Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely story
This novel is as good as the rest of Catherine Cookson's novels. I started reading this novel and could not put it down. It is a really nice story of a young girl brought up in a parsonage and who is taught by her brothers to "fight and look after herself" captivates the heart of the "master" from the "big house" and he falls in love with her. The girls mother is dying...
Published on 26 May 2011 by K Allen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit samey!
Maybe I have just read too many Catherine Cookson books recently but I have begun to feel that some of them follow the same old formula. Poor girl marries into rich family and then things start to go wrong.

Nancy Ann is the daughter of the local Parson and is a bit of a tomboy having two older brothers who taught her how to fight and rough and tumble with them...
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by Pyewacket


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I would highly recommend this book for an easy read in the usual Catherine Cookson style. This is number 57 of her books that I've read and intend reading them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Parson's Daughter, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
G. Silverman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I haven't finished this book yet, but I am enjoying it immensely, as I do all Catherine Cookson's books. I am always disappointed when I've come to the end though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The patrons daughter, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Great story of love and sadness. Lots of different ways to tell the difference between real love and being safe and comfortable. Good reading and good characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy reading which pulls you in!, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I liked the characters and story line, wanted to read more and more of it. This is also slightly different from CC's usual story lines and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Catherine Cookson's best, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I found this quite an entertaining book which was reasonably engrossing but the story was rather predictable. However recommended for easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cookson, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
Heather S "HB" (West Country, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Not quite a good as some of her other novels but nevertheless a good read. Themes of class and the impotence of women in that society are strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
It took me a little while to get into it but then I loved it she kept you on the edge. The ending was different to what I thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Cookson story, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
She's done it again! The trials the Parson's daughter goes through to finally enjoy a happy life! Enthralling.
Recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
She has to be one of our greatest story tellers holding the readers interest even when relating the most Mundane incidents excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BOOK, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parson's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I really loved this book. I couldn't stop reading it. Would highly recommend the book. One of the best books I have read in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Parson's Daughter
The Parson's Daughter by Catherine Cookson
£2.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews