Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars352
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£2.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 7 September 2014
A very interesting film. Did not have a clue what was really going on to begin with and, even as it progressed, still not sure what was happening until near the end. The ending was a shock, did not see that coming, and it was nicely wrapped up. Acting was very good and I like storylines with an unusual twist so this ticked all the boxes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 February 2014
The premise of re-enacting eight minutes of the same period of time to solve a mystery, is a great one. The movie builds up slowly, maybe a bit to slowly for things to get really exciting. Photography was great.

The acting performances of Jake Gyllenhaal and Vera Farmiga are great. Jeffrey Wright, who plays Dr. Rutlegde, however, detracts from the atmosphere. The movie is OK, but it will not rank among my favorites.

What pissed me off about this release, was the presence of advertisements in amongst the movie trailers, before the main menu. These ads could not be skipped.

I paid for this movie, there should be NO ADS whatsoever.

This movie gets three stars from me. I did not subtract for the ads - if I did, it would get zero....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 18 September 2014
I really enjoyed this film.

For me, there simply isn't enough science fiction from the film industry that isn't just downright silly but this managed to stay away from that and present viewers with another scenario of 'could this be todays science fiction that becomes tomorrow's science fact'? Probably!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 August 2012
I thought Source Code was going to be a SF version of Groundhog Day without the humour - it ended up being better than that. It uses the tried & tested format of being set on a train to good effect during the business-end of the plot in that the train is the constant that the plot revolves around.

This film reminded me of Ghost - not because the plot was in anyway similar but because I knew how it was going to end but didn't feel in anyway robbed by that knowledge so just enjoyed exactly how it got there instead so no revelatory plot twist. The plot itself is fairly easy to follow so the degree of concentration needed to watch a film such as Inception is not required. Source Code does have some SFX but isn't too reliant on them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 August 2011
Source Code is directed by Duncan Jones and written by Ben Ripley. It stars Jake Gyllenhaal, Michelle Monaghan, Vera Farmiga and Jeffrey Wright. Music is by Chris P. Bacon and cinematography by Don Burgess.

U.S. Military helicopter pilot Colter Stevens (Gyllenhaal) repeatedly relives the eight minutes leading up to a terrorist train bombing in the hope of finding the bomber......

With his excellent first film, Moon, Duncan Jones got himself noticed to the point that many sci-fi fans have been eagerly awaiting his next foray into the sci-fi realm. So some pressure, then, on Source Code to make good on that early promise. Leaving space, Jones is this time on Earth tackling a sub-genre that has had many an instalment over the years, the time travel thinker. How wonderful to report that Jones and his sparkling team have crafted one of the better efforts to tackle the subject.

Off the bat it has to be said that it's easy to draw comparisons to a number of movies that Source Code leans on. Be it the continuous comedy time loop of Groundhog Day, the techno mind meld of Déjà Vu, and thematic snatches from the likes of The Matrix and Frequency, Jones' film is not about to herald a new dawn of sci-fi. Yet all these things have amazingly come together to create one large intellectually satisfying whole. Sprinkle on some action adrenalin rushes, ease in some suspense, some heart tugging and a romantic thread that actually belongs! Well you have got yourself a very tasty piece of pie.

That Jones is able to blend all this without halting the flow of his picture marks him out as one who is ready for the big league. We are after all dealing with a film that for 90% of its run time is replaying an 8 minute train ride. But each 8 minutes brings more to the plot, tension mounts, clues are dangled, characters come alive, yet we know that this train still goes kaboom, the hopeless feel that accompanies the destiny of Colter and the train passengers adds another critical element to why Source Code is top stuff, namely is it possible for Colter to go against the laws of quantum physics? He believes so, he desperately wants to save everyone on that train, but logic and his superiors tells him, and us, otherwise.

None of this would work if the casting wasn't so astute. Having to carry the film firmly on his shoulders, Gyllenhaal is fantastic, showing vast range with every 8 minute section of that train ride. From the confusion that brings out neurosis in the early parts, to the manic and steely determination to succeed in the latter stages, he nails it as a flawed, scared, soldier of hope. Monaghan's natural attractiveness and earthy appeal really serves her character well, making it easy for us to not only want her to not get blown to bits, again and again, but also to believe that Colter wants to succeed so desperately so as to save her. Farmiga is in a small role (arguably just a plot set up), and mostly in close ups via a screen, but she makes good as the icy stickler for orders who begins to melt with Colter's desperate situation.

The liability is Wright, who seems to be pitching his role as the Source Code creator between evil genius and pompous prat! I've no idea what accent he is trying to do and he blatantly tries to steal the film in every scene he is in. You have to think that had someone like Ridley Scott or James Cameron been directing, such thick ham slicing would have been reined in. Jones will learn one would think. Chris Bacon's (conductor-I Am Legend) score is suitably Hitchcockian, Don Burgess' (Contact/Spider-Man/The Book of Eli) photography is genre compliant and it's nice to see some Illinois land marks feature. All that and there's even a very notable (homage) voice cameo in there as well.

Even paying off on further viewings, Source Code is a must see for the genre fan. A thriller with heart, a sci-fi with brains, and an action film as well. 9/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
Was looking forward to Duncan 'Moon' Jones newest outing and a different spin on the age-old time-travel premise. Suffice to say I was disappointed at this and I guessed the ending and final scenario pretty-much from the start. Gyllenhall is a likeable enough hero and the basic idea of 'using' near-dead servicemen's minds for the good of the nation is an interesting one, especially when considering that they have no choice in the matter... staying 'alive' for a few minutes in the past to complete a mission/divert a known timeline in the national interest (in someone else's shoes)... then be perpetually sent back to progress that mission or complete further missions under a veil of secrecy and questionable morality.

In a nutshell, if you've seen Tony Scott's 'Deja Vu' and Harold Ramis' 'Groundhog Day', then you need only combine the two to get an idea of what this movie is all about. There are also a couple of major plot holes which go unexplained. This must've been a relatively low-budget affair as the feature lasts less than 90 minutes and the dodgy CGI harks back to the mid-90s. Most of the money must've gone on young JG's salary, one assumes. Most disappointing is that only a full-screen aspect ratio was available on my copy, making it look like a TV movie. This is the only DVD movie in my collection with this dated ratio.

Overall, it's not quite the turkey that some reviewer's have made out, but caution is advised, and don't expect much in the way of tension or outright originality.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Moon [DVD] [2009] director Duncan Jones brings another bit of science fiction to our screen, in a movie that asks:

what would you do if you had eight minutes left to live?

Army Captain Coulter Stevens suddenly finds himself in the body of a stranger. Talking to a lady. On a train heading into chicago. His efforts to find what's happening are cut short when the train is completely destroyed in an explosion.

And then he finds himself inside a metal tank, with a lady airforce captain on a screen giving him orders.

Then he's back on the train. Going through it all again.

It quickly becomes revealed to him that he's taking part in an experiment using something called source code. Which - via a bit of quantum physics and some other pretty plausible science - allows him to view past time via the body of another person. The train was destroyed in a terrorist attack and the attacker is threatening to let of an even bigger device in Chicago. Stevens has to find the bomber in time to same millions of lives.

Only trouble is: he has nothing to go on. He starts to like christina, the woman he always appears opposite. And there's clearly things that he's not being told....

It's easy to make comparisons to groundhog day, but this is a very different kind of movie because there's a few twists and turns to be had. Some of which I did see coming and some I certainly didn't.

Grounded by a solid performance from Jake Gyllenhall in the lead, but the two leading ladies are the real standouts acting wise. Michelle Monaghan makes Christina an ordinary but nice individual and the kind of person it would be easy to fall for very quickly. And Vera Farmiga is very good indeed as air force captain Goodwin, An officer who has professionalism and humanity in more than equal measure.

The movie offers plenty of suspects, doesn't take the obvious twist, and even when the bomber is revealed there's still more to be resolved.

Not least the fate of the captain. I did see one plot point in regards to this coming but that doesnt prepare you for the emotional impact of it. And some of the scenes that follow.

Rather like moon it then has to do things in order to resolve the story, and does seem to go on longer than you would expect. But that does allows for a rather satisfying payoff - which is plausible although you might have to stop and think about it - and offers a lot of food for thought also.

Clever storytelling and genuine science fiction with a decent lot of character drama thrown in, it's another good science fiction film from a director who likes to make them.

But just like with moon it will leave you with a certain one hit wonder song stuck on the brain.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

The disc starts with some trailers with some adverts in amongst them. You can skip the trailers via the next button on the dvd remote but that has no effect on the adverts. Although fast forward does.

Extras are as follows:

A commentary from star Jake Gyllenhaal, plus the director and the writer.

A trivia track which when activated displays various bits of information about the film and other things whilst you watch it.

Cast and crew insights: These are eleven short features each tackling a bit of the prodution, with brief comments from those involved. None are longer than four minutes maximum. They can be watched individually or all together. Some are brief promotional pieces. Others are quite interesting.

Focal points: Five short features, all about a minute long each, covering some of the areas of science that the film touches on. All done in the style of a military training film. All quite fascinating if brief. And as with the above they can be watched individually or all together.

Expert intel: eighteen minutes of a scientist talking - in short sections - about the science of the movie. This is just words over an almost static image. It's very interesting. But it's the science bit. So concentrate!

And the original cinema trailer for the film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 July 2012
This beguiling sci-fi techno-thriller from director Duncan Jones adds a splash of quantum physics into a Groundhog Day-esque plot. Jake Gyllenhaal stars as Captain Colter Stevens, a U.S. soldier sent into a time loop program to find the man who planted a bomb on a train in an alternate reality. Owing quite a lot to Inception in its habit of not treating its audience like idiots, Source Code is an entertaining action romp with a knack for keeping things ticking over despite having a concept which verges on repetitiveness at times. If you liked Quantum Leap, pounce on this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on 8 August 2011
I really enjoyed this film in the cinema, in a large part because all I knew of it was the poster. The other day I saw the trailer played out in a Blockbuster - this is a great shame because knowing the basic premise of this film turns it from a very engaging mystery that you unravel together with the main character for the first half an hour or so, and into 'just a film' where you impartially observe the goings-on because you know what's going to happen. This totally, totally kills it. If you can approach it without much prior knowledge, you will be kept in suspense and have a great time watching it. Sure, the "science" behind it kind of goes completely bananas at the end, but even that is enjoyable as it finishes the film off on the sort of a twist that will make your brains boil out of your ears! I also really enjoyed the performances by all the main actors.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 November 2013
I was spell bound by this film, the story is simple if a bit far fetched, an agent travels back in time to a moment 8 minutes before a bomb explodes on a train and kills all on board, the agent ( Jake Gyllenhall ) has numerous attempts to go back in time and relive the same 8 minutes in order to prevent the bomb going off and catch the culprit. This is a fast paced film with an intelligent storyline and kept me enthralled for the full length of the film, i would definitely recommend this film as one of the best i have seen in a while.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Looper [DVD]
Looper [DVD] by Joseph Gordon-Levitt (DVD - 2013)

Limitless [DVD]
Limitless [DVD] by Bradley Cooper (DVD - 2011)

The Adjustment Bureau [DVD] [2011]
The Adjustment Bureau [DVD] [2011] by Matt Damon (DVD - 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.