Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time warping
Science fiction is a well worn genre and with all the technology available to the general public these days, its hard to be excited by another not too distant future thriller. Where Source Code succeeds is in its simplicity. The concept is delivered quickly and firmly. The dead have an 8 minute window of memory which can be utilised by sending someone back through that...
Published on 6 Sept. 2011 by T. Cosens

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, with a star deducted for the presence of adverts on the disc
Source Code is an excellent film; inventive, well paced, and well acted. It is obviously fairly low budget (as betrayed by some slightly ropey CGI in places), but despite this it is more entertaining than many Hollywood blockbusters that must have cost millions more. Ordinarily, it would be a four star film for me, but I am reviewing not just the film here, but the...
Published on 25 Feb. 2012 by heavy_t


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good really, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
P. W. Moore (Sutherland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
An avid Sci-fi fan I rather enjoyed this fast paced and good looking romp, an intelligent script well handled. Must go back and re-read Philip K Dick's Ubik after watching this, which I enjoyed many years gao and has been mentioned in other reviews. Also enjoyed the aspect ratio the film was shot in as it fills the screen perfectly and not the 2.35-1 letterbox format. Good job Duncan Jones, keep the intelligent SF coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A time travelling or time exchange cracker, 3 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
Groundhog Day, The Thirteenth Floor and Johnny Got His Gun thrown in for good measure.

There’s at least one more film I could’ve mentioned above if I only could’ve remembered it, but if the three I‘ve mentioned don’t tempt you, we’re on different wavelengths, and you may stop reading now.

As ever, I won’t “do” the story, I could spoil it, but this is an entertaining cracker. As ever, Jake Gyllenhaal is excellent, his character developing in much the way Bill Murray’s does in Groundhog Day. For some reason, the scientist reminded me of that excellent psychotic boss in “Cube Zero”. Really good performances from the two leading ladies, and what more can I say ? It doesn’t follow all expected turns, and is overall very satisfying, and could happily have been a bit longer. I’d have liked JG’s character’s condition withheld from him until a bit later, but it seemed to be necessary. The character’s development and understanding is really well handled, and I really enjoyed this one.

Well worth a watch and re-watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff.., 26 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. T. P. King (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
Liked it overall. Moves well, a few nice twists and turns. If you like time travel/ parallel universe stuff, you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Flux Capacitor in sight, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
C. Smith "dundeelaw" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
I not sure what I was expecting from this film, but I was pleasantly surprised. What the filmmakers have achieved here is condensing a promising sci-fi premise - reminiscent of the work of Philip K. Dick - into a ninety minute film (where other writers/directors could have easily stretched the film out to almost twice that length), without it detracting from the overall impact of the film.

Jake Gyllenhaal plays the part of Colter Stevens, a former U.S. Army helicopter pilot who seemingly wakes up in the body of an unknown commuter on a Chigago bound train, doomed to explode exactly eight minutes from the point Stevens comes to on the train. What Stevens subsequently discovers is that he is part of a covert government operation to discover the identity of the train bomber in order to save Chicago from a further imminent attack by the anonymous terror suspect.

So far, so simple. However, in order for Stevens to identify the bomber, he is transported into the 'Source Code', which is a mechanism whereby Steven has a period of eight minutes on the train in the body of a passenger on that train (being the last eight minutes of that person's consciousness before the train exploded) to gather as much information on the bomb and the bomber as he can, before the train blows up and he has to go through the whole process again. Cue the extremely dubious scientific explanation for the existence of Source Code, followed by the on-screen clarification to our hero (and to the viewers) that Source Code is not time travel. What Stevens is experiencing is no more than a re-enactment of the events leading up to the explosion on that train. In other words, despite the fact that on one occasion in Source Code Stevens diffuses the bomb, the explosion on the train has not been prevented and the people on that train still died, since it has already happened in an alternate reality to that reproduced by Source Code and cannot be changed.

The plot then takes on a poignant sideline in that each time Stevens goes in and out of the Source Code, he discovers more and more about the circumstances that led him to the Source Code experiment and the film goes off on a tangent, which is so much more refreshing than simply finding yourself watching yet another linear "hero finds bomb and saves the day" kind of story.

Without giving away any spoilers, the film ends on a pleasing note and that is even before the unexpected twist. Without twist, I would say this film is good. With twist? Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't watch any trailers or read any reviews! (except this one!), 8 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film in the cinema, in a large part because all I knew of it was the poster. The other day I saw the trailer played out in a Blockbuster - this is a great shame because knowing the basic premise of this film turns it from a very engaging mystery that you unravel together with the main character for the first half an hour or so, and into 'just a film' where you impartially observe the goings-on because you know what's going to happen. This totally, totally kills it. If you can approach it without much prior knowledge, you will be kept in suspense and have a great time watching it. Sure, the "science" behind it kind of goes completely bananas at the end, but even that is enjoyable as it finishes the film off on the sort of a twist that will make your brains boil out of your ears! I also really enjoyed the performances by all the main actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A very interesting film. Did not have a clue what was really going on to begin with and, even as it progressed, still not sure what was happening until near the end. The ending was a shock, did not see that coming, and it was nicely wrapped up. Acting was very good and I like storylines with an unusual twist so this ticked all the boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyable, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film.

For me, there simply isn't enough science fiction from the film industry that isn't just downright silly but this managed to stay away from that and present viewers with another scenario of 'could this be todays science fiction that becomes tomorrow's science fact'? Probably!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really worth a watch, 4 May 2014
This review is from: Source Code (Blu-ray)
This film had my attention from the outset and I literally couldn't take my eyes off it all the way through..... Really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, well shot, varied performances, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Source Code [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The premise of re-enacting eight minutes of the same period of time to solve a mystery, is a great one. The movie builds up slowly, maybe a bit to slowly for things to get really exciting. Photography was great.

The acting performances of Jake Gyllenhaal and Vera Farmiga are great. Jeffrey Wright, who plays Dr. Rutlegde, however, detracts from the atmosphere. The movie is OK, but it will not rank among my favorites.

What pissed me off about this release, was the presence of advertisements in amongst the movie trailers, before the main menu. These ads could not be skipped.

I paid for this movie, there should be NO ADS whatsoever.

This movie gets three stars from me. I did not subtract for the ads - if I did, it would get zero....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parallel Universes !!, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Source Code [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent Sci-Fi drama about a US Army helicopter pilot Jake Gyllenhaal who wakes up to find himself in someone elses body travelling on a train destined to blow up in 8 minutes. All he has to do is find the bomb and the bomber to stop future attacks. Sounds a bit strange but the science seems to fall into place and opens up the possibility of infinite parallel universes where all scenarios are played out - a must watch for those with open minds and it has a brilliant and believable conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Source Code  [DVD]
Source Code [DVD] by Duncan Jones (DVD - 2011)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews