Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2009
Blood Over Water is as much about the struggle between heroism and humanity as about the race between Oxford and Cambridge. It's a terrifying read in places. It's not just the overwhelming intensity of the training regimes inflicted on Boat Race athletes. Nor was it, for me, the actual pain of racing and losing, although that's described in searing detail too.

Instead, the most disturbing and darkly fascinating aspect was the insight into the brothers' psychological journey. We get a privileged glimpse into James and David Livingston's absolute focus, their obsession and hunger for a single victory. It's heroic and admirable. But how can you be a hero and retain your humanity? When the system teaches you to hate your opponents, what happens when your enemy turns out to be your own brother?

The Livingston brothers take us on a thrilling journey through these dark places and ultimately show us that the ultimate victory is one of friendship, whoever has the medal. It's a real page-turner of a story that should be read by far more than just the rowing fraternity. It's about hope, fear, pain, love and all the rest that make us human.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 4 August 2009
I live in the Western U.S., and I could not find this book at any bookstore (Powells, Barnes and Noble), nor any library. I even checked the NYC Public Library and the Library of Congress online, but my searches found nothing.

I was referred to by a friend who had studied at Durham University, and who had used the UK service before. The delivery and service were terrific.

The book should be of some great interest to rowers and those who follow rowing or train as a rower might on the ergo and weight circuits. Those who have not rowed in the UK, like myself, likely cannot comprehend the "boat race" mental construct, which motivates, guides, and perpetuates training for one race held only one time per year. The only event I can compare it to in the States is the Army-Navy football game, where winning that match-up determines success or failure for the season.

However, this book, a journal kept by 2 bright and lively lads who competed against each other in the boat race as brothers, brings home precisely the stakes involved in winning the Oxford-Cambridge race: nothing short of success in this race will mean success for the year for the coaches, the old boys, and the crew members.

Shortly after I purchased and began reading this book. I discovered a video on U Tube of a researcher in business psychology, who worked out (some) and spent time with one of these crews in order to understand the psyhchology underlying the crew. This researcher gave lectures to business executives demonstrating how those qualities necessary to successfully constitute the crew might be applied to successful strategies by the business teams.

As this book makes potently clear, the fastest or even the strongest rowers do not always complement the others in the 8-oar skull, and so the successful 8 plus cox requires something more.

I found the book terrific, although that may have resulted from an interest in the subject matter and sports psychology.

By the way, does one know that the blue blazer given each memeber of the
Cambridge 'Blue" crew has no identifying crest patched on, unlke the other sports clubs.

Don't you want to know why? This is just one detail found in this book that gives the story cred. The writing is plain, detailed, and straighforward (no Walter Scott here), but the details are fascinating.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2009
One of the best sports books that I've read. The two seperate accounts make the story all the more interesting, and because both have sacrificed so much in the pursuit of glory, you end up not really minding who wins. A dead heat would've been the perfect result...

A cracking read, that is very hard to put down.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 8 September 2009
This is a great sports story - given it was the closest Boat Race ever and had brothers competing against each other for the first time in 100 years - but the real story here is that of the all-consuming lifestyle that is training for The Boat Race. Readers will get a close-up look at the student-athlete experience at Oxford & Cambridge, with a healthy emphasis on the 'athlete' portion, and will better understand the obsessive nature of all elite athletes.

David and James did a superb job of conveying the mounting pressure on the rowers at Oxford and Cambridge, with everything riding on the result of a single race at the end of seven months of training. Readers gain insight on the ups and downs that are part of the selection process for the 8 seats in each crew. It took me a little time to get used to the back and forth format between the brothers' points of view, but once I got used to the rhythm, I really enjoyed it, and I think any fan of The Boat Race would enjoy it too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 April 2009
I think I've read most of what's been written in the rarefied field of rowing biographies and it's strange that the two best of the genre should have come from the same stable, Hampton School. Martin Cross the Hampton school master whose "Olympic Obsession" did more than any sporting biography I've read to explain the altered mental state of a winner at the top level and now this cleverly planned and beautifully written account of a relationship played out around the events of a singular English sporting tradition. These are two extraordinary and gifted young men at two great institutions who choose to imprison themselves in the completely blinkered uncompromising world of top level university rowing and for 285 pages you inhabit the same prison. If the sheer torture of the physical regime is not enough to exhaust you, the emotional trip certainly will. What becomes apparent is that if the result had been different they would both have been the worse for it and probably if the margin of victory had been greater some of the same might have applied. But they both gained something from the result and the events of the day, created a foundation from which to develop the rest of their lives and their own relationship. Finally and like all the best stories, the ending had me once again reaching the hankies. Excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 8 June 2010
This book is awesome and truly inspiring to any reader. This is a vivid and very well written account of the incredible efforts that David and James went through, not just as bothers competing against each other but also the sacrifice to themselves, friends, families and careers to be part of this amazing race.

After reading this book, next time you go down the gym I will guarantee you will take a long look at those rowing machines and a smile will come to your face as you recall the events of one of the best books you are likely to ever read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 May 2009
'Blood over Water' is an engrossing true story of longstanding sibling rivalry pushed to extremes by two brothers rowing against one another in the Oxford Cambridge boat race. The emotional, physical and academic strain of competing against peers, rivals and family is told by both brothers in alternating narratives, allowing a unique insight into the mindsets and emotions of both sides. Despite having seen the 2003 race that the story focuses on, I tore through the final chapters as if somehow the outcome might change, as I rooted for both brothers in a bittersweet race where only one could win.

I'm not a rower but found the descriptions of training, diet and drinking rituals really interesting, and at times very funny. I had a tear in my eye at the end as both reflected on their lives since the race and how their relationship has developed and changed after such an intense rivalry.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
James and David Livingstone rowed on opposite sides in what is commonly regarded as the best ever Boat Race in 2003, and this is their account of events leading up to it.

On writing a joint work like this the problem of format immediately presents itself; the Livingstones have opted for a quasi-diary entry style, albeit written in the present tense. Along with the supposed to-the-minute precision of the timings of the entries (8.23pm etc.), they are opening themselves up to the reader wondering just how much "embellishment" has been applied in the retelling. The sibling rivalry aspect feels a little forced and artificially bigged up to fit the angle of the story - there is a real group animosity developing between the two camps anyway - and besides, it's not the most interesting part of the narrative.

Having said all this, the brothers relate a compelling tale and write well (despite the use of annoying cliché at times), with wit, intimacy and soul-baring honesty. They give us a window into the mindset, the thoughts, the doubts, the rapture and the agony, and the sacrifice (though within limits - forget the picture we are often given of fully dedicated athletes; being in such a demanding training schedule still doesn't preclude them for partaking in plenty of drunken jolly japes just like every other students it seems).

For the "outsider" this is a valuable insight into the world of the Oxbridge Blue and is certainly recommended; for those of us who have been heavily involved in rowing and have read many other rowing stories before (The Amateurs,The Red Rose Crew,Olympic Obsession,A Golden Age,Four Men in a Boat,A Lifetime in a Race et. al.), however good this work is, it can admittedly feel a little like "more of the same".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 June 2011
A moving and inspirational account of what it takes to succeed in one of the most mentally and phsically demanding sports there is. From club rower to wannabe nat champ to the heady world of the boat race and world champs you cannot fail to be inspired to try harder, to push the pain barrier, to sharpen those catches.
This book leads the reader through the life challenges any sportsman or woman has to overcome to succeed.
A fantastic story, a fantastic acheivement by everyone in both crews.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
Having had the privelege of knowing one of the authors and living with some of the protagonists in the book, I thought I knew a fair amount the training and the pressure that the Oxford boys went through in the run up to the 2003 Boat Race... Boy was I wrong. I had no idea. After devouring this book, I have been given what felt like a personal insight and I definitely have a bit more of an idea, not only of the physical challenge, but the emotional rollercoaster that is the Boat Race. There were bits where I laughed out loud, bits which brought a wry smile to my face, other bits sent shivers down my spine, and perhaps most poignantly, there were parts that brought tears to my eyes as I experienced the intense rivalry but ultimately the strength of the relationship between two brothers. I loved it, and I think the beauty of it is that you don't need to have gone to Oxford or Cambridge to appreciate the story - anyone who likes sport or the idea of pushing yourself to your physical and emotional limits, or simply has a sibling - should buy it and read it immediately... You definitely won't be disappointed!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Boys In The Boat
The Boys In The Boat by Daniel James Brown

A Lifetime In A Race
A Lifetime In A Race by Matthew Pinsent

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.