Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2015
As with any 'Best of...' collections, there will always be arguments over what should be included. Certainly, there needs to be a good range of material taken from the extensive back catalogue and, with a group like ELP who tended to have at least 1 really lengthy excursion per album, the compiler obviously felt that a number of shorter songs had to be included at the expense of longer songs. 'Tarkus' - a No. 1 album for ELP - has been shabbily treated here with the amusing, but very short 'Jeremy Bender' as its sole representative, whilst the pretty, but terribly long 'Take A Pebble' from the band's eponymous debut album is the longest track featured here. Happily, 'Brain Salad Surgery' is well represented with a section of the mighty 'Karn Evil 9', 'Jerusalem' and the superb 'Still... You Turn Me on'; the title track from 'Trilogy' is another great inclusion and there are some lovely Greg Lake songs such as 'Lucky Man' and 'The Sage' which juxtapose rather well with Keith Emerson's full-blooded classical rock tendencies. There are a few tracks that I could well have done without here - for instance, 'The Gambler' seems very run-of-the-mill to me - but, overall, this is quite a decent retrospective album which provides a good starting point for discovering their early 1970s output.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Ok, this is what happened! I was listening to planet rock one evening, and they played "lucky man" by ELP, and i thought, what a beautiful song! ...why don't i have anthing by this band in my fairly large and ( i thought ) comprehensive selection of classic rock? So i had a look on various sites just to see what was around in the way of greatest hits albums and found this download, for £2.99??? Thought it was probably not very good at that price, and had only one review which is not much to go on. ( Have since read some reviews on the c.d version..i think they must have been listening to a different album!!!) But it had Lucky man, and Fanfare for the common man, which is the only song that i knew by elp, ...so i took a punt. This album is a total steal!!! My sole litmus test for music is how long it stays in my c.d player/ipod. Well this is stuck in there at the moment, it is wonderful music and if i had paid twenty quid i wouldn't have felt hard done by!! I guess that there are tracks that more knowledgable fans might say are not there, but if it's a blank canvas to you, like it was for me, then snap this up while it's this price, you will love it! It's prog rock for those people who don't like prog, and it's rock adaptations of classical pieces for those who don't like classical music!! There is a stunning version of Jerusalem, but to list faves would be to take away from the fact that the whole album is a joy! I dont know about re-mastering etc, but the sound quality is excellent. The only bad news is that having found this, i will probably spend lots more money trawling through the back catologue ...but what a start!!!
77 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
It could have had a better choice of track, but there are still some stormers in here. All in all, I would say if you have never heard a lot of ELP then go for this in the knowledge that there are more goodies to seek out.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
This is a compilation that has associated nice remembraces... The sleeve/cover painting is beautiful. And the set is remarkably good. For sure, it's difficult to condense EL&P in just one album and it is also quite clear that this is progressive rock. Nevertheless, even a punk would enjoy some of the tracks. The album is a nice beginning for the world of EL&P, which may turn into a quite intimidating band for the humble beginner. I begun with this one and Pictures in an Exhibition. Best EL&P? Perhaps the live set "Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends", or "Brain Salad Surgery" or the more accessible "Trilogy". But, whatever it is the album, the best period of EL&P, 1971-1974 is covered herein. Why not 5 stars ? Because there are some other good compilations around, and this does not add nothing unknown or quite new. And the price of this other compilations is also quite good. Nevertheless, it worths any penny invested. The virtuosism, the rythm section, the sometimes burlesque, whimsical, apocalyptic and even folky lyrics (like in Lucky Man) are catched here too. Therefore, it is a nice place to begin, though, I insist, there are other bargain compilations. Nevertheless this has a beautiful sleeve and that counts... And it involves great material - it is not just a package rating, of course -. Once you get started here, you will buy everything by EL&P between 1971 and 1974, including the not mentioned above debut album and Tarkus. The later is considered by most - not me, though I would put it my favorite records account - the best EL&P. The Works period is less impressive and you can obtain the best track from there, "Fanfare for the Common Man". Keith Emerson, Greg Lake and Carl Palmer are a second to none trio and my favorite "hard progressive" band. Genesis is the best as a whole set, at least between 1971 and 1977. Yes would rate third, with their Fragile, Close to the Edge and Yessongs. Of course, King Crimson, Soft Machine, Floyd when they joined this trend, though this last three go beyond progressive rock... But EL&P is second to none as power trio.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This was one if my favourite bands when I was a teenager and at such a good price a little nostalgia is not a bad thing and since I still remember all the words even though the tracks are old it proves that I'm not senile yet !!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
If you like ELP you will like this ... I can now play ELP in my car without the vinyl player on the back seat bouncing around :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
This is my favourite band. Cant do without them, this is another cd for my collection. Its a good compilation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Excellent pomp rock. Fanfare for the Common Man has to be one of my favourite pieces of music of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Great album to have in your collection also a great way to start getting into the other albums in the ELP collection
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
bought for pressie, they seemed to like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.47
£11.25

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)