Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars206
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This, ladies & gentlemen, is one of Nicolas Cage's finest films - it has everything for the dry laconicist: wit, dark humour, & collection of killer (literally) punch-lines. Admittedly, I've always been a huge fan, so in keeping with such, this review is somewhat partisan.
This is a vigilante movie - plenty of bad-mouthed dialogue, which isn't so much offensive - rather more delicious in its employment. Cage's co-star in this epic 'Hell on wheels' extravaganza, is the delightful Amber Heard ('Piper'), & the third & equally down-played, William Fichtner (who plays, 'The Accountant').
This is high-octane stuff, not overly sentimental (which unfortunately insinuates itself into so many action films), & most significantly, finely acted by the three principal actors, mentioned.
I am not going to spoil the plot for you - not even so much as a synopsis. This is a compelling watch, & one hopes will be recommendation enough for you to purchase. It is not expensive for a Blu-ray, & with this particular version, comes in both 2D & 3D format - I have a 3D media set-up, & it definitely gives the film an edge.
For the film buffs (of which I count myself in that small enclave), there is adequate 'behind the scenes' footage - which is both humbling & honest.
At the time of purchase (last month) I paid just under £7.00 for this superb film - snap one up whilst you have the chance - you will not be found wonting !!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 September 2013
Nicolas Cage does it from time to time. OK! He does it quite often, he makes movies where he is having so much fun you kinda wish you could just run alongside him and have the same experience. Drive Angry infuriated as many people as it entertained, and in terms of those being entertained we are talking about your straight out action film fan who isn't interested in character depth, allegories or political/religious agendas. If you can take it like Nic obviously did, and indulge in some cartoon/exploitation carnage without hope of thematic thrust, to embrace the absurdity of it all, then Drive Angry comes delivered on a petrol lighted silver platter.

Director Patrick Lussier and the cast, including a clearly "too good for this crap" William Fitchner, are unapologetic about what they are making. We are after all talking about a film where the plot line reads as Nic Cage playing a vengeful father who escapes from hell and chases after the Satanists who killed his daughter and simultaneously kidnapped his granddaughter. Cue much gratuitous nudity, over-the-top action, some sex, extreme gore, car racing erections and violence that Tarantino probably wet dreams about. It's all a bit too intentionally trashy at times, and it loses impetus later in the day, but as mucky and lobotomised as it is, it's the fun kind of trash. 6.5/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
Fuelled from the start with attitude, adrenaline and swearing this action movie delivers energy, thrills and stuff to look at, but it is shallow. The beautiful Amber Heard stars alongside the ageing Nicolas Cage, and this is the film's best element. William Fictchner (Prison Break) also stars, alongside other foolish comic like characters and muscle cars.

The pursuit for ballsy all out action is at the forefront throughout and is drone worthy if you are not in the brainless mood. Drive Angry is silly but entertaining, almost amusing in it's content box-ticking (sex, cars and guns). The film for me reinforces my loathing for Cage - a terrible hard man and easy to criticise again in this black coffee drinking aloof role.

If you want all out action, with a pretty girl, a car, Cage and comic styled action then this will be a hit with you. If you think a slo-mo sex and fight scene with comical kills sounds amusing, then this is one drive you should take.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
THE MOVIE

One of my absolute favorite movies. I've seen it about 100 times already and it never gets boring.
The mix of revenge story and occult thriller works out fine in my opinion.
Both lead actors Nicolas Cage and Amber Heard in one of the best performances of their careers, although William Fichtner steals the scene every time he makes an appearance. His character is just hilarious. Tom Atkins makes an appearance as the police Captain.
Directed by Patrick Lussier, who brought us MY BLOODY VALENTINE 3D, this is one of the most well-paced action movies I have ever seen with genuinely likeable characters.
There's some ultra violent scenes, but the violence is stylized and comical and the CGI blood doesn't look that real. Lot's of humor and good one-liners and some really interesting ideas. Loved it!

RATING: 10 / 10

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2011 Lionsgate Double Play Edition UK Blu-ray in 2D
Feature running time: 104 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
Audio: English DTS 5.1
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired
Chapters: 12
Extras: 2D and 3D version, Audio Commentary, 2 Featurettes, Deleted Scenes
Region: B (locked)

Picture quality: A (state of the art picture quality)
Audio quality: A
Extras: C (average extras, but the commentary's nice)
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Again i must admit i've followed 'Nicolas Cage's movies since his early classic's such as 'The Rock' 'Con-Air' and one of my all time favourites 'Face/off'
'Drive Angry' see's 'Nicolas Cage' at his very best with this 'tongue-in-cheek' roller-coaster-ride.
'Milton'(Nicholas Cage) has escaped from 'Hell' to save his grandchild from the evil-cult that had killed his daughter and who intend offering the child as a sacrifice.
'Milton' is joined on his quest by 'Piper' (Amber Heard) a young-lady who is certainly not afraid to ''mix-it''
Throughout they are being tracked by cult members intent on stopping them, as the body-count mounts the police are also on their trail as is ''The Devil's'' accountant (William Fichtner)
The 'accountant' contents himself with the body count but still wants to re-capture 'Milton'
This is a fast moving deliciously wicked action thriller with many brilliant on-the-road stunts to enjoy....along with some great c.g.i .....not to be missed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
great 3d effects.

bullets & Guns coming out of the screen...

overall I enjoyed the film for what it was.

adult entertainment....

thanks for reading.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Cage plays a grandfather who must rescue the child from Bella out of twilights dad, while avoiding William fichtner. He gets Mandy lane to help him (all the boys love her), and sets out to rescue her. The only problem is Satan wasn't happy about him leaving hell without permission and taking the god killer.......

Well this has to be one of the most absurd things i've seen at the cinema, and this is the film that death proof and machete should have been.

Cage relishes these parts, and he is as crazy as he normally is, the cage you loved in Face/off, Kick-ass, and Leaving las Vegas, not the autopilot one.

He drinks beer from skull, gets shot in the eye, and has a gunfight whilst having sex, classic Cage moments. A lot of people will baulk at the idea of this movie, and to be fair, it's a mess, but a damn fine mess, where everyone is having fun and delivering classic lines tongue in cheek.

As good as Cage is though, he is burned off the screen by Fichtner and Burke, who have all the best lines and the best scenes. Fichtner campily dancing to K.C. and the sunshine band whilst driving is easily the best thing in the film, and Burke plays one hell of a villain.

Surprisingly, it's not as violent as you have heard, but there is plenty of other stuff.

The 3D is jaw dropping (in one scene quite literally), and is easily the best since Avatar. it's purely for spectacle and the makers throw everything at you, from coins to body parts. If this film wasn't made in 3D, honestly it would just be an average film.

The 3D enhances the narration and story in some way, which other films haven't needed up to now.

It will split audiences 50/50, it's that type of movie, you will either love it or hate it, but no one can deny that this will be a cult hit in about ten years.

Even though Cage looks like Noel Edmonds in this, he has found a new forte. Trashy movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
I bought this as I was looking for some decent 3D blu rays to show on my new 3D tv. Other reviews said the 3D effects were good so I went for it and as Nicolas Cage is usually in some decent films I thought it was worth the risk, despite the naff title.

Well,the 3D was very good with lots of "pop out" action. However, the storyline itself was very confused and almost back to front with you having to wait til the end of the film to make much sense of it. It was also a case of the viewer having to suspend belief on a massive scale! For example, there is a lot of violence with much being made of the thudding impact of the punch ups to the actors faces - including male on female violence. Then when you see the effects - they dont have a scratch on them! It is quite laughable in places and I had to stop myself from laughing out loud - well, thinking about it I did actually laugh out loud! Also, there is a scene where shots are being fired at close range with a huge shotgun - and they all miss!

The storyline attempts some pathos but I found it very false and contrived so it didnt have any impact on me. I actually found myself feeling sorry for Nicolas Cage having to act out such a ridiculous plot! I got the feeling that he must have needed the cash when he made this one.

Wont be watching it again. If you want a really good 3D Blu ray to show off the 3D effects of your TV get Ocean World. Other than that, leave this one alone.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Take a look at the poster for this film - it depicts Nicolas Cage driving a car (looking worried) and Amber Heard revealing flesh. To be fair... the film-makers can't be accused of misleading anyone. This is the epitome of good, dumb, fun.

Cage plays someone who has escaped from hell (yes, seriously) and is on the road to tracking down his infant granddaughter who is being held hostage by some devil worshipers. Throw in Amber Heard as some excellent eye candy and William Fichtner as some darkly comic relief and you have a comic book style action romp.

You don't really need much of a brain to enjoy this, simply be in the mood for some mindless action (and be able to ignore the frequent - and not particularly good - use of CGI blue screens). I will go out on a limb - please don't hate me, ladies - and say that this is probably more of a film for the lads.

Grab the beers, put the brain on hold and sit back to cheer for the goodies as they blast and drive their way through hordes of expendable devil nutters.

A true grindhouse-like guilty pleasure of a film. It's no classic, but you weren't really expecting it to be, were you?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
This is one of the best movies out there at the moment for its 3D effects.
Lots of good visual effects.
Its all go from the start with Cage escaping from Hell to take revenge on his daughters killer and save his grandchild from a cult.
He teams up with a hottie on this fast action adventure while being chased by the Accountant from Hell and the police.
This is 1 to watch in 3D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)