Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job nicely
The '3-in-1' part of the product's name refers to the fact there are three different ways to assemble it. With a small and large basket, its modular nature means that you can sterilise just a few items such as soothers or teats using only the small basket; use the larger basket on its own to sterilise medium sized items such as breast pumps, plates or cutlery; or combine...
Published on 31 May 2011 by R. W. Mackenzie

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, get the microwave one instead!
I got this for our daughter and within one month it needed descaling as it started to leave filth all over the bottles. And unless you empty it straight after it'd finished sterilising, it leaks all over the place!! Save a few quid and get the microwave one, it's much better!
Published 7 months ago by NaomiMila


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job nicely, 31 May 2011
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The '3-in-1' part of the product's name refers to the fact there are three different ways to assemble it. With a small and large basket, its modular nature means that you can sterilise just a few items such as soothers or teats using only the small basket; use the larger basket on its own to sterilise medium sized items such as breast pumps, plates or cutlery; or combine the two to sterilise up to 6 x 330ml bottles.

It is a natural steam steriliser, so there's no need to purchase additional consumables such as chemicals. It operates in cycles of twenty minutes - 10 minutes to heat up and sterilise the contents of the baskets, and 10 minutes cool down. It's not possible to restart the system until it has completed it's ten minute cool down. It turns itself off automatically at the end of the heating cycle.

It is a lightweight plastic design, but with a sturdy feeling base. Although there seemed to be a bit of play between the interlocking baskets, there wasn't any steam leakage between the sections. The base has rubberised feet to prevent it sliding around. It is very easy to use, comes well packaged and ready to go, and also has a 2 year manufacturer's guarantee.

On a negative note, the sides of it did seem hot to the touch (hotter than you'd expect a plastic kettle to be when boiling), so care should be taken around it. In a similar vein, the steam vent on the top isn't particularly well marked. The switch is of a type that means you cannot tell whether the device is switched on or off until you actually plug it in, so again, take note - if you plug it in and the switch has been left in the 'on' position, the hot plate is going to start heating up whether there's water in it or not.

The instructions are easier to follow once you realise the illustrations are all located on the inside leaves of the manual, so fold them out first and you can reference them as you read. There is a visual quick start guide on the lid of the box, but it doesn't mention that the manufacturer recommends completing the initial sterilisation with the baskets empty. The instruction manual is very thorough and includes a useful section on de-scaling, and a handy FAQ - my only gripe with it is that it's one of those manuals that's used for multiple models, so you have to keep working out whether sections of it are relevant to your model or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, get the microwave one instead!, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
I got this for our daughter and within one month it needed descaling as it started to leave filth all over the bottles. And unless you empty it straight after it'd finished sterilising, it leaks all over the place!! Save a few quid and get the microwave one, it's much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stops working after 2 months, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
I would not recommend this product. After only 2 months of use, the steriliser has stopped working and will simply not turn on. Prior to this, when it was working, it sterilised the bottles quickly though the plates burned resulting in everything smelling slightly burnt. A poor product from a brand I thought I could trust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great buy, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
After using the steriliser it left a brown stain/burn on the base. I sent it back and got a replacement but the same happened. I clean it after each use with a sponge, use citric acid weekly to clean it and ensure the water is at the correct level but the stain always comes back. It leaves a slight smell on the bottles too. I would NOT recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
Not as good as I expected!! Spills water sometimes and have to clean a lot due to hardness of water!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unreliable, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
I bought this as a gift for my sister. We're already on the second one & the baby is only 8 weeks old! With the first one there was a faint burning smell occasionally when it was being used, as though there was no water in it, then it just stopped working the second one seems to be doing the same. Id never recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 7 months use by twins, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
Had plenty of time to use this item our twins are now 7 months so it's had more than enough use probably on 5/6 times a day and still working, it was packaged well and is sturdy and looks nice but from 1st use with the correct amount of water it burnt the tray at the bottom ? So I decided to go a little over the max line the 2nd time ? Still all the water boiled and its steaming and smoking at the bottom why ? I don't know but it sterilized everything and I have gone back to just filling it to the max line and a few months later it stopped smoking and smelling of burnt water and just worked .. hurray !

It works fine I don't know why it kept using all the water before it was finished sterilizing but it was piping hot, also it use to take 4 minutes to sterilize were as it now takes 10, not good and water has always leaked across the side to much to be remnants of steam.

Overall I like the product and it works well, my partner has gone over the manual a few times and his adamant we are putting in the appropriate amount of water but we don't know why or if others have this leak or burning problem so it gets 4/5 for this minor problem as it hasn't affected its main purpose or ability to function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
Nice design but from the first use it burnt dry on the right side, this happened every time, even when filling with the correct amount of water before every use. This resulted in a burning smell when using, the bottles smelling burnt when taken out and a slight brown tinge to them. Very disappointed with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started to get a rust like deposit in weeks, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
It started to get a rust like deposit in weeks. I've tried cleaning it with the steriliser cleaning tablets but no use. A lot of hassle. I also have the microwave steriliser which is at grandma's house. That is so much better. The only reason I can't use that is because it's too large for our microwave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Element Burns, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser (Baby Product)
I bought this steriliser as a back up to my old one (which lasted through 2 babies, and on my third pregnancy with triplets thought I would be pushing it). While the design is convenient and adaptable, within a couple of uses I had noticed that the heating element has burned. I always ensured there was the correct amount of water, and that the sterilisor was flat on the counter (the cord is very akward, so you do need to be careful), but somehow the element has got burn marks and continues to get worse. Not sure how long it will actually last, and unfortunately it's not as robust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philips AVENT 3-In-1 Steriliser
£26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews