Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Highlight Of 2011 With A Real Cult Feel
A very British film with a very British, quirky sense of humour, courtesy of first-time director Richard Ayoade. Oliver Tate is an individual boy with a passion for expanding his vocabulary, who hilariously exhibits the teenage concoction of arrogance and insecurity. Along with suffering the usual perils of school life, Oliver also has bigger issues to contend with...
Published on 13 Feb. 2012 by R. Morley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The DVD cover promised "laugh out loud" moments; well, I must have missed them when dozed off for a few minutes half way through.
It's an OK story which has been done many times in various guises. A young boy has a crush on a girl and has to suffer the usual heartaches of growing up. Quite interesting and I did manage a couple of smiles along the way, but...
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Highlight Of 2011 With A Real Cult Feel, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
R. Morley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Submarine [DVD] (DVD)
A very British film with a very British, quirky sense of humour, courtesy of first-time director Richard Ayoade. Oliver Tate is an individual boy with a passion for expanding his vocabulary, who hilariously exhibits the teenage concoction of arrogance and insecurity. Along with suffering the usual perils of school life, Oliver also has bigger issues to contend with. Firstly, the declining health of the mother of his enigmatic love interest, and second, the dwindling passion amid the dying relationship between his parents. The story follows Oliver in his quest to find solutions to both these problems.

'Submarine' features wonderful cinematography, making the most of the raw beauty of the Welsh setting. Complementing this is a superb soundtrack by Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys fame, which could not have been better suited to the picture.

Anyone who enjoys alternative British film will revel in Ayoade's creation. The direction includes some clever hypothetical scenes, such as where Oliver fantasizes over the grieving ranks of relatives, friends and schoolgirls at his own funeral. In fact there are so many laugh-out-loud moments, with each member of the cast delivering the goods. One of the most likeable characters is Noah Taylor's role as Oliver's father, a depressive marine biologist who knows the number of the pothole helpline by heart. If this sounds in any way humorous to you, then you should absolutely watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Submarine: Humorous and touching look at adolescence., 21 Oct. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Submarine [DVD] (DVD)
Richard Ayoade's directorial debut is a sure footed film with a quirky style that suggests he has a great future ahead of him in the cinema. Set in Wales in the late eighties, it presents a largely realistic and well observed slice of teen life. Following the adventures of natural social outcast Oliver, played exceptionally well by Craig Roberts, as he grows up.

Oliver is an odd sort of chap, who half lives in his own fantasy world. His world is thrown up in the air when he starts to suspect his parent's marriage might not be as strong as he thought. In his own way he goers about investigating matters and trying to fix things. Along the way he meets Jordana, who is even more messed up. The pair form a strong alliance as they try to deal with the world around them. The story follows their friendship and romance as Oliver struggles to learn how to relate to others.

It is a largely touching movie, full of excellent and naturalistic performances from the young actors. Ayoade has a light and sure touch, never really overdoing the melodrama, and mixing the tragic with the hilariously funny. Backed by a great soundtrack from Alex Turner, which literally hits just the right note throughout, this is a light and refreshing piece of intelligent cinema that will appeal to a wide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very atavistic response..., 14 Mar. 2014
Precocious Oliver struggles with being popular in school but when a dark-haired beauty takes interest in him, he's determined to become the best boyfriend in the world.

Meanwhile, his parents' already rocky relationship is threatened when his mother's ex-boyfriend moves in next door.

Oliver makes some unorthodox plans to ensure that his parents stay together and that Jordana still likes him....

It's a very strange movie to review this. The director is a fantastic writer who usually dabbles with the surreal or Chanel 4 computer sit-coms, but this isn't a comedy you'd usually get, it has a very distinct feel to it, much like Buny and the Bull.

We are flies on the wall in Oivers world, in fact the majority of the film is his point of view, there are rarely any scenes where he isn't in the situation.

But he is a very likable lad, One of those children at school you thought could have been weird, but when you got to know them, were quite inspiring.

So to grab the girl, he changes his ways slightly, but like all other young people, the romance part is awkward, and the harder he tries, the more awkward the situation is, and these are the funniest parts of the film.

The film has some odd seventies vibe to it, with all the clothes and the decor, even though it's set a decade later, it feels like the people in the story bar one, have not really kept up with the times.

It's well written and narrative is speedy, and it's great that stars like Considine, brilliant here, don't really out stay there welcome.

It's a film for anyone who was in love at school, but managed to get the girl, even if you were not popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh British comedy, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Submarine [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fresh British comedy and is director Richard Ayoade's debut film. What's so unique about Submarine is that it doesn't revolve around your usual teen drama. It isn't a high school drama with the set out social circles and same old jokes, it is real. The protagonists aren't the hottest people in school or the most popular. It's a story about two teenagers trying to figure out their lives, their relationship and their family issues.

The plot basically revolves around Oliver and Jordana during that 'coming-of-age' period of their lives. Oliver seems to be the school loser and Jodana has that 'too-cool-for-school' air going on. They seem to make quite an unusual pairing, but perhaps that's what's so brilliant about them. Oliver seems shy and nervous but he knows what he wants and he's not afraid to try. One of his main goals in life is to lose his virginity before his next birthday... I guess he has that in common with every other teenage boy, but apart from that, his character is quite unique. He struggles to try and mend the crumbling relationship between his parents at the same time he is trying to figure out his own relationship and what his feelings for Jordana are. Jordana herself doesn't let on a lot about her personal life at all, until one moment when she suddenly decides that she trusts Oliver and she opens up to him. However, she is very upfront about her feelings and isn't afraid to say what she's thinking, she's definitely the 'man' of the relationship. At first their relationship seems like just a bit of fun but as time goes on both of them begin to wonder if they want more. Both have complicated family lives and this further complicates their own relationship.

The pair live in a remote British village where there aren't any cinemas or shops or cool teen places to hang and it's the perfect setting for the story because it means you don't get distracted by the generic going ons of a busy city. Even the clothes they wear are pretty much the same the entire way through the movie ensuring the focus really is upon their acting and the story they're telling. The idea of this movie was that it wouldn't be set in any particular time; however, there are no mobile phones and they are still using polaroid cameras so there is the suggestion that it is set in the 80s.

Just look at the sheer awkwardness on his face... This is a real teen drama.
The acting is really really good in this, the story is sort of raw and edgy and they used the perfect cast for this. There are couple of familiar faces who perhaps you won't be able to pinpoint so I'll remind you. The protagonist, Oliver Tate, is played by Craig Roberts, who some teenagers may recognise from the CBBC shows 'Young Dracula' and 'The Story of Tracy Beaker'. Jordana is played by Yasmin Paige who also portrayed Maria Jackson in 'The Sarah Jane Adventures' (also on CBBC) as well as many other works including the film Ballet Shoes (which also starred Harry Potter actress Emma Watson). You'll also recognise Noah Taylor, who plays Oliver's dad, previously known as 'Mr Bucket' from the most recent adaption of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Oliver's mother is played by Sally Hawkins who was also in Made in Dagenham and Happy-Go-Lucky. I could on, but I won't bore you with more facts, so if you really want check the film out on wikipedia here: Submarine (2010 film). As you can see, although the names of these actors aren't instantly recognisable, you'll find that you've seen them many many times before and all their faces should be familiar to you. There is quite a small bunch of actors in this film and that really helps to keep the plot together and keep the focus of the film.

I have to admit despite the fact I had been bombarded by adverts for this film on the London Underground I still wasn't that keen to see this movie. I mean, just look at the promotional poster, all I see is an awkward teenage boy. Now I see the beauty of the simplicity of the poster. This film really is quite under-rated and I think it should be more popular and given the credit that it deserves. I love the awkwardness between the characters at times because let's be honest, relationships don't go smoothly and flow like a river there are bumps and uncertainties on the way. I also love that this movie doesn't try to cover up the true dramas that people face in their lives but it portrays them accurately and realistically. I'd say this film would probably relate better to British audiences, it sort of captures the essence of teenage life away from the hustle and bustle of big English cities, but I'm sure that other audiences will also be captivated by this story. I highly recommend this movie to everyone and anyone and I implore you to please, please, please, give it the chance that it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully directed movie from Richard Ayoade., 21 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Submarine [DVD] (DVD)
Even though this is a very recent movie, I have to admit that it has made it's way into my top ten films of all time.

Submarine, may not be everyone's cup of tea and I have been a bit disappointed when people have said they "don't get it" or "it doesn't go anywhere" after I've recommended it.

The movie is very different from the book. Oliver is less obnoxious and kinder in the film and there are a lot of changes, parts removed and also made up, but saying that, adaptations of books will always be like this; that said Ayoade has done a fantastic job.

I think it's a combination of things that makes the movie so perfect to me. The way it's been filmed is gorgeous, the camera work is fantastic and I love the dullness of colour. It definatley comes through that Ayoade is a huge fan of French Cinema and the way this is subtely brought through the cinematography is wonderfully done.

The acting is brilliant; Craig Roberts' (Oliver) early career was on the UK children's television show Tracy Beaker - He has come on a long way since then and I can happily say the lad can really act now! Yasmin Paige (Jordana), also appeared on a UK Children's television series (The Sarah Jane Adventures), but at least the acting quality in that series was far superior. Noah Taylor and Sally Hawkins who play Oliver's parents are superb as are Melanie Walters and Sion Tudor Owen who briefly appear as Jordana's parents during a particularly heart wrenching moment.

I feel very nostalgic watching this film; even though there are many modern elements to it, there is also something very 1980's about it at the same time. For me I also feel a sense of comfort and could quite happily watch it every night to lull me off into a nice sleep.

Submarine is like a beautiful little parcel; packed full of goodies, looks amazing and is perfectly wrapped up with a truly beautiful soundtrack by The Arctic Monkeys front man, Alex Turner.

The best word I could use to describe Richard Ayoade is genius; he is a perfectionist and I can't wait to see what other films he has in store for us in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Comedy!, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Submarine [DVD] (DVD)
Despite having been available on DVD since 2011, it was only yesterday that I watched 'Submarine', an excellent slice of modern British comedy.

Considering it was Richard Ayoade's first attempt at director, he has made a brilliant little film, and I hope there is more to come like it. The actor Craig Roberts is very good as the lead character Oliver, a young, quirky social misfit who has finally attracted female attention. His relationship with the girl grows, until he finds out that her mother may have a fatal brain tumour and closer to home, he expects his own mother of having an affair with a old friend. In a sense then, it is about two teenagers who are trying to sort out their problems and discover who they really are. The story is told through Alex, sharing his thoughts through a very vivid (and often hilarious) imagination, speaking in first person.

There is much to love here, as well as being hilarious and heartwarming in equal measure, the cinematography is really good, the location filming in Wales is beautiful, and the soundtrack by Alex Turner, which actually encouraged me to finally buy the movie, is excellent.

'Submarine' is very true to life and one of the best modern comedies I've seen in years. A great little film, buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hormones In Wales, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Dariush Alavi "DariushAlavi.com" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Teenage boys struggling with relationships and awkward family situations aren't exactly under-represented on the silver screen, but Richard Ayoade manages to find a novel way of presenting this familiar subject in Submarine, a film which will surely walk away with 2011's Best Comedic Use Of Laconic Welsh Accents award. In the form of Oliver Tate, the movie gives us a memorable, angst-ridden (and hormone-riddled) adolescent, desperate to find a way of connecting with the sardonic object of his affections whilst trying to rescue his parents' marriage. Ayoade stamps his own mark on proceedings by indulging in all manner of audio-visual wizardry: freeze frames, non-realistic use of sound, garish colours etc. More often than not, the tricks work well, successfully underscoring the drama. But at times they're unnecessary and merely highlight the fact that what really makes this film work is the endearing characters, the superb performances (there are no weak links in the cast) and the simple, absorbing story. Thoroughly entertaining, although it doesn't quite know how to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I found a book about teenage paranoid delusions during a routine search of my parents' bedroom.", 3 Nov. 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Submarine gives us an insight into the life of mid-teen Oliver Tate, through his narration we understand his thoughts on various life events. As the film is told from his perspective this feels like a very personal story and many will identify with the young man whose teenage angst leaves him feeling slightly alienated and perhaps mentally superior to the majority of his peers.

This black comedy covers a key time in Oliver's life, his thoughts are pre-occupied by his first love and his efforts to salvage his parent's marriage. While dealing with his own developing romance he over analyses the minutiae of his time with Jordana in a neurotic fashion reminiscent of Woody Allen. She also has family issues (though of a very different sort) and seems to toy with him, but she is also a vulnerable soul and a very interesting character driven by her own insecurities. The way they interact with each other is very realistic, it's an antidote to the saccharine falseness of the glossy teenage love stories which saturate our screens. This is a romance you simply don't get in Hollywood movies, if this were a Disney film they'd have perfect teeth and be played by actors in the mid-twenties, they'd go to a prom rather than spit off a bridge, and Oliver wouldn't comment on Jordana's scaly eczema.

The performances are absolutely spot on, Paddy Considine is easily one of the best things to happen to British film recently and he laps up the comedy aspects of his mullet-haired life coach. Oliver's parents manage to come across as emotionally repressed but never overly cold, they are stuck in a sexless marriage which has drained of all energy. His father in particular is a lovable but incredibly dull man, his exclamation "I once ripped my vest off in front of a woman" does little to convince otherwise! He's a victim of his own inability to get excited and this has had the greatest impact on Oliver's mum. The excellent Sally Hawkins delivers her lines with a stiff upper lip the Victorians would have been proud off, though you can always tell that internally she is screaming for some excitement in her life.

It's an impressive directorial debut for Richard Ayoade. Sometimes when a director uses all manner of styles in their film it looks as though they are throwing every technique onto celluloid in the hope it will look edgy and modern, but it usually turns out seeming a bit desperate. Here though Ayoade employs lots of stylistic devices to great effect - from split screens, on screen text, to some scenes filmed on Super-8 home video to give it an authentic '80s look. He has creative vision and has crafted a film which is quirky but reflective of real life. The script is never sloppy, it is perhaps guilty of being pretentious at times but it works in context, Oliver uses language uncharacteristic of his generation but it helps to enforce his belief that he's an intellectual.

This disk contains a good amount of bonus features, the Ben Stiller message isn't essential viewing but "Through The Prism with Graham T. Purvis" is a fantastic monologue by Paddy Considine. It's a mock self-promotional video where Purvis talks about his ability to see light emanating from those around him. Considine plays it absolutely deadpan and the character comes across as weirder and more delusional as it goes on. The main film itself is gently comedic, but this particular bonus is very humorous and well worth watching.

In a nutshell: Watch out Adrian Mole, there's a new neurotic teen in town. Richard Ayoade has delivered a well scripted kitchen-sink/playground drama with a level of creative flair which hopefully hints at more quirky titles in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I DECIDED TO LIGHTEN THE BLOW WITH SOME LIGHT ARSON, 30 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Submarine [DVD] (DVD)
The movie takes place in Wales. After missing the first joke, I added the English subtitles. The story is told in first person by school boy Oliver Tate who spends time daydreaming. His vivid imagination is humorous. Oliver has fantasies about Jordana, another semi-outcast. She uses Oliver to make her former boyfriend jealous. Jordana has eczema and likes to set fires. Oliver's mother is a paranoid who believes her tongue is too big for her mouth. Dad is a boring marine biologist who gives Oliver love advice, claiming that if you rip your vest open in front of a woman, you can get a positive response. Oliver believes his mom is having an affair with the neighbor Graham, her former boyfriend, who is a "ninja psychic."

Like too many indies, after they create wonderful quirky characters, the film moves to a less than spectacular climax scene and equally sub-par ending with lame music to make you feel good. 3 1/2 stars.

F-bomb, sex talk. No Nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Like the Book, 12 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Submarine [DVD] (DVD)
Considering that 'Ben Stiller Presents' on top of each DVD do not put you off! This is only funded by that source,
the film is wonderful, and the book is different. Both are wonderful, so do it, it's only money

more please Richard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Submarine [DVD]
Submarine [DVD] by Richard Ayoade (DVD - 2011)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews