Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio Line Out
Something nobody really mentions re: the capabilities of ASUS monitors is the importance of the earphone jack. This is essentially a stereo line out. Claims you will find on the internet that speakers cannot be plugged into an earphone jack are absolute rubbish. I'm telling you as a sound engineer. If you have any pair of active speakers (i.e. they power themselves (they...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, fiddly to adjust but good value if your persevere
I bought this monitor mainly because the Asus 228H monitor that came with my recent computer upgrade was just a little on the small side (it has now been relegated to lesser duties) despite being an excellent monitor in other respects. Certainly it took an hour or so to find the best adjustment of brightness/contrast, but, once done, I was very pleased with it...
Published 24 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio Line Out, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
Something nobody really mentions re: the capabilities of ASUS monitors is the importance of the earphone jack. This is essentially a stereo line out. Claims you will find on the internet that speakers cannot be plugged into an earphone jack are absolute rubbish. I'm telling you as a sound engineer. If you have any pair of active speakers (i.e. they power themselves (they need to be plugged in)) you can use this "earphone jack" to totally bypass the monitor speakers and use the speakers you want to. The monitor audio input sources are a) via the 3.5mm in socket, and/or, b) from HDMI.

In this way I have my Xbox connected by HDMI and am then 'routing on' the audio contained in the HDMI signal out of the earphone jack, into my audio interface, and then into my 12" active speakers. I could just run the earphone jack output using a 3.5mm stereo plug at one end to two 1/4" jacks (left and right) into each speaker directly but my interface lets me control lots of ins and outs for other purposes. You could even take the 3.5mm audio out and go into an amplifier/AV receiver and then into passive (non-powered) speakers. At the end of the day you just need a cable that is 3.5mm stereo one end to whatever connections you need the other side.

The point of this review is that the audio features of this monitor mean that you can have an HDMI picture, and, great sound too - making it ideal for a multimedia setup outwith standard PC use.

In terms of the picture, you will have to mess around with the various 'splendid' settings and then fine-tune contrast, brightness etc yourself from there. The standard modes are typically too bright, too contrasted etc - basically 'extremes'. Once optimised the screen is excellent.

I chose this over an VE278Q after much deliberation. I moved up from a 22" 1680x1050. This VE247H made a huge difference because of the extra pixels. I have a very deep desk and still I'm glad I didn't get a 27" monitor now. Obviously the 24" is sharper at the same resolution (smaller pixels). On the desk it is big enough that your are focusing on a section of the screen (and have to move'lean back to see it all), and at 2-3 metres it fills your line of vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asus 24 Inch LED Widescreen Monitor Review!, 8 July 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
24 inches in my view is the optimum size for a computer monitor, if you have the space that is! I now own two of these and the quality really is impressive. It features LED technology so the image quality is super bright and clarity is faultless and because it's LED based it uses very little power over the course of the day. It's ideal especially for gamers as the response time is rated at 2ms which is very impressive and of course the screen can display in full HD (1920x1080p).

The screen can be tilted upwards to suit as many locations as possible. Construction wise it feels very sturdy and the base doesn't feel like it can be knocked over easily. All the buttons you require are located on the bottom right and at the back you have Power, HDMI, DVI and VGA ports. They include both DVI and VGA cables in the box so you can use it straight of of the box.

Other things worth nothing are that this screen does have a built in speaker, it's not fantastic but is pretty impressive for a display of this size and price.

Verdict: If you're looking for a new computer monitor then i would certainly recommend this one to you. It feels well made and the image quality is second to none being in glorious 1080p. When you factor in that it has a speaker and can be tilted i have nothing negative to say about it. The fact it includes a 3 year guarantee makes the price even better in my view!

RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, fiddly to adjust but good value if your persevere, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
I bought this monitor mainly because the Asus 228H monitor that came with my recent computer upgrade was just a little on the small side (it has now been relegated to lesser duties) despite being an excellent monitor in other respects. Certainly it took an hour or so to find the best adjustment of brightness/contrast, but, once done, I was very pleased with it.

So, I upgraded to the 247H as its slightly bigger brother and the slightly larger text on the screen, while retaining true HD resolution at 1920x1080, has made all the difference.

However, where the 228H took an hour to set up, the 247H frustrated me for 2 days. The fiddly, counter intuitive, control buttons don't help, as others have mentioned - but I'd already mastered these on the 22 inch screen, so that wasn't the main problem. The difficulty was getting a good balance of brightness and contrast that didn't leave the screen looking washed out or too harsh. There are plent of options in the OSD menu but, frankly, most of them are pretty useless. The pre-set modes all tend to be far too bright and low contrast. Even tweaking the settings in user mode or changing colour temperature failed, over and over again, to give me a screen I felt I could live with using the DVI input. I almost decided to revert to VGA as it has slightly more options for adjustment.

Indeed, I almost gave up altogether and was thinking of returning the monitor. As a last resort I went into the display settings of my graphics card, something I've only rarely ever done with previous displays. Incorporated in the advanced display settings were further adjustments for the monitor display, which was correctly identified. Leaving the monitor itself on the best settings I had been able to find, I tweaked the advanced display management controls and, within fifteen minutes, had a set of images I was very happy with.

I guess that shows that the monitor is capable of a very good display but the controls on the screen itself seem to lack the fine sensitivity to get the best result. Combining them with adjusting the output of the graphics card, however, seems to allow for that extra finesse that brings out the best in the display. I can't help feeling, though, that the controls on the monitor itself should be rather better.

So, if at first you can't get a brightness/contrast/colour saturation level that suits you, do try your graphics options on your computer. The monitor is certainly capable of a good display but you have to work at it. One further thing I've noticed is that viewing angle is fairly critical - more so than I expected. Brightness and contrast fall off quite quickly with modest head movement. Not a major issue but a further niggle.

Hence the reason for 3 rather than 4 stars. Although the final result was a good 4 stars in terms of value for money on this display, the amount of fiddling required was enough to bring it down a notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VE247H, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
Really good colours, the base of the screen also means it will not wobble around. Although there was a problem when i used the hdmi cable to connect it up. The colours were very washed out while using the hdmi cable, but as soon as i switched to the dvi cable that is included the, colours were normal. Not sure why this is, but just letting people know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead happy., 20 Sep 2011
By 
Peter Williamson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
Low power consumption, mainly because it uses LED technology I guess. Picture quality is also top-notch, colours especially. You will not get a better monitor for this about of money. It's also just won best on test in Novembers ed of PC Pro Mag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asus monitor review full HD, 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
A cracking good monitor that loads very quickly and is very clear. Size matters that is why I selected the 24" and have no regrets. Price was a factor and they were very reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Everybody Should be Happy with this Monitor, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
For the price you get a great monitor for writing your report or for playing your favorite game. For the fussy professional there may be drawbacks that frankly I would never notice. You get what you pay for and I have no need to pay more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent monitor, use it with my Mac, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
Length:: 4:16 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
Good for games and general movie viewing (wouldn't recommend sticking with the inbuilt speakers even though they aren't that bad)You get what you pay for and nothing else, so its a good buy, but there are other monitors now which are better for a similar price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead pixel, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS VE247H 24 inch LED Widescreen Full HD 1080p Support with HDMI 2ms Response Time Splendid? Video Intelligence Technology (Accessory)
Screen itself is not bad at all, though I had a dead pixel on arrival, so packed everything and sent back.
Amazon really good with handling the case, first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews