Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational
Lucas Radabe's story is a true rags to riches tale. This book not only explains why he is a hero for all leeds united fans but also presents a fascinating insighe into south africa during the appartheid era. Leeds fans will love this book and so too will anyone who has an intrest in sport or south african history.
Published on 23 Sept. 2010 by dominic fowler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Leeds Legend - A Poor Book
As a life long fan of Leeds United I regard Lucas Radebe as one of Leeds United legends but this book does not live up to that tag. I found the book revealed less than it should about the early days of his life and there are only little snippets in the book. Once again it defaults to a Leeds United history from Lucas's viewpoint which was interesting but dissapointing...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by MIKE in UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 23 Sept. 2010
Lucas Radabe's story is a true rags to riches tale. This book not only explains why he is a hero for all leeds united fans but also presents a fascinating insighe into south africa during the appartheid era. Leeds fans will love this book and so too will anyone who has an intrest in sport or south african history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 15 Nov. 2010
Ok. Being a life long Leeds fan, I so wanted to read this. Lucas Radebe is probably the nicest guy to ever play pro football, and could well be the best centre back since the great Bobby Moore.

The quote on the cover is no joke. Nelson Mandela loves Lucas, and the UN made him an ambassador for sport all over the world.

Reading this book is a very humbling experience. Radebe came from nowhere and proved that talent can take you anywhere. His story could be a lesson to us all. Superb, majestic footballer, and a wonderful human being.

Whoever you support, read this book. It will make you think about all the overpaid prima donnas in the Prem who are not fit to lace this man's boots

Lucas - if you see this, you are a legend. Your name is still chanted at Elland Road. I wish you were still playing.

READ THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Great Man, 3 Dec. 2010
A great book about one of the recent Leeds United legends. The man is an inspiration. His story, from his humble childhood in Soweto, to captaining both his club through their most successful periods when they were again competing for european glory, and also his country in the World Cup, is an inspiration.

The book is well written and gives a good insight into the character of the man. Torn between loyalty to club and country, and also dealing with both success and tragedy, it makes for an interesting read.

I would recommend this to any Leeds fan, and also to anyone who wishes to learn about a truly inspirational sportsman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good, 13 Mar. 2011
bought for my husband who is a leeds united fan especially when they were a great team. he really enjoyed this and found it a wonderful insight into life and football
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LUCAS...From the streets of Soweto to soccer superstar (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book providing great insights into a true Leeds legend, I couldn't put the book down and thoroughly enjoyed reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top book about a top man, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LUCAS...From the streets of Soweto to soccer superstar (Kindle Edition)
Will there ever be a player with so much integrity again. I hope we see him again at Leeds before long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A South African Warrior, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LUCAS...From the streets of Soweto to soccer superstar (Kindle Edition)
The Chief is a gentleman first and foremost, but also a genuine club legend. Radebe has always been a hero of mine, and somebody that I respect. He is a football player that I admire as a person and a player: a genuine role-model. I tell my children about Radebe's career at Leeds United, in the same way that my dad and grandad told me about Bremner, Charlton, Hunter, and Giles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read., 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a real "Rags to Riches" story in more ways than one.It will make you realise that not all modern day football players have or have had it easy all their life.This is the story of a true warrior who must be admired.Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LUCAS...From the streets of Soweto to soccer superstar (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this. A real personality who's made the best of his life and talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not read yet but liked him as a plater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews