Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time warping
Science fiction is a well worn genre and with all the technology available to the general public these days, its hard to be excited by another not too distant future thriller. Where Source Code succeeds is in its simplicity. The concept is delivered quickly and firmly. The dead have an 8 minute window of memory which can be utilised by sending someone back through that...
Published on 6 Sept. 2011 by T. Cosens

versus
43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, with a star deducted for the presence of adverts on the disc
Source Code is an excellent film; inventive, well paced, and well acted. It is obviously fairly low budget (as betrayed by some slightly ropey CGI in places), but despite this it is more entertaining than many Hollywood blockbusters that must have cost millions more. Ordinarily, it would be a four star film for me, but I am reviewing not just the film here, but the...
Published on 25 Feb. 2012 by heavy_t


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time warping, 6 Sept. 2011
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
Science fiction is a well worn genre and with all the technology available to the general public these days, its hard to be excited by another not too distant future thriller. Where Source Code succeeds is in its simplicity. The concept is delivered quickly and firmly. The dead have an 8 minute window of memory which can be utilised by sending someone back through that parallel time (The Source Code) to see the sequence of events in the final moments of that persons life. The story involves going back over the same eight minutes on a train moments before a bomb explodes. What could have been a tedious and repetative experience was actually skillfully crafted. Once the bare bones of the situation has been established each segment starts with a quick flash of the same beats before the main character (Colter) jumps into action. The film works by not spoon feeding you details. It quickly moves from one beat to the next. Characters come and go and are mostly inconsequental, but all are relevant to building the mystery surrounding the explosion. Colter must use each segment to investigate a different passenger. Whilst the story rattles ahead we still get small moments of back story and revelations which brings the two protagonists to life. Their fate is already determined and held in the spirals of time, but there is still a nagging feeling that everything really will be okay. On this evidence Duncan Jones is fast becoming a director to watch. His previous effort was the smaller scale, but no less high concept, Moon. He has now proven that he has the action chops to enter the hollywood fray. This film proves that not all blockbusters need to be long and brainless. Whilst this wont really be taxing the grey matter too much, at a slim 90 minutes, you really wont care. An enjoyable, refreshing and fast paced thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day meets Quantum Leap!, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
Colter Stevens (Jake Gyllenhaal -Donnie Darko) wakes up on a commuter train in Chicago, opposite Christina Warren (Michelle Monaghan -Eagle Eye) who turns out to be a close friend of his, yet, he cannot remember how he got there or who anybody is. Things begin to escalate when Christina starts calling him by another name, Sean Fentress. In a state of panic & confusion, he goes into the toilet to gather himself, but as he looks up into the mirror, the face staring back is not his own(Quantum Leap style) However, before he can come to terms with what is going on, a few minutes later the entire train is blown to pieces! he then wakes up inside a dark black pod, being talked to by a Captain Colleen Goodwin (Vera Farmiga -The Departed) and trying to get him to remember who he REALLY is, a helicopter pilot & Captain in the US Army , whose last memory was flying in Afghanistan.

They then explain that he is to go back again & again (Groundhog Day like), and this time, look for a bomb on the train & the person who is responsible. Why ? because that person is set to blow up a 2nd larger and more deadly device, a dirty bomb, inside Chicago which will be even more devistating. Being a Solider, Stevens is determined to save lives as it's in his nature, but wanting to know more, he learns from the scientist in charge, Dr. Rutledge (Jeffrey Wright -Casino Royale]), who is forced to tell him that he is part of a project "Source Code" , which uses a time re-assingment machine that can let him go into a parallel reality, and be put into another person's consciousness during the last 8 minutes of their life. Trying to come to terms with it all, he has to go back & find out who this person is within an 8 minute window, but real time is short in order to stop another death toll! but as we learn, it is not as straight forward as he thinks. Trivia: Colter's Father is voiced by Scott Bakula, Sam from the Quantum Leap T.V series.

In conclusion , Source Code is a really interesting film first & foremost, a bit like the Denzel Washington movie Deja Vu. Jake Gyllenhaal leads the film very well, and the support cast chip in well enough to make things tick along nicely. It certainly keeps you pinned to your seat to find out whats going to happen next, and it did fly through its 90 minute run time quite quickly (a sign that it is a good action thriller IMO) but the story is relatively simple to understand as it rumbles on & the love story really tugs at the heart strings. If you like Sci Fi style action thrillers, then you will like this film a lot IMO. Contains mild language, violence & some scenes some may find disturbing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent sci-fi, 23 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that requires a brain to fully enjoy.
Although I like the transporter movies and other brainless action films, every now and then a very good "brain" film comes along to do the impossible-i.e. wake up the brain cells;be entertaining; generate suspense.Some films try to do this and end up pretentious twaddle.But this one is successful.A heavily decorated former Army helicopter pilot who remembers flying his comrades into battle in the Afghan War,"wakes up" with a lurch on a commuter train in the USA.He is seated opposite a "girl next door" type of young woman who is talking to him as though she knows him.But he doesn't know who she is;where he is; and what the hell is going on.
He sees his reflection in the train's window briefly and gets a shock, causing him to go to the toilet to verify what he thinks he saw.Peeking into the mirror in the toilet he sees another man i.e. someone who does not look at all like he thinks he does.In his pockets he finds the man's picture and i.d. and these confirm that the individual on the i.d. is not him.What is going on?
Gradually, as the girl chitchats wondering if he is feeling ok,he looks at his new environment which is soon rocked by a gigantic explosion killing the passengers on the train.
But he "wakes up" in an altogether different place talking to a military officer who questions him about the bomb on the train.As things are slowly revealed, he is told that he is being "sent" onto the train to find out and neutralise the bomber who is threatening an even bigger explosion with a nuclear device in a major city.The train bomb is just the distraction for the more important device.His mission is to find the bomber and prevent the second device from ever being used even it means sacrificing the train.But, he only has an 8 minute window to achieve this before the train bomb blows.Every time he tries he finds out something more until inevitably the bomb goes off.

But they are able to send him back for a few tries.Of course he is also trying to find out why him?The story is very good and challenging.Some clues are dropped in here and there,and there are twists and shocks about who he is and how he got to be doing this which he eventually discovers.
This is not like other films, and it merits close attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, with a star deducted for the presence of adverts on the disc, 25 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Source Code - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Source Code is an excellent film; inventive, well paced, and well acted. It is obviously fairly low budget (as betrayed by some slightly ropey CGI in places), but despite this it is more entertaining than many Hollywood blockbusters that must have cost millions more. Ordinarily, it would be a four star film for me, but I am reviewing not just the film here, but the Blu-Ray disc release, and I have a major gripe with this release that leads me to dock a star...

Optimum releases used to include trailers for their other releases in the extras menu. I have no problem with this, as it gives the user the choice as to whether they want to watch these trailers or not. Recently though, I have noted a trend towards movie trailers being included which play before the main menu, with skip/forward options being disabled. This is annoying but I guess I can just about tolerate it. What I cannot tolerate however, is the presence of product advertising (in this case chocolate and chewing gum) at the start of the disc, again with the skip options being disabled. I paid a lot of money for this disc, and I really really object that Optimum thinks it is acceptable to make me pay to watch product adverts. It is shameless corporate greed, and I will boycott their products in future if they do not change their ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated movie, 22 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
Jake Gylenhall stars as an Afghanistan vet who finds himself working for a shadowy government organisation; he initially seems to be suffering from drug-induced hallucinations, however the truth soon becomes apparent, and it's much more terrifying than anything the former helicopter pilot could ever have imagined...
Gylenhall is a steady presence who lacks the charisma of some of his more illustrious Hollywood contemporaries but who makes a passable action hero, while the stunning Michelle Monaghan provides strong support, and Jeffrey 'Felix Leiter' Wright is also good as the programming genius behind the mysterious Source Code.
The film itself has some excellent effects, a twisty-turny storyline that will keep you on your toes, and a mood that feels tense and threatening throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars .'GROUNDHOG DAY', 30 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Source Code - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Not an entirly new concept,never-the-less an enjoyable watch.
The film tells of a secret goverment program called ''Source Code'' that uses 'killed' in Afghanistan 'Colter Stevens'( Jake Gyllenhall) to exsist in '8' minute bursts.
His mission is to find the identity of a bomber who is travelling on the doomed commuter train, though seeminly unable to alter the fate of the train and it's passengers, the bomber has also made a threat to detinate a ''dirty bomb' in 'chicago'
The Captain is sent back to the train several times, each of which he will uncover a little more information.
During these brief encounter's 'Colter' falls for one of the passenger's and wants to save her from the enevitable disaster, will he be able to find the 'Bomber' to save the people of 'Chicago' and alter the fate of the train and it's passengers ?
Good Movie....well worth adding to your collection, or at least watching..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Flux Capacitor in sight, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
C. Smith "dundeelaw" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
I not sure what I was expecting from this film, but I was pleasantly surprised. What the filmmakers have achieved here is condensing a promising sci-fi premise - reminiscent of the work of Philip K. Dick - into a ninety minute film (where other writers/directors could have easily stretched the film out to almost twice that length), without it detracting from the overall impact of the film.

Jake Gyllenhaal plays the part of Colter Stevens, a former U.S. Army helicopter pilot who seemingly wakes up in the body of an unknown commuter on a Chigago bound train, doomed to explode exactly eight minutes from the point Stevens comes to on the train. What Stevens subsequently discovers is that he is part of a covert government operation to discover the identity of the train bomber in order to save Chicago from a further imminent attack by the anonymous terror suspect.

So far, so simple. However, in order for Stevens to identify the bomber, he is transported into the 'Source Code', which is a mechanism whereby Steven has a period of eight minutes on the train in the body of a passenger on that train (being the last eight minutes of that person's consciousness before the train exploded) to gather as much information on the bomb and the bomber as he can, before the train blows up and he has to go through the whole process again. Cue the extremely dubious scientific explanation for the existence of Source Code, followed by the on-screen clarification to our hero (and to the viewers) that Source Code is not time travel. What Stevens is experiencing is no more than a re-enactment of the events leading up to the explosion on that train. In other words, despite the fact that on one occasion in Source Code Stevens diffuses the bomb, the explosion on the train has not been prevented and the people on that train still died, since it has already happened in an alternate reality to that reproduced by Source Code and cannot be changed.

The plot then takes on a poignant sideline in that each time Stevens goes in and out of the Source Code, he discovers more and more about the circumstances that led him to the Source Code experiment and the film goes off on a tangent, which is so much more refreshing than simply finding yourself watching yet another linear "hero finds bomb and saves the day" kind of story.

Without giving away any spoilers, the film ends on a pleasing note and that is even before the unexpected twist. Without twist, I would say this film is good. With twist? Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of action movie, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Amanda Cowan (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great sci-fi action thriller which keeps the viewer on the edge of their seat. Quite different to what I expected, and to most other action movies, with a few twists.
A good cast and likeable characters. Definately worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good really, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
P. W. Moore (Sutherland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
An avid Sci-fi fan I rather enjoyed this fast paced and good looking romp, an intelligent script well handled. Must go back and re-read Philip K Dick's Ubik after watching this, which I enjoyed many years gao and has been mentioned in other reviews. Also enjoyed the aspect ratio the film was shot in as it fills the screen perfectly and not the 2.35-1 letterbox format. Good job Duncan Jones, keep the intelligent SF coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected!, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't have much in the way of expectations with this movie as I hadn't heard much about it. On watching it, I found it intriguing as a concept and cleverly executed. quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Source Code - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD)
Source Code - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) by Duncan Jones (Blu-ray - 2011)
£10.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews