Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully produced album, 28 Feb 2011
By 
Dr.D.Treharne (Exeter, Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
The voice of Asa is only one third of the reason why this album will be lauded when it's English release rolls around, months after it's been generally available in Europe. A second reason is the wonderful production by Benjamin Constant who produced it, and avoided the temptation that many would have fallen into of over complicating what is in the mix. 'Sparse' is an over used word, but this exemplifies what sparse production ought to do, which is to concentrate on the performance at the heart of the songs.When extra sounds are required they are added sparingly, listen to the trombone on "Why can't we" or the strings on "Baby gone".It also helps that guitarist Roman Chelminski is imbued with the same sparing qualities, seldom pushing the vocals out of the spotlight. Asa herself brings something different to every track as well, and the album has several songs in her native tongue, my favourite of which is "Bimpe".She's going to have to get used to attempts to compare her to other 'jazz singers', but this album has qualities that mark her out as no mere copyist of anyone elses style. If you haven't heard the album, you're in for a real treat, and it's even worth treating yourself to it ahead of its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
brilliant album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its growing on me, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
I loved the first album instantly, this one is growing on me,the more I play it, Asa voice as beautiful as always, just not as funky as the first album, a little more layed back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully perfect album!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (MP3 Download)
beautiful album, one of my best albums! just became a number 1 fan! Asa`s voice and soul makes each song a soothing experience for the ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (MP3 Download)
Clever, beautifully performed, emotionally engaging, this is a special set of songs. Was on the CD player for a week when it first arrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doubly perfect, 29 May 2013
By 
Hertsgirl (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
The music is good and varied, the lyrics are soul searching, the album is soul stirring. I love the ballards sung in Yoruba
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No, not perfect, but pretty darn good, 19 Sep 2012
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
Born in Paris to Nigerian parents, there are a range of flavours Bukola Elemide could have brought to the musical table. But perhaps weighing up airplay potential, the singer-songwriter known as Așa has chosen to stick firmly in the soul-pop brackets for her second album. The exoticism of Lagos, where she cut her teeth as a performer, crops up merely in the odd off-kilter lyric or instrumental flourish.
Instead breezy pop and lazy grooves dominate, the tunes nodding along to acoustic guitar upstrokes and bouncy bass lines that sound like they were dashed up around a beach campfire. Elemide's vocal delivery is spot on, equal parts soul and drawl; balancing technique with a witty, conversational familiarity, while her sketched-on-a-bus lyrics teeter dangerously between whimsy and banality. Perhaps tellingly, it is three tunes sung in native Yoruba that emote most.
The album doesn't overflow with either beauty or imperfection, but it's hardly a Trading Standards matter. Thanks to killer arrangements and nifty timing, Be My Man, Bimpé and Broda Olé are likely to be troubling the summer download charts soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Near Perfect, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
This is one Album I can listen to ALL DAY without getting bored! Asa has such unique output that its difficult to compare her to any other. It is just as good as her previous album, Asha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MaryA, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
I heard this album for the first time in my sister's car when I went to Nigeria, I just loved it! we played it over and over again how refreshing it is to listen to some unique music from Nigeria. I have bought the CD and will certainly get her other album too. I just love Asa's voice. It's about time we listen to some serious melodious music. its great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go On Treat Yourself!!, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Imperfection (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing the opening track on the radio - and just loved it, so (unusually for me) took a chance and bought the CD, and it has been (for me) one of the CD's of 2010/2011 - it is just one beautiful listen - Happy, Sad, Introvert, extrovert, and so damn catchy...you find yourself singing the songs as you're wandering around the supermarket or in the bath or...where ever you find yourself...the whole album just has such a gorgeous 'Feel' to it...production is pared down, basic but cool and crystal clear - in this instance less is definitely more - so much more....if any of you can remember Linda Lewis (Lark, In Deep etc) then Asa voice reminds me of that, but with more 'soul'...Highly Recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews