Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missed Gem, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Follow up to Strangers series from Granada. Mainly filmed around Manchester with Beech Road filling in for Shanghai Road, with subtle signs placed to give the illusion of London.
Never intended to be like The Sweeney, George Bulman and sidekick Lucy (also appering in the latest series of Taggart)go round solving cases like a fast food cartel and antique robbery, along with some under cover work for the Ministry. Some nice light hearted humour particularly between George & Lucy.
Many characters from the latter series of Strangers pop up again in this series and also series 2.
Don Henderson at his gravely voiced best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bulman - Series 1....AT LAST!!!, 1 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It was about time Bulman was released on DVD as it was hardly repeated much after it's initial run in the mid-eighties. So finally it is available to the masses on DVD and I have to say it is worth the wait.

The late great Don Henderson plays George Bulman of XYY Man & Stranger's fame. Bulman is retired from the force and earning a living as a clock repairer and private investigator with his apprentice Lucy McGinty (played by the gorgeous Siobhan Redmond).

The episodes are great fun to watch. The serious business of solving the crimes are interspersed with moments of humour in the show. Both Don & Siobhan have a great chemistry together which makes the series great fun. Highly recommended.

Now let's get series 2 out on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, thank you!! Network and Granada TV., 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Armed with any combination of plastic shopping bag, gloves, quotes, scarf, poetry, inhaler, wit and WILL POWER T-shirt - retired DCI George K. Bulman (the superb and greatly missed Don Henderson) is back for the last time (13 episodes in this box and 7 more in Bulman The Complete Series 2). This time as a private detective when not repairing clocks.

I'm usually not in the habit of granting 5-star reviews to DVD box sets that contain no subtitles and no extras, as I feel these should be basic features, However in that case I'll deviate from this practice, as I simply can't let anything interfere with the 5 star rating this masterpiece deserves.

Together with Lucy McGinty (great Siobhan Redmond) this duo shines with their chemistry over the whole series.

I've seen Bulman only once during the 80's, and yet it used to resonate in my head for all these years, and I always wished I would one day be able to watch it again. I'm therefore grateful to Network for releasing it on DVD after all these years. I'm sure their profit from this release is marginal at best, and I can understand their reluctance to invest in this product anything more than in the actual transfer.

Regarding the transfer - I find it fairly good. It seems they did their best, given the nature of the archive footage. I'm sure I didn't have a better experience watching the TV broadcasts back in the 80's. At some points the video and audio track are slightly out of sync, but generally It's OK.

The series stands very well the test of time, although the plots are occasionally somewhat naive.
Thankfully the plots play second fiddle to the characters, dialogues and overall atmosphere.

With so many funny moments this could easily be tagged as a comedy-drama rather than police-detective.

Great music by Dick Walter.

The set comes in a standard 1 cm thick plastic box that usually contains one or two discs, but is designed in this case to hold four, each containing 3-4 episodes, with a menu for episode selection (no scene selection), and as I mentioned before - no extras or subtitles. The back of the inner cover contains synopsis and original broadcast dates for each of the episodes.

Overall I'm so happy to have it now, and find it highly re-watchable.

There's no age classification on the product details, but I'm afraid it's somewhere around 40... :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABOUT TIME !, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a totally wonderful and quirky series featuring Don Hendersons character from STRANGERS.
Having retired from ' the Job ' George Kitchener Bulman sets up his dream - a clock repair shop - but old habits die hard and he is soon embroiled in his old line of work - which interferes with him getting his sign painted on the front of the shop to say the least. This is one series that had me pulling on my invisible gray wool gloves every week !
Outstanding performances by lead cast and guest characters all the way through the shows entire run. Highly recommended viewing. Fantastic to see it out on dvd - - THANK YOU !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bulman's Back, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Originally transmitted in 1985, Series 1 of Bulman saw the return of Don Henderson as George Kitchener Bulman, now appearing in his third series, following the XYY Man and Strangers.

In Bulman, George has retired from the police and has bought an antiques shop, where he plans to devote his time to restoring antique clocks. The arrival of the headstrong Lucy McGinty (Siobhan Redmond) causes a change in his plans, and somewhat reluctantly he finds himself drawn into the dangerous world of a private eye.

Nine of the thirteen episodes are scripted by Murray Smith, who wrote the bulk of the Strangers series. He certainly understood the character of Bulman, and all of his story hallmarks are present and correct. These include occasionally oblique plotting where nothing is quite what it seems, these traits are particularly present in those stories where the Whitehall "spook" Dugdale (Thorley Walters) is involved.

It is a shame to have lost the strong supporting cast of Strangers, although both Mark McManus and Dennis Blanch do make brief appearances. Siobhan Redmond makes a positive impression as Lucy though. Prior to this she was probably best known for her appearance on the sketch show Alfresco, alongside the likes of Fry & Laurie, Ben Elton and Robbie Coltrane.

Highlights of the series include "One of our Pigeons is Missing" where Bulman once again goes undercover as a tramp, in order to solve a particularly vicious murder and the season finale "A Man of Conviction" which sees George in prison, where he risks his life in an attempt to trap a gangland villain.

With notable guest appearances from the likes of Freddie Jones, George Sewell, Alfred Lynch, Sheila Hancock and Peter Wyngarde, this is a strong set of episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky but Good, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyably eccentric 80s series, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A successful spin-off from Strangers of a very well developed character (although Don Henderson's Bulman role first appeared in The XYY Man, there was little sign there of more than a nasty grumpy detective). The 13 episodes on this DVD unleash the Bulman personna with good acting, sparky dialogue and some good storylines - although there are a few dud episodes in the mix. Overall it was fun to revisit, but I'm not convinced it deserves quite as much fulsome praise as given by other reviews. It is a lot better than the 2nd series, which descended into stupid silliness too often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i enjoyed watching it & better than most of the rubbish on tv these days no problems with the service provided
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
always enjoyed bulman on tv never missed an episode brilliant don't make TV like this nowadays time stopped in our house when he was on tues afternoon or sat evening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must watch t-v classic., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
a great t-v cop show with some fine actors in it. and the late great don Henderson in the title role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD]
Bulman - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] by Don Henderson (DVD - 2013)
£21.97
Usually dispatched within 6 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews