Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FOREWORD TO EMERSON LAKE & PALMER
This is a compilation that has associated nice remembraces... The sleeve/cover painting is beautiful. And the set is remarkably good. For sure, it's difficult to condense EL&P in just one album and it is also quite clear that this is progressive rock. Nevertheless, even a punk would enjoy some of the tracks. The album is a nice beginning for the world of EL&P, which may...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by O. Guedez

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good intro
It could have had a better choice of track, but there are still some stormers in here. All in all, I would say if you have never heard a lot of ELP then go for this in the knowledge that there are more goodies to seek out.
Published 4 months ago by Martyn Hanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FOREWORD TO EMERSON LAKE & PALMER, 30 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
This is a compilation that has associated nice remembraces... The sleeve/cover painting is beautiful. And the set is remarkably good. For sure, it's difficult to condense EL&P in just one album and it is also quite clear that this is progressive rock. Nevertheless, even a punk would enjoy some of the tracks. The album is a nice beginning for the world of EL&P, which may turn into a quite intimidating band for the humble beginner. I begun with this one and Pictures in an Exhibition. Best EL&P? Perhaps the live set "Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends", or "Brain Salad Surgery" or the more accessible "Trilogy". But, whatever it is the album, the best period of EL&P, 1971-1974 is covered herein. Why not 5 stars ? Because there are some other good compilations around, and this does not add nothing unknown or quite new. And the price of this other compilations is also quite good. Nevertheless, it worths any penny invested. The virtuosism, the rythm section, the sometimes burlesque, whimsical, apocalyptic and even folky lyrics (like in Lucky Man) are catched here too. Therefore, it is a nice place to begin, though, I insist, there are other bargain compilations. Nevertheless this has a beautiful sleeve and that counts... And it involves great material - it is not just a package rating, of course -. Once you get started here, you will buy everything by EL&P between 1971 and 1974, including the not mentioned above debut album and Tarkus. The later is considered by most - not me, though I would put it my favorite records account - the best EL&P. The Works period is less impressive and you can obtain the best track from there, "Fanfare for the Common Man". Keith Emerson, Greg Lake and Carl Palmer are a second to none trio and my favorite "hard progressive" band. Genesis is the best as a whole set, at least between 1971 and 1977. Yes would rate third, with their Fragile, Close to the Edge and Yessongs. Of course, King Crimson, Soft Machine, Floyd when they joined this trend, though this last three go beyond progressive rock... But EL&P is second to none as power trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good intro, 28 May 2014
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
It could have had a better choice of track, but there are still some stormers in here. All in all, I would say if you have never heard a lot of ELP then go for this in the knowledge that there are more goodies to seek out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top tracks!, 8 July 2014
By 
A. Portsmouth (Loughborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
What can I say? ELP's greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ELP, 20 Sep 2013
By 
shona inglis (Edinburgh,SCOTLAND, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
This is my favourite band. Cant do without them, this is another cd for my collection. Its a good compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of ELP, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
Great album to have in your collection also a great way to start getting into the other albums in the ELP collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long life fan., 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Emerson, Lake & Palmer for years. I love this as it has more or less all the best bits on one CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lamentable, 6 Aug 2014
By 
J. Bruce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
No other word to describe it. How many more times can the back catalogue be reissued? How long before the prog fans get bored with this nonsense?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor compilation, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
This compilation is OK for a starter CD if someone is not familiar with their later music. Not for the avid fan. The actual CD is technically OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting!?!, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
Good to listen to over a car stereo if adds excitement to driving with the electronic beats!?! (My sons review (who is 16 and wanted it!!))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ELP, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of... (Audio CD)
The music sounds a little bit out of date and over indulgent. I bought it for 'Fanfare for the Common Man', which is still a good track. The others are so so. A true fan, which I am not, would get the 'Essential ELP Collection' rather than this. What you can say is that at this price, I haven't lost much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of...
The Very Best Of... by Emerson, Lake & Palmer (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews