Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Mulvey
Is this the most beautiful mobile phone ever made? If not, it certainly comes close. True, this is a triumph of form over, if not function, then at least user-friendliness. The Symbian software is unintuitive and clunky, the phone is a tad slow compared to the hottest Samsungs and HTCs, but it nonetheless does all the things a modern smart phone is meant to do - and does...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good phone but DO NOT BUY.
This is an awesome phone, one of the best I've had but it won't last long, the charging port just stops working after a while and as you can't remove the back, the phone is pretty much useless now, it lasted just a year.
Published 17 months ago by Jabba


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Mulvey, 9 May 2011
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
Is this the most beautiful mobile phone ever made? If not, it certainly comes close. True, this is a triumph of form over, if not function, then at least user-friendliness. The Symbian software is unintuitive and clunky, the phone is a tad slow compared to the hottest Samsungs and HTCs, but it nonetheless does all the things a modern smart phone is meant to do - and does many of them better than most (e.g. call reception, live e-mail, radio, navigation, HDMI link, battery life). Having said all that, what really makes you want to buy this phone is its sheer physical elegance - from the solid glass front to the brushed aluminium body, with lines that vaguely resemble a flattened Eurostar train. If the software should be in a museum, then the hardware belongs in an art gallery.

PS. The Belle update has brought Symbian up to modern standards in terms of ease of use, while Nokia's excellent off-line maps, synchronisation with Microsoft Office, and much improved browser give this phone the edge over Android in terms of accessability and reliabilty, if not of speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Nokia phone up to date - yet still not perfect?, 28 April 2011
By 
Oliver! "Tea house warrior" (Saltaire, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
I wanted this phone ever since it was announced. It was a new Psion for me, something I hoped to carry around and use to view/edit files and make notes (as well as making a few calls, checking emails and some Web browsing). I could have written this review on it, if I wanted. That was the dream. A Psion with colour touch screen, GPS and a phone - what else one can want?

Well I am afraid I'll have to keep dreaming!

This phone is certainly beautiful. Metal body, solid build, brilliant AMOLED display, sliding QWERTY keaboard... The touch and feel are exceptional. I know of no other phone on the market with similar quality (may iPhone fans forgive me). This is the phone to look at and admire.

But I wanted a phone to, actually, use it.

Here comes the dark side on Nokia.

Having decided to ditch Symbian OS in favour of Microsoft, it looks like they just did not dedicate enough resources to improve the user experience on this phone. I think even die-hard Symbian fans will agree that this OS in it's current state is dead. And as they are busy building MS phones I doubt that the software will be significantly improved - but this only time will tell.

User interface is quite obscure and hard to find yourself around. Many simple actions require 2-3 or more steps to complete. Many actions are slow to perform, like opening a file or application, probably in part due to a very slow by today's standards processor (680MHz). Interface is not very intuitive, and unless you upgrade from an older Nokia you will find it very complex. I used e72 for 2 years but it still was not straightforward. And no significant improvements that I expected from a more modern phone. That's Nokia user saying, I hate to think what Apple or Android user would think. They'd probably drop dead.

Web browser is very disappointing, slow and crashing way too often. Yet due to a bigger touchscreen it is still an improvement over older models.

I do not comment on camera as I am yet to use it, ever. There are "proper" cameras for that, why try to fit everything into a phone, making it heavier and more expensive? Same goes about MP3 player, none of the phones that I know can play music with a decent quality - but that's purely my opinion as Cowon and Sony user.

GPS is probably one of Nokia strongest points. It's Maps software is excellent, on par with my dedicated car GPS system, and does not require internet connection like Google maps. This is something any phone must have, and it's probably most used application for me (I travel a lot).

File vewing/editing is possible, but slow and not really convenient - keyboard is great for short messages and emails, but it's still too small to be totally comfortable. You can type with 4 fingers though which is still better than thumbs.

Conlcusion

This phone looked so promising but failed to deliver. Excellent design is let down by OS and interface. Hopefully 2 more years and my perfect phone will be built. But not this one.

GOOD

- Design and build quality
- AMOLED display
- Full QWERTY keaboard
- GPS with maps which does not require internet connection

BAD

- OS and User Interface
- Web browser
- Slow processor
- Very few useful applications on the market

UPDATE 07/2011: It's been only one month since launch, and the price is down [] on Amazon, and it can be bought [on another big marketplace] even cheaper - I think you can't fool the market. There's an update to Nokia UI coming soon, if it is improved, I think I might come back to E7, especially when the price will be a lot cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent phone is getting better., 28 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. T. A. Maurice "Film Addict" (Essex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
It appears to be fashionable for reviewers to castigate Nokia phones for not having an OS with hundreds of thousands of Apps,or an ability to play sophisticated games.
The Symbian OS,which was being written off by reviewers,has already had the 'Anna' update,and the next 'Belle' update has been announced.
Nokia has also announced that Microsoft Apps will be made available for Symbian 'Belle'.
So announcing the death of the Symbian OS appears to have been premature.
One of the attributes of higher end Nokia phones is their exemplary build quality,and the E7 is no exception.
Everything operates with an air of quality,in particular the slide out keyboard.
Another requirement of a phone,which is not always met with other brands,is first class call quality,and again the E7 does not disappoint.
The absence of a user replaceable battery is for me no big deal,but might be for other potential buyers.
It has to be remembered that the E7 is a business phone,and as such it is worthy of serious consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So underrated!!!!, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
I bought this phone about a year ago on amazon after i lost my beautiful HTC desire HD and have never looked back. Sure it may not be the fastest phone or have as many apps as android or Iphones but it is definitely better then those. There are loads of useful apps for those who are business heavy or even those like me who usually uses my phone for texting, satnav the best satnav I've ever used), and pdfs. The keyboard is definitly a plus point and the phone itself is stylish and trust me it's a phone you can really show off!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no macro, no autofocus, no macro-sd slot but still love it, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
I've only ever bought nokias, and although they are suffering compared to apple joining with microsoft might just be enough to save them. i was so looking forward to this phone. i dont really like touchscreen that much, i prefer having the choice and nokia always gives me that. I thought it was just like the n8 with buttons.

no macro (close up photos) - which i've discovered if u use a magnifying glass you can get around this. but the big let down is no auto focus, which im still not used to at all and my photos still look fuzzy. I can live without closeup photography. u can download ovi apps that give u macro option in their software but doesnt make much difference if u cant focus properly. i was also disappointed in the lack of micro-sd slot. but phones these days do seem to have alot of memory anyways. also the camera is only 8mp compared to the n8 12mp, which is also easy to live with when 5mp is pretty good so 8 is even better.

nokia/ovi still has to really improve in order to compete with apples billion apps, but there are still quite alot of fun ones if u just look.

conclusion - although autofocus was my big let down, i still love this phone. I mean it has HD video and a hdmi slot, u can also download app 'big screen' to make it easier to watch vids through ur tv. U can also zoom while filming.

BUT If photo taking is a big importance and ur not really experanced in taking pics with still-focus, and a keyboard isnt then I'd buy the n8 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good phone but DO NOT BUY., 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
This is an awesome phone, one of the best I've had but it won't last long, the charging port just stops working after a while and as you can't remove the back, the phone is pretty much useless now, it lasted just a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible phone!, 17 Oct 2012
By 
K. Hook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
I only got this phone because I damaged my much loved Nokia N900 beyond repair. Which I'd gone for something else. While the E7 *looks* good, it's am absolute disaster of a phone!

*It constantly freezes and reboots itself or needs rebooting. It also likes to reset the home screens back to the factory default.

*Any more than 2 apps running and the memory fills up

*The side button to toggle the phone on and off works when it feels like it.

*The handsfree volume is pathetic.

*The symbian OS doesn't have half as much support as android.

*Non-removable battery, so no carrying a spare for emergencies.

*Did I mention the constant freezing and crashing?!

This should have been a good phone. It looks good, has a full qwerty keyboard and touchscreen, big memory (16gb) and feels pretty solid. But it just fails miserably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Phone, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
I have been using this phone for a couple of weeks now and it works excellently, i have had no problems with it and as long as you upgrade (freely) to Symbian Anna it is much more stable.

I would recommend this phone to anyone (even over an IPhone)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nokia E7, 20 May 2011
By 
James Guion "GFlash" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
Great steardy and stunning standout hardware design with a fantastic keyboard, stunning screen, lots of apps, excellent sat nav that works without data and free games. The HDMI to the big screen is also a big plus point. In relation to the other reviews Nokia is bringing out a software update called Symbian Anna. It has an enhanced web browser, portrait qwerty keyboard and much improved UI and transitions (i.e. when moving between home screens or opening folders). Do a search and you will find it on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nokia E7 smartphone, 23 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nokia E7 Sim Free Mobile Phone Includes Free WH-205 Stereo Headset and HDMI Cable - Black (Electronics)
Great phone at a great price , it has the lot more or less , and the slide out keyboard makes texting a breeze , battery is ok but will need charged every couple of days if you have a lot running , like apps , bt , 3g mode etc.. , it is very easy to use as is all nokias and a great alternative to the more expensive smartphones on the market. shame it dosent have a micro sd card slot but the 16gb built in memory is adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews