Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment for all the family....great value too!
Due to so many varied reviews on Amazon about the individual DVD's in the series,I will limit my comments just to say that this box set represents superb family entertainment whatever your age and is possibly one of the best value box sets around.
As family viewing goes,it will keep the kids quiet for hours but the individual films are lengthy so spread your viewing...
Published on 11 Oct 2008 by Captain Kirk

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading packaging: no commentaries
This set's outer box clearly states "Filmmaker commentary" against films 1 and 3, and "Audio commentary with screenwriters" for film 2. In addition, the individual disc cases state "Plus original DVD bonus features". Curse of the Black Pearl on DVD featured three commentaries and Dead Man's Chest had the one.

None of these are included with this set, which...
Published on 8 May 2010 by Chris White


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment for all the family....great value too!, 11 Oct 2008
By 
Captain Kirk (Here in the U K) - See all my reviews
Due to so many varied reviews on Amazon about the individual DVD's in the series,I will limit my comments just to say that this box set represents superb family entertainment whatever your age and is possibly one of the best value box sets around.
As family viewing goes,it will keep the kids quiet for hours but the individual films are lengthy so spread your viewing over a couple of weekends to prevent over doing it.The movies themselves are great fun and with so many gruesome characters, make sure the more nervous ones in your family who are old enough to watch have someone to snuggle up to,just in case. In fact,in some of the scenes,I could have done with snuggling up to someone myself!
This is great entertainment and if you have not seen the movies at the cinema yourself,you are in for a treat.
Happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourtie trilogy of all times!, 11 Aug 2008
I loved the Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy. It had everything, Horror, Comedy, Action and Romance. And the characters were simply brilliant.
The Curse of the Black Pearl
The film is set in and around the Caribbean were a notorious pirate turns up in a small British Port. Soon after the Black Pearl turns up and steals the Governer's Daughter (Keira Knightley). So Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnney Depp) and Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) chase after them.
Dead Man's Chest
This film sees the entrance of Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) and the Flying Dutchman. So as Jack tries to stay one step ahead of the Kraken and the East India Trading Company searching for the Heart of Davy Jones, we see our characters, cross each other, fight each other and keep Jack from Heading to Davy Jones Locker.
At World's End
Elizabeth and Will ask for the help of Tia Dalme and Captain Barbossa to rescue Jack from Davy Jones Locker. Then being able to unite the Brethren Court and make one last stand against the East India Trading Company and Davy Jones. And Sao Feng (Chow-Yung-Fat) along with the other Pirate Lords must stop there arguing long enough to help.
I didnt go out and see the first one straight away but i see it on the telly and loved it. I wondred what making a Disney Ride into a film would be like but I think it turned out fantastic. 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 Jan 2009
The series needs little introduction....

I used to own 'The Curse Of The Black Pearl' on DVD and eventually decided to buy the Bluray box set. The picture quality is clear, sharp and detailed, a huge improvement over the DVD, as is the sound. The audio is either English 5.1 uncompressed PCM or a lossy DD 5.1. I have tried both and prefer the PCM since it is a bit richer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need sub-titles?, 6 Feb 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"THE CURSE OF THE BLACK PEARL", and "DEAD MAN'S CHEST" have subtitles are in English, and in English for the Hard of Hearing, plus Italian and German.

"AT WORLD'S END" has subtitles are in English, and in English for the Hard of Hearing, plus French, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic and Dutch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good set of films, was surprised by the 3rd one, 12 Jan 2010
By 
B. Jenkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd really enjoyed the first Pirates film (although Orlando Bloom's acting is pretty wooden throughout), so was interested to see the two sequels.

I found both 2 and 3 enjoyable, although the third film does seem to have too many storylines going on at the same time, and becomes a bit overwhelming (especially with the length of the film).

One thing I will say is that the amount of time it takes to actually get to the films on these disks, through all the Disney advertising and menus, is a bit extreme. I find myself just sitting there having to skip chapter after chapter after chapter when all I want to do is watch the film (and I'll have to do this every time in the future).

I know Blu-Ray is a pretty new format, but it seems like some production companies are just getting too carried away with marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading packaging: no commentaries, 8 May 2010
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This set's outer box clearly states "Filmmaker commentary" against films 1 and 3, and "Audio commentary with screenwriters" for film 2. In addition, the individual disc cases state "Plus original DVD bonus features". Curse of the Black Pearl on DVD featured three commentaries and Dead Man's Chest had the one.

None of these are included with this set, which makes the packaging blatantly misleading. I'm deducting another star for the inconsistent cover styles: films 1 and 2 include that annoying 'flash' that features on all of Disney's initial Blu-ray releases, and which (IMO) detracts from the original poster art.

Having said all that, the picture quality is magnificent and the sound (in Dolby Digital and PCM 5.1 in English) provides a suitably booming accompaniment.

Nice films, shame about the missing extras. Let's hope for a definitive re-issue when On Stranger Tides is released in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly less contrast compared to DVD version, but great quality overall, 29 July 2010
What more can I add when talking about the Pirates movies? They're just damn good fun and if you can buy this demonstration quality boxset for an acceptable price, you should.

Some technical things: the transfer is (obviously) sharper than the DVD, but I must say there is definitely less contrast to be seen. This leads to some unrealistic shadows, especially when combined with special effects. You can see that the digital effect shadows are different than the real ones. But this is a minor complaint.

But it's not a real boxset. Here's why. Somehow it's disappointing that the Blu-rays containing first two movies have a totally different menu layout (and better) compared to the third. Considering the possibilities of Blu-ray, this is just a big miss. It seems that the third movie (At World's End) was the first to appear on Blu-ray, after which the other two older ones(Curse of the Black Pearl & Dead Man's Chest) followed. Somewhere on the way someone decided the menus could be better, so changed it for the new discs that contained the first two movies, but didn't revise this on the Blu-ray 'At World's End'. It really feels as if the three Blu-ray discs that were produced by then were wrapped together in a happy pirate carton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Liked The Movies You Will Love The Blu Ray, 28 Feb 2010
By 
TMUK (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I won't get pulled into the debate on how good these films are its all down to personal taste and im sure most folks have read reviews even if they haven't seen the films.

Blu Ray Quality is stunning all the way through this trilogy the action sequences appear more realistic no matter how bizzare or strange the sequence is. Blu Ray seems to have a great ability to smooth out the CGI scenes in these films and makes them feel so real. The amount of extras on the discs runs into many hours worth of material.

Love the films, the price is good and the blu rays are amazing,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Sparrow - Must have movies, 21 July 2009
By 
Linda Odenthal-Hesse "LindaOH" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Pirates of the Carribean - Trilogy is a must-have. Hilarious and witty, and with an all-star cast (Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, Keara Knightley, Geoffrey Rush and Jack Davenport). If you like a good laught, and to never know what is going to happen next, this movie is for you. Who is telling the truth? Who is working for whom? and who is getting crossed? And along with it comes a love story, a story of how to know what you want most in live and how to know who you love most. I hope you enjoy this movie just as we do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have dvd boxset to buy, for most of you film buffs., 28 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
These are some of Jonny Depp's best films in one great boxset. The ladies enjoy these films as much if not more then men,( maybe a little somthing to do with Depp ). Jack Sparrow is the best movie hero since Indiana Jones. My personal favourite out of the three films is Dead Man's Chest. There is something in all the films for the whole family to enjoy action,comedy,love,adventure and drama. The special features disc is very good and interesting. I strongly recommend these films to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy [DVD]
Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy [DVD] by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2011)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews