Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The black velvet gown
This is one of Ms Cookson's lengthier and better known works.

The central character is a housemaid in a big country manor who has, unusually, been taught to read. At this time only senior staff like the butler and housekeeper are expected to be literate so it comes as something of a shock when the girl is able to sign her name in thanks for a Christmas gift...
Published 4 months ago by Clare O'Beara

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The black . Velvet gown
Excellent, easy to read. Another one of the best from Catherine Cookson. Would recommend this to anyone who likes a warming story.
Published 23 months ago by debby sear


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The black velvet gown, 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
This is one of Ms Cookson's lengthier and better known works.

The central character is a housemaid in a big country manor who has, unusually, been taught to read. At this time only senior staff like the butler and housekeeper are expected to be literate so it comes as something of a shock when the girl is able to sign her name in thanks for a Christmas gift from her employers. Literate understaff are not desirable - they might read private correspondence, diaries, business papers. The wealthy think that what to them is an asset, becomes a liability in the servants.

The tale continues from there and shows a few different sides of life in the northern counties. I found this a fine historical romance with drama, well-researched settings and relatable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another favourite, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
I am being very repetitive of my reviews of Catherine Cookson novels. But (sad I know) I love most of them. This is also one of my favourites and would recommend it to anyone who likes novels of this era. I won't spoil it with information. Just read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
i just love catherine cookson books & this is one of her best,this is a story showing you just how hard it was for you if your man died & you were made to leave your home, another great read, she really knows her part of the world & its people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
Heard about this book from a friend and decided to have it. Found that it was difficult to put the book down once I started to read it. I have given this book four stars and it certainly deserves this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Velvet Gown, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
First class. A most enjoyable read and very hard to put down. Like all Catherine Cookson books this one does not disappoint. I am looking forward to reading more of Catherine Cookson on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First of Many, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
interesting twist and a most enjoyable read. For some reason I have been hesitant over the years to read Catherine Cookson but after this novel I am hooked and look forward to reading more of her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Black Velvet Gown, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, had read it previously before adding it to my Kindle.

I found the "ups and downs" of the family's life and Biddy's guts and determination utterly engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Velvet Gown, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
Another superb read from Catherine Cookson, with twists & turns to keep the reader's interest to the very end.As always, the descriptions are so good, that you can 'see' the story setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLACK VELVET GOWN, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
Although I've watched films on tv this is first time I've read a Catherine Cookson I really enjoyed it. I got a real feel for the era thanks to the authors descriptive prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of catherine cookson, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Velvet Gown (Kindle Edition)
This book had me gripped from start to finish, made me cry in parts.I was sorry to have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black Velvet Gown
The Black Velvet Gown by Catherine Cookson
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews