Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars137
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£39.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2008
Due to so many varied reviews on Amazon about the individual DVD's in the series,I will limit my comments just to say that this box set represents superb family entertainment whatever your age and is possibly one of the best value box sets around.
As family viewing goes,it will keep the kids quiet for hours but the individual films are lengthy so spread your viewing over a couple of weekends to prevent over doing it.The movies themselves are great fun and with so many gruesome characters, make sure the more nervous ones in your family who are old enough to watch have someone to snuggle up to,just in case. In fact,in some of the scenes,I could have done with snuggling up to someone myself!
This is great entertainment and if you have not seen the movies at the cinema yourself,you are in for a treat.
Happy viewing!
0Comment28 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
I loved the Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy. It had everything, Horror, Comedy, Action and Romance. And the characters were simply brilliant.
The Curse of the Black Pearl
The film is set in and around the Caribbean were a notorious pirate turns up in a small British Port. Soon after the Black Pearl turns up and steals the Governer's Daughter (Keira Knightley). So Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnney Depp) and Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) chase after them.
Dead Man's Chest
This film sees the entrance of Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) and the Flying Dutchman. So as Jack tries to stay one step ahead of the Kraken and the East India Trading Company searching for the Heart of Davy Jones, we see our characters, cross each other, fight each other and keep Jack from Heading to Davy Jones Locker.
At World's End
Elizabeth and Will ask for the help of Tia Dalme and Captain Barbossa to rescue Jack from Davy Jones Locker. Then being able to unite the Brethren Court and make one last stand against the East India Trading Company and Davy Jones. And Sao Feng (Chow-Yung-Fat) along with the other Pirate Lords must stop there arguing long enough to help.
I didnt go out and see the first one straight away but i see it on the telly and loved it. I wondred what making a Disney Ride into a film would be like but I think it turned out fantastic. 10/10!
0Comment37 of 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Before we begin, this is purely my opinion - if you enjoy these films and are a fan - great stuff, totally understandable, loads of stuff in there to like. Now I'm not a fan of the series, but that doesn't mean I don't enjoy them - quite opposite for most of the films. I just never got into it the hype as much as my friends or other audiences did. These are just my thoughts on the trilogy, and the Blu-ray box-set. Enjoy!

The Pirates of the Caribbean films rank as some of the most popular of the 2000s, touching all generations of movie goers. The original, and still the best, 'The Curse of the Black Pearl' (4* stars), is a romp - pure unadulterated fun, something lacking from a lot of modern day blockbusters. It was an adventure film that got the beats right - great action sequences, fun villains, ground-breaking effects for its day, and a great iconic soundtrack. At the same time it flipped many conventions on its head, such as making the drunken pirate the hero, in a Disney film of all things! This is further built upon by the fact it was the first Disney film to be rated PG13/12a. And audiences loved it. Johnny Depp's Jack Sparrow is one of the most iconic film characters and recent years and easily the most interesting character in the whole film However, this leaves the others as somewhat 2-d creations, and just a bit boring, which does let the film down. However, Geoffrey Rush, as the villain Barbossa, is excellent, making the perfect foil to Jack (why can't they make a film about these two without all the other useless charact...oh wait, yeah). While there are problems with the story it's still a fun movie and holds up, unlike many other blockbusters of the day. While the plot structure appears pretty basic and generic, it's told honestly and done well, with effort and clear passion for the project - this is the difference between a good blockbuster and a fairly standard one. Definitely still worth a watch.

The second film, 'Dead Man's Chest' (3*stars), divided audiences. Big fans of the original instantly loved it, while others were left confused by the dense story structure. Complicated and dark doesn't always equal quality (something the original knew well) After repeated viewings, yeah, the story isn't perfect, but there is a lot of fun to be had. The Kraken and Davey Jones are superbly realised creations, and a lot of the action sequences are great, especially the three-on-three fight scene between Sparrow, Will and Norrington being a highlight, and the exciting escape from the tribal island. However, it is weighted down by its own self-indulgence, and suffers from having no real focus, or plot. Some characters are developed, other aren't, in particular Jack. It feels like the creators didn't know what audiences liked about the original, and deviated somewhat from the mythos and style of the original. Still, it's a good film and ends in a way that leaves you yearning for the final instalment...

...and this is where the creators dropped the ball. 'At World's End' (2* stars) inherits a lot of the issues of the second film and magnifies them to the extreme. Plot strands are thrown everywhere, new subplots emerge, the dialogue is poor, the pace is dreadful, and characters act out of character. This is where the self indulgence collapse completely on the series, especially with the many just plain bizarre sequences and the strange attempts at creating memorable lines for Jack (Peanuts, anyone?). I feel at nearly three hours, the film is just too long, and dreary to be fully enjoyed. While the action of the last half hour is excellent; with the epic ship battle, which begs to be seen on the big screen; it does not redeem 2 hours of poor writing and story telling, with its huge leaps in narrative logic that leaves the audience disillusioned, so when the good bits start, it's hard to get into. Disappointing conclusion for an otherwise sound series of films

The actual Blu-Rays and the presenation of films are uniformly stunning - all are presented in high quality picture and sound. With this set, Disney continues to be pioneers in transferring films to Blu-Ray (for more proof of this, check out the restorations done to the Golden Era Disney films, in particular 'Pinocchio'). The extras are ok, and don't really add anything to the films. This set is worth buying for the first film, maybe the second, and the actual quality of the transfers, and at a decent price as well. If your a fan of the series, and you are reading this now, then chances are you already own, and are very satisfied. Everyone else, it's a good set of films that the whole family can enjoy and worth the money.

Ratings:
The Curse of the Black Pearl - 4 Stars
Dead Man's Chest - 3 Stars
At World's End - 2 Stars
Extras - 3 Stars
Transfer (Picture and Sound) - 5 Stars
Overall - 3 Stars (for the actual films)
4 Stars (for the set as a whole)
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
What more can I add when talking about the Pirates movies? They're just damn good fun and if you can buy this demonstration quality boxset for an acceptable price, you should.

Some technical things: the transfer is (obviously) sharper than the DVD, but I must say there is definitely less contrast to be seen. This leads to some unrealistic shadows, especially when combined with special effects. You can see that the digital effect shadows are different than the real ones. But this is a minor complaint.

But it's not a real boxset. Here's why. Somehow it's disappointing that the Blu-rays containing first two movies have a totally different menu layout (and better) compared to the third. Considering the possibilities of Blu-ray, this is just a big miss. It seems that the third movie (At World's End) was the first to appear on Blu-ray, after which the other two older ones(Curse of the Black Pearl & Dead Man's Chest) followed. Somewhere on the way someone decided the menus could be better, so changed it for the new discs that contained the first two movies, but didn't revise this on the Blu-ray 'At World's End'. It really feels as if the three Blu-ray discs that were produced by then were wrapped together in a happy pirate carton.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2009
The series needs little introduction....

I used to own 'The Curse Of The Black Pearl' on DVD and eventually decided to buy the Bluray box set. The picture quality is clear, sharp and detailed, a huge improvement over the DVD, as is the sound. The audio is either English 5.1 uncompressed PCM or a lossy DD 5.1. I have tried both and prefer the PCM since it is a bit richer.
0Comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
This set's outer box clearly states "Filmmaker commentary" against films 1 and 3, and "Audio commentary with screenwriters" for film 2. In addition, the individual disc cases state "Plus original DVD bonus features". Curse of the Black Pearl on DVD featured three commentaries and Dead Man's Chest had the one.

None of these are included with this set, which makes the packaging blatantly misleading. I'm deducting another star for the inconsistent cover styles: films 1 and 2 include that annoying 'flash' that features on all of Disney's initial Blu-ray releases, and which (IMO) detracts from the original poster art.

Having said all that, the picture quality is magnificent and the sound (in Dolby Digital and PCM 5.1 in English) provides a suitably booming accompaniment.

Nice films, shame about the missing extras. Let's hope for a definitive re-issue when On Stranger Tides is released in 2011.
22 comments14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 February 2009
"THE CURSE OF THE BLACK PEARL", and "DEAD MAN'S CHEST" have subtitles are in English, and in English for the Hard of Hearing, plus Italian and German.

"AT WORLD'S END" has subtitles are in English, and in English for the Hard of Hearing, plus French, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic and Dutch.
22 comments26 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
I'd really enjoyed the first Pirates film (although Orlando Bloom's acting is pretty wooden throughout), so was interested to see the two sequels.

I found both 2 and 3 enjoyable, although the third film does seem to have too many storylines going on at the same time, and becomes a bit overwhelming (especially with the length of the film).

One thing I will say is that the amount of time it takes to actually get to the films on these disks, through all the Disney advertising and menus, is a bit extreme. I find myself just sitting there having to skip chapter after chapter after chapter when all I want to do is watch the film (and I'll have to do this every time in the future).

I know Blu-Ray is a pretty new format, but it seems like some production companies are just getting too carried away with marketing.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2010
I won't get pulled into the debate on how good these films are its all down to personal taste and im sure most folks have read reviews even if they haven't seen the films.

Blu Ray Quality is stunning all the way through this trilogy the action sequences appear more realistic no matter how bizzare or strange the sequence is. Blu Ray seems to have a great ability to smooth out the CGI scenes in these films and makes them feel so real. The amount of extras on the discs runs into many hours worth of material.

Love the films, the price is good and the blu rays are amazing,
11 comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
All three of the pirates of the Caribbean movies in this boxset are deservant of five stars, because each on is brillinat. The first introduces us to Jack Sparrow, expertely portrayed by Johnny Depp, Elizabeth Swan played by the beautiful Keira Knightley and Will Turner who Orlando Bloom plays. These movies step aside from the usual ho-hum pirate movie in the sense that they are funny, witty, gripping and dark. They get bigger and more epic as they go and by the third one the action has increased tenfold, the special effects, particularly Davy Jones and his crew are flawless. The battles at sea and on land are extrememly well done and much of the time you will find yourself at the edge of your seat.
The writers should also be praised for delivering brilliant stories for each of the films, yes the third is a bit complex but not overly so and by no means does it mar the film overall.
Filled with stunning landscapes, witty dialogue, gripping plotlines, great characters and the occasional sea monster, the pirates of the Caribbean movies are one of hollywoods greatest achievments. Anybody who does not enjoy these movies can not call themself a human being.
This boxset is great for those who are only interested in watching the films but if you want hours of bonus features than i suggest getting the DVD's seperately in the 2 disc special editions that are relatively cheap anyway. This is also cheaply packaged in a simple, thin cardboard sleeve and the individual editions have sturdy, embossed slip covers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse