Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£32.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2012
The dvd arrived quickly and was all fine, no damage or scratches however the promo card that was supposed to come with the dvd was nowhere to be found :( very disappointing as I was looking forward to drawing it :(

Overall I'm pleased with the dvd just not happy about the missing card.

If you decide to purchase this be aware you may not get all you think you are going to get.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
This is a solid movie that unites the three main protagonists of the Yugioh universe: Yugi from the original series, Jaden/Judai from GX, and Yusei from 5Ds.

The storyline isn't anything spectacular as it's clearly little more than an excuse to tie the three protagonists together. However, seeing all of the main characters duel alongside each other more than makes up for it. The sound and music are both of a decent quality - and the voicework uses the exact same actors/actresses in both versions.

Clarifications/Confirmations about the Japanese and English versions:

- The Japanese version on this DVD is COMPLETELY UNCHANGED from the source material - bar the addition of subtitles (some of which use the english card names - yet interestingly still call Jaden by his original Japanese name: Judai). This means that the music, sound effects and voices are the same - with absolutely no editing.

- The English version on this DVD features new music, sound effects and voices - with a couple of edits here and there from what I could tell. These edits do not detract from the story in any way as they are only used to aid the voicework).

Overall:

I believe that the film is decent and that my only complaint is that it feels too short. That said, for £5.99 - you really can't go too wrong.

Additional tid-bits:

- I'm not entirely sure about the English version - but fans of the Japanese YuGiOh's may notice the soundtrack appropriately using tracks from each of the TV series.

- The card that comes with the DVD is exactly as advertised in the product image: Malefic Red Eyes Black Dragon (Sin Red Eyes Black Dragon in the Japanese).

- This movie's storyline actually feeds into the final story-arc of YuGiOh 5Ds (the main antagonist - Paradox, as well as his "mission" are referenced there), making it somewhat canon.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
Technical Information
* Disc Format: Blu-ray
* Num of Discs: 1
* Audio: Japanese (LPCM 2.0) / English (LPCM 5.1)
* Subtitles: English
* Regions: B

Extras:
* Bonds Beyond Time 10 Extra Mins of Recap (the past of the duelists dubbed in English)
* Original Japanese version of the film with subtitles
* Trailer of the film

Although I'm not an YGO fan, I really enjoyed this film, since it was a 10th Anniversary Edition and covered from back then till now, Yugi rocks!

The picture quality is great, it's not HD Native, but rather an upscale, definitely a great one to check out and, this is in 2D/3D so if you've got a 3DTV you can make use of it.

This Blu-ray came with a YGO card as stated, it's cool but that's about it, I'll never use it.

The original Japanese can be found at the Extras section, it's 49 mins long, contains the original Japanese text, the subtitles are in white colour and hardsubbed.

Some of you may ask, does this come with a slipcover? Nope, it didn't but due to the fact that it contains the original Japanese audio with English subtitles, makes totally up for it, imho.

Get yourself a copy of this film on Blu-ray or DVD and enjoy it. =)

Manga UK, keep 'em coming (but please don't hardsub subtitles)!

By the way, if you don't know what's Yu-Gi-Oh about then to simply describe it, it's an anime about battling cards.

And, about the Region Coding, this is a tricky one, it doesn't say on the box but I'm supposing it's Region B-only because Manga UK locks their Blu-rays often.

Update: I've added photos of the Blu-ray to Amazon.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
This DVD Arrived With Lightning Quick Speed. And After Waiting Almost A Month For Another Product From Somewhere Else This Pleased Me Quite A Lot. Since I Already Have The Original Japanese Version Of The Film I Know How Brilliant It Is And Just Wanted To have the English Version As Well. The Only Drawback I Have Found With This Purchase Is The Non-Inclusion Of The Malefic Red Eyes Black Dragon Card As i Thought I Would Be Receiving One. But Maybe I Was Mistaken On That. Would it Be Possible To Get A Little Clarity On This Situation?
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
Basically the story is a guy from the future who wants to destroy Duel Monsters as it apparently caused the destruction of the future, he does this by going back in time and at the same time taking monsters such as Stardust Dragon, Blue Eyes White Dragon etc from their rightful owners, encountering Jaden/Yugi/Yusei at different points in time, and all 3 of the main characters from the series joining forces to stop him.

Taking place in Yugis timeline, the trio of Yugi/Jaden/Yusei duel Paradox. With flashy 3D effects for some stuff, but rather basic looking animation for others, this feels more like a double episode of the tv series than anything else.

Worthwhile to watch, the dub is okay, nothing too violent for kids or anything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Got my my disc this morning watched it in 3D but a mistake had been made when putting Information regarding the language saying it was Japanese well in my ps3 the movie played with an english sound track whilst the movie may have been made in japan so an update is needed on its product page if kids enjoyed the tv series Yu-Gi-Oh!, Yu-Gi-Oh! GX currently screening on Kix! and Yu-Gi-Oh! the 5D's then they'll love this movie. mine came with a bonus yu-gi-oh! playing card Malefic Red eyes Black Dragon great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
A cute film for Yu-Gi-Oh fans. Made me want to watch the Yugi series all over again. It's only an hour long but they've kept it light and it has all the classic monsters from each of the 3 main characters. The story line is nothing special, more of an excuse to bring Yugi, Jaden and Yusei from each generation together (no-ones better than Yugi) but it's a nice way to celebrate the 10th anniversary. Whether you're a duelist or just a duelling fan then I recommend this film. It's your move. . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
New and great addition to the yugioh movies. The first one, made for the japanese season 0, not dubbed in english, for the violence, scary immagery and sexual reference, though the movie only have a little bit of violence, the 2003 movie, with new cards and villains and now this new additions, whch combines the original three series protaganists, and puts them against the all-powerful new villain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
I ordered this movie from the United States, and I'm happy to say that not only do I love it, but it also came a week earlier than expected. According to the confirmation e-mail I recieved, it was supposed to arrive around 27 September. It came on 20 September. That gave a rather nice surprise! :)

I give this 5/5 stars for both movie quality and the fact that it came much earlier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I liked this because I have siblings who, along with myself, enjoy the Yu-Gi-Oh! series alot and couldn't think of many things that are wrong with it. This excepts, of course, the shortness which i already mentioned.

I'd recommend this to anyone who's interested in anime (basically Japanese cartoons) as it is well put together.or has children interested in it :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse