Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland
This was an incredibly inspiring and thought provoking book. The kindness displayed by the population of Gander to so many people who were passengers on the planes that could not enter US air space is overwhelming. I was touched by many of the stories - Orthodox Jewish people, and the the story of the Jewish chap who had lived in Newfoundland since the War years and not...
Published on 23 Aug 2007 by Anglers Rest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you don't know how wonderful the New Foundland people are before you read this you will afterwards.
Hoped this was going to be an interesting read about events at the time but instead it got steadily more boring as I ploughed through it. It starts by telling you how wonderful the Newfies are and keeps telling you this all the way through. I'm struggling to finish the book as it's become tedious. Sorry but that's my review.
Published 2 months ago by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Anglers Rest (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This was an incredibly inspiring and thought provoking book. The kindness displayed by the population of Gander to so many people who were passengers on the planes that could not enter US air space is overwhelming. I was touched by many of the stories - Orthodox Jewish people, and the the story of the Jewish chap who had lived in Newfoundland since the War years and not told his wife he was Jewish, the lady who left complete strangers in her home to shower inviting them to rest and relax and to simply close the door when they left. The trust of the Newfoundlanders during a time filled with mistrust was amazing. Not to mention the story of the young couple bringing back to the US their adopted daughter and of course the couple whose son was a firefighter in New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Aug 2009
I came across this book at the recommendation of Billy Connolly. (He mentions it in his book 'Journey to the Edge of the World'). I promptly ordered this book from the local library. An astounding account of how 38 jetliners landed in Gander on September 11, 2001 and how the town, and surrounding towns, came to the aid of over 6000 stranded strangers. How people emptied their closets of clothes and towels, cooked for the 'plane people', manned phones, offered use of telephones and internet, threw parties for childrens birthdays and opened up their homes and hearts to everyone. What wonderful people there are in Newfoundland!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant uplifting story, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful little book about people helping those in need at a time when we all thought the world had gone mad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very moving book.
Honest, sincere real people.
It makes you proud to be a member of the human race,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 911 GANDER NEWFOUNDLAND, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland (Kindle Edition)
THIS ACCOUNT OF THE EVENTS OF WORLD-CHANGING EVENTS OF SEPTEMBER 11 2001 BROUGHT BACK MANY MEMORIES FOR ME - I WAS LIVING IN NEWFOUNDLAND AT THE TIME IN ST. .JOHN'S - AND I HAD RELATIVES VISITING FROM THE UK WHO WERE CAUGHT UP IN ALL THE CHAOS AROUND FLIGHTS, ETC.
THIS BOOK ILLUSTRATES THE KINDNESS, GOODWILL AND COMMUNITY OF THE PEOPLE OF GANDER AND OF NEWFOUNDLAND. AND ITS RESOURCEFULNESS IN ALL SITUATIONS.
THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland (Kindle Edition)
A previously untold story fabulously written. Wonderful stories that I enjoyed learning about tremendously. Great inclusion of photos too! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hope for Humanity, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book can be seen as a compilation of small stories but will end up adding to a strong message of collective altruism and kindness.
The writing is easy to follow and will give yo a sense of proximity to the stories depicted.

I surely would like to visit Newfoundland and take a taste of the welcoming qualities of its people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars story of hope and humanity, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland (Kindle Edition)
This story should be read by everybody everywhere. It is about people doing for other people everything possible in times when hope seemed to have died. It is hard to believe in. It makes you want to cry from joy. It makes you laugh. It makes you think. And it makes you ponder: how the hell, in the era of computers, Facebook, Twitter and all that crap, I have never heard of it before?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to cry!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland (Kindle Edition)
I saw the film (with David Suchet) and loved the story. This did not make me cry any less. It never fails to amaze me how kind and generous people are if we just give them the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you don't know how wonderful the New Foundland people are before you read this you will afterwards., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland (Kindle Edition)
Hoped this was going to be an interesting read about events at the time but instead it got steadily more boring as I ploughed through it. It starts by telling you how wonderful the Newfies are and keeps telling you this all the way through. I'm struggling to finish the book as it's become tedious. Sorry but that's my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews