Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick Creepy Thriller
Much, much better than some reviewers would have you believe. If you loved Hammer's black and white thrillers of the 50s and 60s, then you'll love The Resident. The photography by Guillermo Navarro is beautifully shot and the direction is slick. The film reminded me of Hammer's The Snorkel, with its creepy, quite believable villain. The story builds the tension and has a...
Published on 2 July 2011 by T. Turner

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Resident
Hammer have a long illustrious history of making camp gory horror films. Unfortunately their return doesnt stand up to some of their all time classics. The main problem with The Resident is the total lack of suspense. The film starts off promisingly enough with a suitably creepy apartment and sets up some bizarre characters with the underused Hammer stalwart Christopher...
Published on 19 Nov 2011 by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Resident, 19 Nov 2011
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Resident [DVD] (DVD)
Hammer have a long illustrious history of making camp gory horror films. Unfortunately their return doesnt stand up to some of their all time classics. The main problem with The Resident is the total lack of suspense. The film starts off promisingly enough with a suitably creepy apartment and sets up some bizarre characters with the underused Hammer stalwart Christopher Lee playing a neighbour harbouring some sort of secret. However his character is so fleeting he comes and goes with nothing happening in between. The decision to reveal the villain so early in the film is so badly judged it takes all the suspense and any creepiness of the situation out of it. The film then degenerates into a pretty standard stalker story with very little in the way of original set pieces. The characters have very little back story which does not allow you to care much for what happens to them. Thats not to say the film is a disaster. Its funs whilst it lasts and with a running time of 92 minutes, it doesnt out stay its welcome. Its just dissapointing as so much more could have been done with it. It could have been creepier, there could have been more of a mystery as to who the villain is if it had not been revealed in the first 30 minutes and certainly Christopher Lee could have had a larger role. A little more time over the story and characters would have gone a long way to making this a must see. As it stands this remains a film to catch if there is nothing better to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick Creepy Thriller, 2 July 2011
By 
T. Turner (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Resident [DVD] (DVD)
Much, much better than some reviewers would have you believe. If you loved Hammer's black and white thrillers of the 50s and 60s, then you'll love The Resident. The photography by Guillermo Navarro is beautifully shot and the direction is slick. The film reminded me of Hammer's The Snorkel, with its creepy, quite believable villain. The story builds the tension and has a satisfying end. The cast are all terrific here, with a lovely small part for the beloved Christopher Lee and strong performances from Hilary Swank and the amazing Jeffrey Dean Morgan! I would welcome more twisted thrillers from the revitalized Hammer. Check out the Icons Of Suspense set for a taste of what I'm talking about. All in all, well worth watching. My partner was suitably impressed too! Can't wait for The Woman In Black!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat Thriller from Hammer, 1 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Resident [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Hammer Films continues its revival with this sick little thriller starring the always watchable Hilary Swank. She plays a rather bruised city doctor who is trying to move on from her cheating husband (Lee Pace in a bland, underdeveloped role). She rents a beautiful loft apartment from Jeffrey Dean Morgan, where all kinds of wrong start to happen. Initially romantic between them, it is quickly revealed that Swank's new landlord is a very dark soul with a very unhealthy sexual obsession with her.

This is a straight-forward, old-fashioned thriller with a bit of an edge (you'll feel the edge when you see some of the things Morgan doesn't!) and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Hardly a classic but a great Saturday night in movie.

Christopher Lee's role is extremely minimal, but still a lovely tribute to the Hammer of old.
Swank gives it her all, as she does with any role she takes on and it is great to see an actress of her calibre trying out genre films like this, especially the jaded thriller. Grey's Anatomy fans may never look at Jeffrey Dean Morgan in quite the same way again. He is fantastic here, creating a character with depth, and a fairly realistic villain.

Looking at Hammer's official website, it doesn't look like they have any new films in production beyond their next, 'The Woman in Black' starring Daniel Radcliffe. Hoping they manage to keep going, as it really is great to have old-school spooky flicks back, in a way that only Hammer can deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A-LIST ACTORS IN A "B" MOVIE, 19 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Resident [DVD] (DVD)
This is your classic "B" grade peeper movie with high priced actors. Hillary Swank plays an ER doctor looking for an apartment. She finds the idea place with a good looking landlord. The drawback is that Christopher Lee also lives there. The movie then shows you blurred views of Hillary naked from camera angles that make you think she is being watched. It also makes good use of shadows and noises to add to the effect that someone is in her apartment. Unfortunately this doesn't last long as the peeper/creeper is revealed way too soon, and it is not Eric Roberts. The movie short changes us on the nudity/sex scenes normally in a B grade movie and opts to give us some groping. They attempted to create a first class peeper film, but fell way short. I can't believe Hillary Swank isn't getting better movie offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'TRULY CREEPY', 30 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Resident [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's great to see ''Hammer'' back on the scene again bringing their style of 'Horror' to our screens.
Remember watching many of their efforts in years gone by, ''Nice'' touch including one of the great 'icon's' of the horror-scene 'Dracula' star---'Christopher Lee' as 'August'
In this effort 'HIlary Swank' ( Million Dollar Baby ) plays 'Juliet Devereau' a hospital surgeon who thinking she's found an ideal appartment becomes the victim of the landlord 'Max's' (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) obsession.
A dark tale which will hold your attention.....worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average at best, 19 Jan 2012
By 
H. keningale "h kay" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Resident [DVD] (DVD)
I approached The Resident completely unsure what to expect, I didn't have high hopes but wanted to give it a go. I must also mention that I held no store by the Hammer label because they are not going to be producing the same sort of films this time around.

The characters had potential, and the relationship that developed between the two main characters was quite engaging at first, however it was not amazing by any standards. I kept looking at certain elements of the plot and finding them to be unbelievable, disappointing, or just a little silly. I don't want to give away the plot, but suffice it to say the blurb on the back of the box is fairly inaccurate in giving you the impression that the main cause of this woman's problems is that she fails to change the lock on her door. That, in my opinion, would have been a better film.

The ending is where I really fell out with this film, as it becomes simply ludicrous, with the bad guy becoming an almost Jason Vorhees style character (he just keeps getting up!).

I would say rent this film, or watch it on T.V but don't waste your money as it is not rewatchable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tame, 6 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resident [DVD] (DVD)
Ok,i'm a huge Hammer fan and was delighted to hear they're back.I just thought this film was a bit to predictable,slow moving and not much in the way of suprises.Its not a bad film,but just not my cup of tea,but hey thats just my view.Worth a look,but do'nt expect the Hammer of old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid, slightly derivative outing for Hammer films, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Resident [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Hilary Swank is the ace in the pack for the solid but slightly derivative outing from Hammer films. An actress of her talent and calibre can't help raising the quality of 'decent' material into the realm of 'very good. It helps that her character, an ER nurse looking to relocate after a bad breakup with her boyfriend, is decently written. Partnering her with Morgan is a stroke of genius, as he's capable of the kind of balance between deep kindliness and instability that leaves you siding for him one moment, and then against him the next. Christopher Lee is really just in the film to flesh it out and tip a hat to the Hammer legacy, but this is Swank's movie, and she shines as the doctor who begins to fear that someone may be messing with her life in ways she can't imagine.
The direction is also first rate, with a cleverly scripted 'and this is how it happened' storytelling shift about a third of the way in, and some excellently wrought revelations and tension, as well as a very satisfying ending.
It borrows heavily from every other home-invasion/stalker thriller you've ever seen, but it re-creates them with such a distinctive passion and verve that you'll enjoy it all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 28 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: The Resident [DVD] (DVD)
Average at best. This psycho thriller starts off well enough, but descends into every thriller cliche imaginable by the end.

Anyone who has watched Fatal attraction, Pacific heights or Single white female will be on familiar ground here as Hilary Swank moves into new apartment and attracts the atten4ion of the at first nice friendly landlord.

Not bad but only average, still at a short run time it does breeze by and is passable as a thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and I wasn't disappointed! It is a great film, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resident [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film on a whim after being unable to put the book down for more than a minute, and I wasn't disappointed ! It is a great film, although the book goes into much more detail about why Juliet moves out and the story between her and her other half, but hey ho. It is a real suspense-filled film that kept me on the edge of my sofa, and make sure the doors and windows were locked at night :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Resident [Blu-ray]
The Resident [Blu-ray] by Antti Jokinen (Blu-ray - 2011)
£8.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews