Customer Reviews


396 Reviews
5 star:
 (265)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining
Having played the two preceeding games, I was looking forward to playing this one. I was not disappointed although I did think the game was a tad shorter than the others.

Storyline is very good. You are on the trail of Drake's hidden city of treasure which takes you from London to Syria amongst other places. There is even a level aboard a ship on very choppy...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by Doc

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I do not see why IGN gave this 10 out of 10
I found this game to be very frustrating.
The gun fights in particular would often have me rage quitting. This was not because the enemy out matched me with skill and intelligence.
The enemies in the game behave a bit like mindless zombies which mean the cover system is pretty pointless.
I found that at the beginning of a gun fight I would go into a cover...
Published 10 months ago by Hudson


‹ Previous | 138 39 40 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Game, 8 Dec 2011
By 
J. Bush (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
Uncharted 3 is an interactive high-budget action movie, and as such things go, this is probably the finest example yet made. It will stun you with visuals, shock you with sudden twists and amaze you with set-pieces. Any time the main character, Drake, is moving through the game world, you will be having fun and the game will keep throwing bigger and bigger set-pieces at you, exceeding your expectations every time.

Unfortunately, Drake is not moving all the time. Sometimes he will stop to engage in some of the most inane, repetitive and downright idiotic combat imaginable. Drake will slaughter his way through hundreds and hundreds of fanatically suicidal soldiers by the end of this game. Secret organisations apparently field dozens of operatives with rocket launchers and grenades aplenty anywhere in the world. Enemies will puruse your demise at any cost, quite happy to drown or burn to death if it means they can shoot at you a few more times. Enemies come in respawning waves, just to pad out these dreary combat sequences, and each wave is progressively more absurd, contrasting the gritty, realistic world Drake supposedly lives in. When the unarmoured Drake takes out his 100th power-armoured space marine wielding an automatic shotgun, you will feel no sense of achievement, just a depressing realisation that three more just spawned.

When Uncharted 3 remembers that it is supposed to be a video game, it falls tragically flat, delivering nothing to justify its pricetag. The game has negligible replay value, and is incredibly short. It is less substantial even than the previous installments in the series. A multiplayer mode is provided, perhaps by way of an apology for the shortened single-player experience, or maybe the shortening was intentional to make room. Regardless, it's a shallow gesture in a world filled with greatly superior multiplayer-focused games.

My advice would be to rent this title. It's good fun for a few hours, but it simply isn't worth the full price of a Triple-A videogame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking game, 11 Nov 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
Wow what a game. Uncharted 2 is still my favourite game of this generation but this definatley runs it a close 2nd.

I would recommend this game to anyone. My only negative is the ending, I don't think Drake should have been killed off like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE WORD---- IMMENSE, 2 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is BY FAR THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED.
It is just amazing in every way possible!!
Uncharted 2 was awful compared to this, even though that was the best game on the ps3 yesterday.

WOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bleh, 3 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
I should preface this with a confession: I dislike games which resort to the inclusion of monsters (I'm including any supernatural beings, zombies, aliens or mutants in that too) in order to up the ante. Due to that I never completed Uncharted 1 and was dubious of Uncharted 2 but gave it a fair shot and was very pleasantly surprised by it, so much so in fact that I was really looking forward to this, Uncharted 3 and to its credit its monsters are even more suitably explained than they were in Uncharted 2.

While this is an entertaining game, and looks stunning, it just doesn't do it for me like Uncharted 2 did. I found myself repeatedly resorting to hand-to-hand combat in exasperation at the dodgy aiming when using weapons and while the increased sensitivity of the controls makes for a more realistic movement with Nate leaning against walls as he rounds corners etc, it does sometimes get a little tiresome and clumsy. All this I can forgive as ultimately it's a very playable game and as I said, looks stunning. It also has exciting, thrilling set-piece battles which I have already returned to to enjoy again.

However, the story is dreadful, it's poorly explained and leaves parts completely unfinished. There's a series of four levels in the middle of the game which serve absolutely no purpose to the advancement of the story whatsoever, and given that the character which they centre around only appears briefly, as a non-speaking figure in the background during the cutscene immediately proceeding these levels, it seems incredibly likely that they were added later simply in order to lengthen the game, which is a shame because they offer some of the best gameplay and most dramatic environments.

In general the story feels thrown together as if it was merely a secondary element, and having watched the featurettes provided as bonus material on the start menu, in some cases that is literally the case. The admission that one chase scene in particular was designed entirely before the developers even had any idea who it was being chased and how they fitted in to the story made me balk. Trying to shoehorn a story around what you've decided will look awesome and be exciting to play results in something exactly like Uncharted 3, it's all front but ultimately an unfulfilling experience because the background simply isn't there to make you care about the characters.

So yes it's entertaining and I'll play it through again and probably again, but it just doesn't offer the same kind of enjoyment as Uncharted 2 did. The high-point of the game for me was when Sully shouts over the sound of gunfire 'this is why we can't have nice things,' I laughed and the game redeemed itself a fraction at that moment, but the quip of a character shouldn't be the best thing about any game, especially not one with such a glorious heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just a boring shooter, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Boa (Liverpool. UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
I have absolutely no idea why I play this series. They're not
enjoyable, and a chore to go through, so I'm just glad I borrow them.
This is not a bad game, but it's just a boring shooter. You barely get
a chance to explore the surroundings before being shot at. As usual
it's predicatable and probably the best part about it was the puzzles,
which were few a far between, and the character of Sully as basically
an action hero doesn't work. He's a dull character. Any of the Tomb
Raiders is easily better than the Uncharted series. It doesn't even
come close. Yet the set-pieces are good, and the graphics are great,
and sadly that's the best thing I can say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No fun if it does'nt work!, 19 May 2012
By 
Martin Arsenio (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
After being able to play the game for some days, it suddenly has problems loading, and starting the game all together.

I have searched on the internet and it seems like a general problem.

tried deleting all the saved files to no avail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive dissapointment, 14 April 2012
By 
N. Peacock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
After playing 1 and 2; 2 being the penultimate - so realistic to the point that the dead soldiers wobble as you run over them this game fell flat. The baddies run aroud like they are on a track; won't die and it seems the only method of combat is to punch them to death! And I've noticed that once you evade certain enimies they ALL dissaper?!! AND Elenor looks different? Huge dissapointment - the movement of Drake is stiff - seems to go in to animation far more than the actual game play. Characters don't look as life like and the whole this seems to have taken a huge step back. Plus I have never seen so many guns lying about. Overall repetitive; not realistically challenging - dissapointingly basic and honestly a big let down. Glad I didnt by it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't Wait!!!, 10 Nov 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
I can't wait to get a copy of this game. I bought Uncharted 2 a few years back, and it was an incredible game, with in-depth game play and epic cinematic cut scenes. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame there are no zero stars., 6 Jun 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
Finished this game 20 mins ago and it is quite possibly the worst "game" I have ever played.

This is not a game, it is simply a film where you occasionally join in and press X and triangle. Yes, the graphics are good (most films are) and yes the story is good (some films are) but this is supposed to be a game where you control the character and frankly, I wouldn't class "simply pressing X" as controlling anything. The movement of the character is so rigid and contrived as to be untrue. I thought Final Fantasy games were linear but this is taking it to a new level.

You can tell that most of the effort has been put into the way this game looks by the way the PS3 fan comes on within 2 minutes of starting the game (even the latest Harry Potter one took 10 minutes before it started blowing). It's a shame really as the story is quite entertaining but if I wanted that, I could watch Indiana Jones...again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a PS3 owner and you don't have Uncharted 3......you're not considered a gamer!!!!, 2 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) (Video Game)
The campaign is breathtaking, exiting and remarkable, the co-op is just as great and Multiplayer is outstanding, Naughty Dog never fail to make such amazing video games such as this!!! Great job ND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 138 39 40 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3)
Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
8.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews