Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this.
Anyone of a certain age has fond memories of TV shows that on re-watching don't quite live up to expectations. This is an exception. The contrasting characters of Turtle and 'Razor' Eddie, one a scheming coward, the other a laconic hardman, gell perfectly. Attwell as Eddie is perfect. A polite charmer who at the moment it's required oozes menace. The big surprise is John...
Published on 19 April 2011 by Razor Eddie

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Old Series.
I remember this series when it was first on TV, and really enjoyed it. One thing I liked was the fact that all the violence took place off camera, just a few 'noises'.

Having thought about it though and comparing this release with others more popular and far longer, the price seems rather heavy.

2 - 3 per disc is reasonable more for a really...
Published 20 months ago by RosieInLondon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this., 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone of a certain age has fond memories of TV shows that on re-watching don't quite live up to expectations. This is an exception. The contrasting characters of Turtle and 'Razor' Eddie, one a scheming coward, the other a laconic hardman, gell perfectly. Attwell as Eddie is perfect. A polite charmer who at the moment it's required oozes menace. The big surprise is John Landrey as Turtle. Bags of energy in his performance. It's a shame that he seemed to disappear of the acting map.
Presentation is surprisingly good. Well done to Network DVD for sourcing this supposedly long lost item. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I expected something good, better than expected, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I can remember the original broadcast of this series and my disappointment when it was pulled after the second series.
When I found it to have been transferred to DVD I had to have it, as with this type of thing, I expected that it would fall short of my expectation, I was pleasantly surprised, the transfer is excellent and every episode is a delight, if you remember this series and are in two minds whether to shell out the not inconsiderable cost, take my advise and go for it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful in its idiosyncratic way - but OH, the cost!, 3 Nov 2012
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
First, the cost ...

At the time of writing this review, you're being asked to pay around 30 which is way out of line ... but that will be because the re-release of this old series was limited in terms of both timescale and numbers of DVD's issued. Presumably it has yet to have a major re-release.

Now for the series ...

On the surface it would seem to be a no-hoper: The acting when actors have to affect accents such as American or Corsican are truly awful. Some of the incidental characters are also acted pretty poorly - and as for extras in 'The Robin' (Turtle and Eddie's pub) they're a collection of every thug-like bit-part actor you ever saw in films and TV series made in the 60's or early 70's.

BUT NONE OF THAT MATTERS - in fact, they enhance the humour, even though that was probably never the intention.

The repartee and one-liners shared between the major characters, especially Turtle, Eddie, Inspector Rafferty and George are truly funny - and become funnier as the series and characters bedded themselves in and were continually developed by Edmund Ward, the writer of every episode. Of especial merit is the non-acting of Ruby Head whose impassive expression is a perfect foil for the strings of one-liners, put-downs. anecdotes and niggles that she forever spouts.

Perhaps the style that best describes the delivery of all the humour is the way that none of the actors make much of it. They almost throw away their lines and never dwell on anything as if trying to raise laughs.

Being such an old series, events are not continually swamped with background music or canned laughter - everything is played dead straight and the whole series is an absolute gem.

As for my original niggle - the cost ... I DID pay an arm and a leg for my set but even though it felt like a rip-off at first, I've since watched the entire series three times which comes out so far at 10 per viewing. Which isn't bad. Also, each time I watch it, I see and hear something I'd missed before. if ever I need cheering up, this is one of the DVD sets that I reach for.

All-in-all, for me, this is one of the best light-hearted drama series I've ever seen.

And as for how Michael Attwell as Razor Eddie avoided putting on weight after troughing all the pies and breakfasts that he gets through --- it's a mystery. But his acting, alongside that of the brilliant John Landry, has to be commended as a masterclass in the art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden masterpiece, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Seeing this again after 30 years plus was worth the wait, I had forgotten the series name until saw the cover and recognised "razor Eddie"
Great story's, characters that Minder seemed to have borrowed, from aunt Ethel to the police chief and the gin swigging ten year old Jason.
Iam sure one day a remake may happen, but like Randall and hopkirk the original is the best.
As another reviewer wrote lots of violence, but never seen, great direction.
As far as 70s comedy drama go this is my favourite and the DVD transfer quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but looking its age, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The idea was a good one and the lead combination worked well. The change of lead for the police inspector in the second part of the series was much less effective. Against today's production values it looks thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic romp., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this for its evocation of a certain time in comedy dramas. The series seemed amazing when I watched it when it was first shown for the violence which took place off screen. Now it seemed very tame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Stuff even if dated, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series first time round and was delighted to find it on DVD after so many years. I thoroughly enjoyed it again thanks to this DVD. Although a little dated and contrived it is pure entertainment with no swearing. The main two characters are magnificent and bring a slightly fantasy idea to life. Pity there wasn't more episodes. Pure genius and wonderful nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Costly but fun, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I actually bought this for my husband who was a big fan back in the day. I have enjoyed watching them though, although the price was a bit steep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Turtle's progress - The complete series., 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had been waiting for this for years, it's very good if you remember it buy it, still thinking of you dawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars was present for brother, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
was bought as present for brother who really like to see the old programmes no longer shown well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turtle's Progress - The Complete Series [DVD]
21.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews