Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album
What a great album. Not just the best of, but some great new tracks.
The addition of the DVD is a bonus.
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by jtayuk

versus
2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring Rehash
The Album does not really take off
Starting with the track "Your Love is King" & "Smooth operator" makes the album seem dated.
and its hard to get into the mood to continue listening.

Some nice tracks though such as "Nothing can come between us" but often one may switch album off rather than wait for songs to come along.

Felt they could...
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by P. Hanbury


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
What a great album. Not just the best of, but some great new tracks.
The addition of the DVD is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something old, something new, 9 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
My then girlfriend had the first Sade album back in the 1980s and it was the soundtrack of our courtship. We got married and recently celebrated our Silver anniversary. What surprised me was how well the vintage songs have stood the test of time. Hearing them again reminds you of how good they were. I also really enjoyed the second CD and the newer stuff I hadn't heard before. "Immigrant" especially stood out. And the DVD was a real bonus. You've got to hand it to the girl, she's a real charmer. Would love to see Sade live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generous 3-Disc Package!, 12 May 2011
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
It seems that Sade is undergoing something of a resurgence after the Soldier of Love album and now is the perfect time to re-discover their sophisticated mix of funky bass lines and sensuous vocals.

There are so many great tunes and the older ones come out well on the 2 CDs with the productions sounding as good here, as they did when they wowed us in the 80s and they sit well next to the most recent material, with its ultra Hi Fi sound.

We also get a few new or re-mixed tracks and the version of Phil Lynott's "Still in Love with You" is certainly worth having. I also liked "By Your Side" - which was new to me.

We also have the bonus of a DVD with 16 music videos covering the whole of the band's career and I was impressed with the re-mastered sound, but this is the only part of the package where you are aware that some of this has slightly dated and the first few tracks look really "80s" in style.

But it hardly seems fair to complain given that this package is no more expensive than most single CDs and it's always nice to see Sade as a mermaid! Being serious though, this will stand or fall on the music and this is a great retrospective of their whole career and the sound is impeccable throughout - tracks like "Is it a Crime", have really stood the test of time.

If you have heard some of these tracks and want to know more - this is a great way to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent compilation, 20 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I liked the selection of classic songs and the incorporation of their new songs. Excellent packaging and presentation of very good quality in all subjects. I recommend this CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A career retrospective to have and treasure!, 19 May 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
At last! Sade's albums are rare these days. It was a decade between "Lovers Rock" and last year's beautiful "Soldier of Love".
This is a double CD set spanning the band's 27 year history and featuring singles from their debut "Diamond Life" through "Soldier Of Love".
Four new tracks on this second "Sade best-of" is positively spoiling her fans.
Her band's three decades of (increasingly sporadic) singles are all given a fresh remastering for the occasion, signifying that this is a band that remains comfortable with changing their sound to suit the times.
In 1984/1985 Sade was a veritable workhorse - a run of hits from the jazzy "Your Love is King", "Hang On To Your Love" and "Smooth Operator" to the lush "Never As Good as the First Time" and the sultry "The Sweetest Taboo", arguably her finest moment in a career of very fine moments.
She'd mine a similar baby-making vein with 1992's "No Ordinary Love", the song that sealed her US success and it's here in all its near-eight-minute nocturnal glory. There's also the out-of-character musical aggression of "Soldier of Love" to shake things up.
For some Sade's followers, the one rarity (a restrained Neptunes mix of "By Your Side") and four new songs will be enough to justify re-acquiring the old material.
As mentioned before, there are four new recordings, including the lilting guitar-driven, anguished ballad "Still In Love With You", a Thin Lizzy cover: their version is unexpectedly enchanting, even without Gary Moore's guitar work (interestingly, this is the third cover the band have ever recorded, the others being "Why Can't We Live Together" off their debut, and "Please Send Me Someone To Love" for the movie "Philadelphia" and featured on the 1994 "The Best of Sade").
Another newbie, "Love Is Found", breaks a sweat (not always common for Sade) with a Massive Attack-style dark dance feel, while the piano ballad "I Would Never Have Guessed" perfectly showcases that voice that has sold 50 million records.
Like any 'ultimate' album, the set has something extra: in this case a bland remix of "The Moon and The Sky", which pushes out the acoustic guitar in favour of a first and hopefully last appearance from rapper Jay-Z. and the Neptunes Remix of "By Your Side", featuring more guitars pushed to the fore and a different groovy bassline.
While a bit of an anti-climax, a few drab remixes don't diminish the heat the rest of the collection brings.
All in all, a career retrospective to have and treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relax, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
A great compilation from one of the greats. A cd full of classics and new songs to enjoy and relax with the smooth voice of Sade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the ultimate, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
words can't express how i am blown away by this ladies voice.she deserves so much more recogintion when she was making her waves throught the mysticall history of time........not only do you receive a lot of songs ,she was known for.theirs quite a few that you will slowly grow to adore,in addition to that,you receive a separate dvd, with quite a few music videos.although somewhat cringy,are offered to you as a bonous.so you gaze at this ladies beauty whilst she sings her songs.....you won't regreat it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Is Found, 9 July 2013
By 
Lenka Jackuliakova (Povazska Bystrica (TN- Slovacchia)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I chose this collection because there's my favorite song- Love is Found. I love it.
Very good collection. Only one video is missing- Smooth operator...why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sade: The Ultimate collection, 27 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This wonderful music collection ( Sade: The ultimate Collection)contains two CD's and one DVD. Perfect sound and video quality, even the packaging itself is quit nice in fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The title says all, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Grzegorz Drabik "Butcher" (Opole, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Like the title says - ultimate collection of Sade hits, in this 3-disc version including also videos, up to the last one. Remastering them to better quality, with 5.1 sound, would be a great idea - pity no one cared. As another best of compilation - for fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Sade (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews