enjoyable. I plan to download more when I have a moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STORY! THE VERY BEST OF CATHERINE COOKSON., 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Catherine Cookson wrote some great stories and I have read most of them but the Tilly Trotter Trilogy is the one that remains more in the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tilly Trotter Trilogy, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilly Trotter (The Tilly Trotter Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really like these books but I like everything Cathryn Cookson has written.
I could read her books over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews