Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars270
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2003
i think her first LP ''no angel'' was better than life for rent.
lif efor rent has a few good songs but not everything it good !!
the most songs are stupid and boring !!
i don't like this LP !! i'm sorry !!
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
This is a lovely piece of art. Though not french it made me shiver when i listened to its opening ballads. This is music to listen to when taking over ancient worlds. This album made me comb my quiff vigorously.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2003
I bought this album because "No Angel" spent roughly 6 months in my CD player, so I'll admit I did expect a lot out of this one. As soon as it came through the door it was on, and initially it does sound a lot like her first one. However, on closer inspection you will discover that the words don't mean quite as much this time round, and there's a lot less emotion in her voice. There's also the fact that every single song is about her (not one doesn't mention the word "I") and she seems to want to make the whole world feel sorry for her. Fans of "No Angel": don't buy it if you don't want to ruin your conception of Dido. She's obviously an excellent artist, but this album doesn't even come close to the caliber of her debut.
0Comment2 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2004
You just cannot go wrong with this CD. I liked it even better than Dido's previous NO ANGEL.
However, THe copy-proteccion is a pain.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Not as good as their other cd lacks alot of catchy songs a bit limp really stil a great singer still wounder if shell do anymore songs
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
Ok leaving aside all the moaners about the CD protection on this album lets talk about the music. Got my copy today and have listened to it twice. Similar to the first album yes, but it is still very very good and enjoyable. All artists have a genre and Dido has hers in pretty much the same way the Beatles and Elvis had thiers. In addition the album reflects a currentness and isnt trying to be something it is. She may not be hip or trend but she is certainly very good. Personally would rather listen to this then the beyonce album (3 good songs rest rubbish) or the Drakness (Think Slade and 70's Glam rock just a cheaper imiatation!)
Every collection should have this CD for those Sunday afternoons or when you just want to feel mellow. Cant wait till the next one!
0Comment1 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2003
this album i think is reaally good and i think people should stop dissing it when its got copyright protection when they havn't even heard the songs!! if u want the cd then surely you can get over the fact that its not playable on computers. i have windows xp and although i cannot copy onto my computer i can still play it, and i haven't downloaded any musical equipment, wires etc etc to help it, it just plays on a player.
the music on this album is amazing and the tunes are really good, this matches up to no angel quality wise really well. the tunes again are quite laid back, though we do hear some emotions that we didnt hear about previously.
keep up the good work dido, its amazing!! hehe!
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0Comment1 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
Life for Rent is no classic, but after the depressing ubiquity of the very average No Angel, it's a relief to find something worth salvaging from the follow-up. Dido might have been able to silence her doubters if she had produced a consistently strong record, but as with her debut, the gulf between the quality tracks and the listless filler is wide indeed. The obvious singles really ARE good: White Flag, Life for Rent, Don't Leave Home and This Land is Mine are at the top of their game. Spread evenly across the album (tracks 1,3,6,10) they almost compensate for the 'chick-lit set to music' elsewhere, insubstantial fluff that drifts over the ears. Are those four songs enough to make it worth buying? That's your call.
0Comment1 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2003
Love the album, although 'No Angel' was better, and am very happy to be listening to it on my Ipod with no problems.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2003
Another excellent album from Dido. If you enjoyed "No Angel", you will enjoy this one as well.
I don't understand why people are giving bad reviews, just because of the copy protection. Review the music not the technology ! I was able to listen to the CD on my laptop PC. It initially loaded it's own media player, but I was able to close this and use Windows Media Player instead, using all of the usual functions of Windows Media Player on XP.
Hope this helps.
0Comment1 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Search online & contact properties for special rental offers today!