Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Messiah - The Right Choice, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. D. Roberts "Degsy Roberts" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is an interesting prequel to the book The Longest Week. It deals with the expectations that people had about Jesus at the time and it looks at how he never met any of them. This sounds like he was a failure but he just simply had different priorities.

The book covers the whole life of Jesus, from birth in Bethlehem to his death and resurrection in Jerusalem. Page does well in contextualising what happened and he has produced some very interesting results.

I don't want to spoil things, please do read it but I know that it is well worth the effort in buying and reading this book.

Enjoy, I certainly did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 6 Jun 2011
By 
James G. McKelvie "jazzmac" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this book, which made me think about many of the Gospel passages I had heard so many times. It explains the context of many of the incidents with which we are so familiar. I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth reading - with reservations, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well researched, giving you new insight to the well-known story, making things comprehensible which did not make sense before - no doubt about it and highly recommended.

However, there were a few things that bothered me. The author occasionally seems to make unwarranted assertions. I cite only one example, page 81, quote:
During baptism, Jesus experienced God many which he had not previously done before. At his baptism Jesus understood, as he had not done before, who he was and what he was here to do: unquote.
How does he know that? He should not have forgotten that he was not writing a Jesus novel.

In source notes he cites frequently his own previous book The Longest Week as the source. He could have named the real sources instead.

On page 26 the name of Jesus is spelt in Greek alphabet: iota-EPSILON-sigma-omicron-upsilon-sigma. As anybody who once read the NT in Greek knows, correctly it is iota-ETA-etc. For the author who is quoting Greek words (in English alphabet) all the time, it is a curious lapse. It made me wonder if he read all the source books including the Bible itself only in English translations. However, that is a small gripe.

This book is surely a must-read for anyone interested in Christianity, very good in filling in the background that is missing in the Gospels. For Jesus the Christ: what he was/is and what his mission was/is, you had better read Pope Benedict's Jesus of Nazareth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A .thougt provoking read, 19 May 2011
By 
J. Thompson (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for my husband who is deep into it and thinks it has some very valid points leading to Biblical truths - a good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and a great read!, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As ever Nick Page has turned out a very good piece of work. Nick sits in-between popularist authors and academic writers in that his comments are all based on thorough research and he can substantiate his opinions, but his writing style is humorous and so easy to read. Reading a Nick Page book is like getting a back rub after a difficult day - he writes so well, and yet you are not just indulging in drivel! I admire how he turns these volumes out so rapidly and am also challenged by what he writes.

This book is about the ministry and person of Jesus of Nazareth, what he was and wasn't to the crowds that followed him and how particularly he did not meet the popular criteria for 'Jewish Messiah'. The book does of course tell us that Jesus met the Biblical criteria, but those are different!

Nick puts every bible passage in context and explains some of the historic issues that cloud our interpretation of scripture. He also refers to a wide range of academic works for which there is an excellent bibliography in the rear of the book.

This is an excellent volume and I thoroughly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wrong messiah, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Wrong Messiah (Paperback)
This is a thoroughly engaging and well defined piece of work. I thought it was great, i enjoyed every page and would gladly recommend it to anyone. Read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christ brought to life, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Messiah (Kindle Edition)
An truly excellent account of the real Christ set in the authentic surroundings of his time. Recommended for every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and great service, 14 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Messiah (Paperback)
I LOVE this book. The research is great and Nick Page's characteristic humour makes this a great read. The book was posted promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book - Intriguing and Well-Written, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Christina (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wrong Messiah (Kindle Edition)
This was the book that introduced me to Nick Page's works. I bought this in a local bookshop as a paperback and was immediately engrossed by the subject matter.

Nick Page has a style of writing that engages the reader, which is almost chummy, but not quite. It never crosses the line into over-familiarlity. It is like reading the fanzine of a football magazine or a newspaper columnist. It draws in the reader but never irritates.

Nick Page knows his stuff and it becomes obvious that he is very well-researched. It is quite a talent to write in a straighforward simple style, without lapsing into either dense academia on the one hand, or Marjorie Proops-style faux-confidential schmaltz (soz, Marje, RIP, I did like what you did!). Nick's analysis of Jesus, in the context of His contemporaries and historical times, puts a new perspective on the meaning of Christ in our lives today. Whilst Jesus might be seen by some to be very establishment today, with HM Queen Elizabeth as Defender of the Faith and Archbishops Ramsey and Welby the height of respectability, it was not always so. In His day, Jesus was regarded as a pariah who outraged the highest Jewish leaders, a figure of subversive beliefs and claims, certainly not the king of kings Messiah they imagined their scriptures prophesied.

Nick Page takes the reader to First Century Judea, Samaria, Jersusalem and environs, and poses intriguing questions such as, for example, was Jesus a Samaritan? By the end of the book one has a better understanding of the life and times of Jesus and the struggles He faced, with plenty of cross references to the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Oct 2013
By 
AF Perry (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superbly researched and written, probably the best account of the life and times of Jesus Christ that I have come across. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wrong Messiah
The Wrong Messiah by Nick Page
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews