Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Experience
This game is incredible, end of. If you enjoyed the game-play of the previous games this one builds upon it very nicely not taking anything away but adding enough to make it feel fresh to someone who has played through both of the previous games many times. That's all well and good however what you are really playing this game for is the story and the total immersion into...
Published 19 months ago by djneill

versus
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promised to be great, unfortinately did not deliver.
As a huge fan of the mass effect trilogy I was excited about playing the new edition, and to be entirely fair to Bioware, there is much in this game that delivers, however there is also much that lets it down, and shattered my enjoyment for the title.

The good: The gameplay is more fluid than the previous titles, and whilst keeping some of the more important...
Published on 18 Mar 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying ending (?) to the Mass Effect series, 19 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
In 2007, Bioware began an ambitious new game series names Mass Effect. Its purpose was to tell a story of Commander Shepard and his/her fight against a race of deadly synthetic hybrids known as the Reapers. They chose to tell this epic fight over a massive trilogy in which, like their previous RPG games, your actions would have dire consequences on the characters and stories outcome. The difference with ME, compared to previous efforts, is that the Shepard you create in the first game is designed to be imported and his/her choices in would have dire and unforeseen consequences in both the second and final games, creating a truly epic adventure of your own making. Now, in 2012, Mass Effect 3, the final (?) chapter of Commander Shepard, has arrived. Was it worth the wait? Is it a satisfying conclusion to this epic franchise? I think it rather is.

After the events of Mass Effect 2 (And the DLC Arrival) the Reapers have finally made their move on the galaxy, with planet Earth being their first and prime target. Reinstated at the helm of the Normandy SR-2, Commander Shepard must bring together and unite the warring races of the universe if they want to have any chance of retaking Earth and saving the galaxy from total extinction.

As with the previous games, you explore the galaxy completing missions in this 40+ hour adventure in order to reach the final goal. In ME3, your job is to bring together the Turian, Krogan, Salarian and Quarian races in order to create the ultimate weapon against the Reapers, while also fighting off the mysterious Cerberus organisation. Just like in pervious Bioware games, you have to make many differing choices while completing critical missions. The smallest choice can have devastating consequences and never has this been more prominent the in Mass Effect 3. The writing is superb and each choice feels real and can be filled with genuine emotion or shock. I don't want to spoil anything, but the missions on Tuchanka were the best example of how the mission can end up gloriously victorious, or heart-breaking, too outright dark, all depending on your choices in this game and it predecessors. You get the most out of the game if you import a character from ME2, as previous choices and relationships are imported to the game, although it is possible to start a new Shepard from scratch. Its times like this when you realise what a shame it is that ME1 was never, and will forever likely never be, released on the PS3. Even so, that doesn't stop the game from feeling very epic and worthwhile.

Unlike ME2, in which you could be half way through the legendary Suicide Mission and be wondering why half your squad is dead, ME3 makes a big, game changing point rather obvious form the go. If you don't prepare for the final battle, it will not end well! To help you prepare, a new gameplay addition is added in the form of War Assets. The choices you make during the main missions and completing side quests add (or lower) you're over battle readiness. The higher you're rating by the end of the game, the more likely you are to get a better type of ending. Another way to increases your score is by playing the online multiplayer, although you can still get the best possible ending simply through missions and the main game alone. It's a great feature which helps you plan for what ending you want, although the ways in which the War Asset side missions are played dose end up making then feel rather repetitive and somewhat hollow, especially when nearing the conclusion of the game end.

Your squad is made of mostly of ME1 characters (Minus Wrex, who has a big supporting part to play.) along with a surprising former ME2 supporting character joining your fighting team. As per the past games, you can get to know the well written characters very well during the game through dialog-specific scenes and actions. Unlike previous games however, squad specific quests have mostly gone, which is a shame, as they are usual the best way to get to know the character even better. Two brand new characters are introduced to the ME3 squad team, the DLC Prothean Javik (Who I will get to in a moment) and James Vega. Voiced wonderfully by Freddie Prinze Jr, James fills in as a typical muscle bound solider-hero who, unfortunately, is given little time to impress and feels oddly out of place next to the many returning characters. It's a shame, because his character held much promise and idea for development. There is a wide cast of supporting characters to interact with during the ME3 story, with many returning from the previous game. Several new romances can be explored as well (I am very glad that they have final decided to include homosexual relationships as well!)

An optional DLC is also available (And comes free with the Collector Edition of the game.) called From Ashes. This pack includes the new Prothean squad member I mentioned earlier, as well as his own mission, and I must say that it is well worth the price. Unlike the Mass Effect 2 DLC characters, Kasumi and Zaeed, Javik feels a lot more like a true companion to Shepard and the story. You can talk to him on the Normandy and he has his own, wonderfully written dialog scenes. He also has a lot of interaction and influence within the missions themselves. Another good reason to get the DLC is the fact that it shows you what the Prothean's really were like and what their culture consisted off, which is a must for any mass Effect lore fan.

It is a shame that the majority of the ME2 squad (Miranda, Jacob, Legion etc...) are reduced to cameo roles (Providing they survived the Suicide Mission, of course). That being said, they do have interesting side stories and some get to play a part in the main quest, but it still would have been nice for a few to share the same limelight that the original team seem to bathe in this time.

The voice acting in ME3 is as high quality as usual for Bioware and for the most part the voice cast remains intact. For me, Jennifer Hale (Female Shepard) is the true star of the game. She brings a strength and emotion to Shepard that Mark (Male Shepard) just seems to lack. It's such a shame that few players experience FemShep, as I really think she is the best character in the game by far.

Now we come to the controversial aspect of the game, which is the ending, not just to this one game, but to the entire Mass Effect series itself (?) While it is fair to say that Mass Effect 3 does not have the best ending in the world, I think it was rather good and well written. It was very different from what I was fearing, and rather unique given the series layout. It is probably more simpler then people many have expected, especially when regarding previous choices and the like, but to give a series like Mass Effect a proper send of it was kind of inevitable. I personally would however have liked it if they went in to a bit more detail about some of the aspects present during the final fifteen or so minutes. That said, it should also be noted that some time ago Bioware did tell its fans to keep their ME3 saves. No matter your opinion on it, we live in an age of DLC. Judging by what has been said by the staff at Bioware, I think it's rather certain that something will come along to expand the endgame story.

Gameplay wise, the game has changed little form ME2, being still an addictive hybrid of duck-and-cover gunplay while enhancing your squad through RPG levelling elements. Some game mechanics have been tweaked, such as melee attacks playing a larger role in combat, while a simpler version of the weapon modification system from ME1 has been reinstated. The Powers have been slight changed as well. Now when you reach the higher levels of power upgrading, you have a number of different choices of what to improve (I.E. Quicker cooldowns over impact radius or more health over more melee damage.) The games difficultly has been altered slightly as well, with Normal being of the same difficulty as ME2's Veteran mode (Although this can be changed at any time.)

ME3 also bring multiplayer to the Mass Effect universe. I was somewhat fearful of this feature at first, but it ends up being a rather addictive experience! In teams of four, you and other players take on a series of `waves' which include simply defeating the enemy too downloading information from certain points while trying to survive. By doing these missions, you can gain experience points and level your multiplayer characters while increasing your readiness score in the main game. These modes are fun, but can get a little repetitive after a while. A nice feature is that you have access to ever class (Infiltrator, Solider, Vanguard...) and that you don't have to commit to one style. You can also play as a number of different ME races, depending on your class, but these can only be locked from special packs. These packs, which also randomly give you weapons and upgrades, cost credits that you can make by completing online missions. Alternatively, you can buy them using real money through the PSN (Packs differ in price, the most expensive being around 1.70, at the time of writing.)

Graphically the game is one of the best on the PS3. The characters look and are designed wonderfully, the epic Reaper battles are a joy to behold and the intergalactic scenery, which is more varied than ever, can be rather breath-taking. I would also recommend that every fan gets a copy of the soundtrack, which is stunningly beautiful and at times rather emotional.

This is not the best game in the world, and in all honesty it dose fall somewhat short of beating Mass Effect 2 in terms of shear quality. It is also likely that some players may be off-put by certain aspects of the ending. But in my opinion, Mass Effect 3 still turns out to be an exciting and fulfilling conclusion to what has got to be the best gaming trilogy's in computer history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over hyped and over here, 20 Mar 2012
By 
Tim Chaney "soloinsoho" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Not up there with COD. Not even on the same page. Seems rushed. They should have sold it through GAME and got some impulse sales. If they ever go to f2p - they are gone. Maybe other formats are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 3 (PS3), 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
my son said this game is okay he has told some of his friends about this game saying that it's okay I would recommend is this company for games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good shooter / RPG - disappointing ending., 12 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Not having played the Mass Effect series before now, I bought this something to while away the evenings. That lasted about a week.

The game was moderately entertaining, a sort of quasi-RPG with some reasonably satisfying FPS sessions. The bits where I was running as an RPG character were a bit dull and did not feel like I was truly influencing my environment, also the dialogue was SO cliched.

Being of a childish frame of mind, my biggest entertainment was derived from turning my character into the biggest tart possible, flirting, canoodling and sometimes, even more… with every character that came into range of my biotic 'Pull' power.

Sadly, watching an uptight ginger lesbian (that's how I roll) spout crummy exposition and shoot men is only entertaining for a bit.

I played the multiplayer levels, a bit but there is nothing there to make want to come back to them or get 'good'.

It's as if Ang Lee and Michael Bay had a baby film, and it got made into a video game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars es muy adictivo lo unico se me hace corto solo 30 horas, 7 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
es muy bueno graficamente perfecto por ponerle un defecto le a kitado un pokito el peso de rol es mas de accion que el 2 pero muy adictivo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly enough bang for my buck, 23 May 2012
By 
Mr. M. E. Merritt "MattMerritt" (Portsmouth UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I knew things would be off to a bad start when the opening cutscene took more time than updating my PS3... the game went on and still the flimsy RPG elements limited what could be a serviceable shooter.

Needless to say I haven't made it to the end, ultimately I got bored so I booted up NHL12 instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ME3, 8 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
WOW! Just WOW!
As an new fan of the series, I couldn't wait to play this, and I was just blown away by it!
Agree with other posters about the ending though, but well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Game! With horrible 5min ending...., 30 April 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Play ME2 and ME3 games excelent games but forget/forgive the last 5min of the final ending... :| ... otherwise you will frustaded and angry.... and want to give a 2 stars to this game...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ps3 game, 23 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this ps game for my son for his birthday and hew absolutely loves it and I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest review of an amazing game, 5 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I have to say, this game blew me away from the moment it started. You're thrown right into the action, and once you start playing you'll see for yourself. I only got into the Mass Effect series in December last year by playing through the 2nd game, it sold me into pre-ordering the 3rd one as I was so impressed by gameplay and story combined. There is so much depth to the characters you meet, and you have the opportunity to have long conversations with them - giving you choices of how to respond.

The Gameplay is action based with RPG elements. It plays out like a FPS (first person shooter), but you gain experience points as you would in and RPG and giving you the chance to increase your characters skills and attributes. There are a vast range of weapons available and you can collect them through the game, upgrade them and add mods to them to increase damage, accuracy etc. You are able to take 2 squad members with you to aid you on the mission you set out on. They all have different skills which you won't have, so it's wise to be tactical about who you choose. That will also affect how certain cut-scenes will play out as it's the characters you choose that are in them and react to what's happening.

One very amazing feature about this game, is that at the very start you can choose if you want to be male or female, they are essentially the same character - Commander Shepard, but I feel this is big step forward giving the chance to have a female protagonist as I am a female gamer myself. Personally I prefer the female Shepard as her voice actor is extremely talented, I feel Male Shepards VA is quite wooden and his performance makes the character seem 2D and unbelievable.

If you've never played the series before, you can still jump in here and the back stoy is explained to you throughout so you aren't confused. If you have played the previous games, your choices you made in them are carried over to this one, meaning you can do something different each time you play or import different saves from previous games.

Overall I have found this to be one of the greatest gaming experiences of my life. I've always been a huge gamer and my ultimate faves were titles like Final Fantasy, Metal Gear Solid, Resident Evil, Silent Hill and Kingdom Hearts - these games always represented powerful stories and engaging characters, but it only took me a few months of Mass Effect to blow me away entirely and have an ultimate favorite series. Still, I am only one person and this review is a brief explanation of how I feel about it. Every person with react to things differently. I do suggest if you're interested in playing it, go for it! Reviews can put people off so much with negativity and they end up never trying it for themselves. Try it for you and make up your own mind. But I do guarantee you'll have fun playing ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect 3 (PS3)
Mass Effect 3 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
11.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews