Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Learn More Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars53
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2016
This is honestly the most thought provoking, incredible album I have ver heard. from the incredible guitar solo in Yellow Brick road to the build of Draw your Sword's and the soft melancholy of Big Jet Plane. Get this album in your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 March 2010
The Aussie brother and sister have produced a deft second album which is easy on the ear once you get used to their tendency to alternate the lead vocals on each track. Julia's is the most immediately appealing voice - waif like Martha Wainright sort of describes it. Her brother puts me in mind of a laid back Josh Rouse. Nicely produced - mixing electric and acoustic guitars and strings to create a indie folkrock sound but arrangements are varied whilst staying coherent. Try the lead track '.. and the boys' to give a good impression of the whole

All in all an album that grows on you from an impressive starting point.

If you like this check out the Weepies for similar fare.
review image
33 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
This is such a beautiful collection of songs.
The whole vibe of the album is just perfect, I could have it on repeat for hours. The lyrics are also genius.
My favorite songs on there (hard to choose!) but they'd have to be the emotive and brilliant 'I'm Not Yours' and the cool 'Hold On'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
This is an incredible album that just gets better and better with each listen.

It is an album that spans many genres and that manages to sparkle with an eclectic iridescence. In a word beautiful. It might take a few listens before it unfolds its full splendour but the best albums always do. 5 thumbs up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2010
Read a favourable review in The Sunday Times, and took a punt - it's an amazingly good album. Beautiful fragile vocals. A bit like Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan, each alternating in taking over vocal duties.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
Angus & Julia Stone - Down The Way (Flock)
The second album from Australian brother and sister, Angus and Julia Stone (Down The Way is the follow-up release to 2007's much lauded A Book Like This) has an intriguing history. Recorded in New York and London, but also an old water tank in Coolangatta and a converted sawmill in Cornwall, it's no surprise that the siblings take on much of the production role, and travel appears to be a central theme of the album. That and the loneliness it can bring.

It's a serious collection of songs with adult subject matter and a certain downbeat, weathered atmosphere pervades much of the material. Fortunately they're talented songwriters with voices that mesh and entwine with enchanting ease, and while Down The Way may not be the easiest of listening experiences, it's always rewarding. Indeed, it gets better with every spin. 9/10.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I absolutely love this CD, the voices of the stones' are a great contrast, complement each other very well. Really enjoy the folk and blues mix with an alternative, acoustic feel to it. Magic to the ears! Would highly recommend this CD, and was a definite bonus that it came so quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
This is my first purchase of Angus & Julia Stone's music, & it will definitely not be my last. This album has not left my CD player for a month.
Julia delivers a soft yet haunting vocal, whilst Angus is more understated (like a whisper on the wind), I still find his voice addictive.

Musically this album is great, it has a beautiful mix of guitars, strings, piano etc.

My favourite songs are Yellow Brick Road (this just has me dreaming of California),
Draw Your Swords (Angus's vocal is fantastic), For You & I'm Not Your's (Julia's vocals are beautiful).

I love this whole album, it can't help but have you dreaming of sunny days, good times & free spirits.

I can't wait to hear more & catch a live show.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
Stumbled across Angus and Julia Stone on Spotify. I can heartily recommend this double album. Not only is it great value for money, but the music is fantastic; laid back with some great rhythms, their voices are wonderful contrasts.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
Grows with every listen. Alternated male and quirky female vocals. Beautiful harmonies throughout.
Hauntingly gorgeous songs - 'For You'and 'I'm Not Yours'. An epic - 'Draw Your Swords'that begins hypnotically, builds and builds with brilliant vocals (shades of Jim Morrison and Jeff Buckley towards the end), quite magnificent. The incredibly catchy 'Big Jet Plane', and some Neil Young style guitar in 'Yellow Brick Road'. Each song is melodic and well-constructed, and at times achingly emotional.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.20
£10.03

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)