Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great content
I have not watched all of this yet but have found it very well photographed and put together and the dancers are extremely able and the camera angles clarify things. I was sceptical about how useful this could be but it is better than I thought, and I can see it would be a great learning tool for any serious ballet student or anyone with an interest in ballet who did not...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by focada

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not essential
As might be surmised from the NTSC format, this is a dictionary of American Classical Ballet; the UK terminology is not always the same so may be a little confusing; also this was produced in 1988, dance styles and terminology do not stand still so, again, the terminology may confuse.

The narrated instructions are generally very good, however, the...
Published on 6 Aug 2009 by The Thinker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not essential, 6 Aug 2009
As might be surmised from the NTSC format, this is a dictionary of American Classical Ballet; the UK terminology is not always the same so may be a little confusing; also this was produced in 1988, dance styles and terminology do not stand still so, again, the terminology may confuse.

The narrated instructions are generally very good, however, the demonstrators' technique is not so secure - "arms through first to second, this should be just below shoulder height"; demonstrator - arms straight to second, arms just above shoulder height, not just on one exercise but on all of them.

However, there is a lot here and anyone looking for non-syllabus moves will find a wide choice to broaden their repertoire with American moves in the 1988 American style - as said, interesting but not essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great content, 11 Oct 2007
I have not watched all of this yet but have found it very well photographed and put together and the dancers are extremely able and the camera angles clarify things. I was sceptical about how useful this could be but it is better than I thought, and I can see it would be a great learning tool for any serious ballet student or anyone with an interest in ballet who did not already know(from taking class) the way in which ballet moves are constructed, pirouettes developed etc

Really good.

Highly recommended.

I wish the dancers smiled more throughout but I expect their faces would have got very strained so I can see why they decided not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best visual dictionary of ballet I have found, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Alfredo Caballero (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a newcomer to classical ballet, and I felt surprised when I realized the lack of media for dance students that I saw in the bookshops. This DVD has been a surprised, as it got what I needed: a tool for helping me to fuel my dance clasess, search for the correct technique, and don't be missed between the technical terms. I strongly recommend it if you are a dance begginer like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it - understand it - then go watch a ballet, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Video Dictionary of Classical Ballet [DVD] (DVD)
If one watches an opera that is sung in a tongue that one does not comprehend, then one misses out big time on what is being sung and why - but the moment one hears the opera sung in one's 'mother tongue', the language brings comprehension to the plot, story, sub-texts, and so forth - which brings CLARITY, MEANING, and DEPTH.

Try comprehending Wagner's Parsifal if the opera is sung in German and you do not comprehend German. Where would you find out that Parsifal is blinded by religion and has a conflict between Mother Nature and Father Religion? How would you discover that wishes and prayers are one and the same thing – and that neither serves any purpose; or that homeopathy and faith-healing are about as much use as a chocolate teapot - and those that participate in such ridiculous practices are deluded? How could you ascertain and question why it is necessary for one lot of ‘believers’ to take arms and set upon others whose ‘beliefs’ are different to THAT specific herd – and thus draw deep insight and meaning from Wagner’s masterwork and come away with a strengthened or changed point of view into such things? In short – you cannot if you cannot comprehend the libretto.

In ballet we have exactly the same issues - all of the ballet terms are in French - but it is further exacerbated by the fact that each of the three principal ballet schools (Italian; French; and Russian) have a different expression for the same thing - which creates incomprehensible FOG – the more there is – the less you see.

If, like me, you attend the fabulous Cinema Live events (visit cinemalive.com for details) to watch world-class performances by the very best companies in the world, delivering stunning opera and ballet LIVE by satellite link from their famous locations to cinemas all over the world for the price of a cinema ticket, then one needs to SEE the movements both explained and performed so as to bring enlightenment to what is taking place.

What the authors of this DVD have done is completely remove the fog by demonstrating each ballet term and so you SEE each movement beautifully performed in real time, then repeated in slow-motion as the narrator describes the terms used by each of the three classical schools as the movement unfolds.

The companion fully illustrated dictionary ‘A dictionary of Ballet Terms’ by Leo Kersley and Janet Sinclair, augment the DVD by describing the meaning of each term in English - together with the ALTERNATE term that is used by the other classical schools (e.g. jete = sissone = leap high into the air and then land on one foot).

By taking this THESAURUS approach, the dictionary goes much deeper than simply translating words from French to English - it facilitates students of (say) the Russian school to comprehend a term used by the French or Italian school - and in so doing, ALL schools can understand each other's canon and see the similarities and the subtle differences in (say) finger placement (page 70).

In my opinion, armed with the DVD and the dictionary, you cannot get any better! Now go out and purchase the DVD of Carlos Acosta's version of 'Don Quixote' performed by The Royal Ballet and transmitted live to cinemas all around the world in October 2013 – Acosta’s sublime choreography transcends every version that went before it - with REAL Flamenco guitarists on the stage in Act 2.

At last the choreography FINALLY matches the fiery music and the dancers are on FIRE! The ballet-blanc sequence when Don Quixote has his 'out of body' experience, and all of the women that Don Quixote has helped in the past return to thank him, will make you cry.

Just remember – dancing is a natural expression of emotion that is forbidden in churches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit more than a dictionary, 28 Jun 2009
Very well done dictionary. I am a beginner in ballet but joined a class for adults returning to ballet. Needless to say I am always baffled by a quick set of instructions - let's do a battement fondu, then chasse, then a few balances and finish off with a pirouette...

This video is a very good reference and it also gives you a slow-motion repeat of each move, with variations and explanations. So although it cannot really be used as an instruction video as such it complements my lessons beautifully. There are two DVDs, one contains all the positions and most basic terms and moves, the second one - more advanced moves and combinations of moves.

I would add that most dancers are pleasant to look at and the camera work is very good so you can see everything in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice but should be refilmed in more actual version, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started viewing the DVD, and my first impressions were that the images suffered from the time.
My second negative feeling is that the dancers look bored. They are not smiling at all.
They should make people feel they are happy to present this video and the contrary just appears!
Also my feeling is (and this is a very personnal opinion) that some dancers are missing grace.
Maybe this is due to old the image quality...

The content is valuable, very complete and well executed
My opinion is that the DVD should be refilmed in a more actual version with fresh and clear coloured images aaaaaaand smiling dancers!

I have put a 4 stars because I am adult beginner in Ballet dance class and that this video dictionnary permits me to view all steps clearly and to know what they are/how they look like.
I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 30 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty reasonable but a few bits on common errors or what tends to happen when.......... would be nice. Picture quality is good and plays OK on a PAL TV. (British)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly comprehensive DVD for all ballet lovers, 27 Sep 2010
I would highly recommend this DVD - not just for advanced dancers - but its also suitable for beginners. What with 4 DVD's detailing the main foundations/ positions of ballet, it also has a good voice over. An excellent source for any ballet lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Video Dictionary of Classical Ballet, 21 Jun 2010
Brilliant as expected. Much easier than trying to following a description in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good reference guide, 6 Jan 2010
It is very difficult to learn and revise ballet positions and steps from a book. I have tried unsuccessfully! This DVD is ideal as the dancers clearly demonstrate all the ballet positions including variations eg Cecchetti. The accompanying guide makes it easy to find what you are looking for and all of the steps are explained. I would recommend this DVD, however, perhaps not for complete beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews