Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dwelling Place, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Dwelling Place (Paperback)
Set in Durham,the hamlet of Heatherbrook is home to the Brodie family.
The eldest, Cissie Brodie has been left to care for her nine siblings.
Cissie, determined to keep the family from the threat of the workhouse,
builds a makeshift home on the fells, the dwelling place.
With the support of charitable friends, she secures work and food for her
family.
A tale of human conflict, fear, determination and devotion, Catherine
Cookson invites the reader to live alongside the Brodies, to share Cissie's
concerns, wide-eyed fears and the possibility of finding love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 7 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Paperback)
I love this book. Having read nearly every Cookson book, this is one of my favorites. Have read it many times before as a young girl and adult. Suits all ages over 12. Just enjoy disappearing into the past and living in a cookson book for a few hours. Easy to read and hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book, it is the first Catherine Cookson I have read and certainly won't be the last. A beautiful easy to read novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dwelling place, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Kindle Edition)
I had already seen the film,but the book has more detail,it was very difficult to put the kindle down again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dwelling Place, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Kindle Edition)
I just love Catherine Cookson l have seen a lot of her films and read some books .l am about to read The Dwelling Place have seen the film but would see it again, they are such lovely stories.
l want to read them all ,l just love that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dwelling place, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Kindle Edition)
This book was a great read if you like to read about the old days and the way some lived .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dwelling Place, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book several times. It is the best book I have ever read. Gritty & emotional. Would recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and thoroughly absorbing read, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Kindle Edition)
This was my my second Catherine Cookson book.
The characters are immediately likeable and you feel you know them upon reading each page, the main character you take to your heart instantly.
I thought it was very well written, a book I couldn't put down and looked forward to reading each night.
A very good easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than the film, 27 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Paperback)
I bought this book as a follow-up to seeing the tv adaptation. The series was well acted and believable up to the last few scenes. I wanted to compare the ending in the series to the ending in the book. The book was far more believable!! The book continues the story where the series left off. It also gives a bit more background story to the main characters which helps in understanding them and finding them more genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED THIS ONE !, 7 April 2008
This review is from: The Dwelling Place (Paperback)
This is another one of cookson`s best. I couldn`t put this down. If you enjoy the rags to riches, with a little romance and even brutality thrown in - you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dwelling Place
The Dwelling Place by Catherine Cookson
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews