Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 July 2011
I seem to be alone in this opinion, but this was incredibly disappointing after Save The World....and that was a little disappointing after Under The Fog.

The novel King Blues Sound has vanished to be replaced with irritating pop music. The well written and witty lyrics have vanished to be replaced with cliches and silly, misinformed rants against easy targets (how many times to bankers and bonuses get mentioned?)

5 Bottles of Shampoo is excellent, but sadly spoiled somewhat by the backing track. Shooting Fascists could have been so much better. As it stands, it's too short.

I found this album excruciating to listen to. I suppose all bands change direction and I'm just one of the fans The King Blues had to leave behind.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I first heard this band when one of their tracks was used in a local soap on T.V. I was using the computer and heard the song in the background, Googled the lyrics and started collecting their albums.

There's a few great tunes on here and some good ones which could be great but are a little short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
First off, it's a cool album sleeve.

It hooked me when I saw it on the underground and I repaired immediately to Spotify to see what this is all about. Superb: genuinely new, imaginative, broad minded and angry music - angry in the way that young men in rock 'n' roll bands should be and, frankly, haven't been for far too long.

The first impression I had was of Rage Against the Machine, (courtesy of the second track on the album) but it quickly settles down ino a different groove and I think the Clash and the Specials are a much closer fit. These guys are very British, very London, there's punk, reggae, ska, ukuleles straight forward rock n roll here with - and this might be offensive to pretty much everyone's sensibilities one way or another - a dash of Lennon & McCartney thrown in for seasoning. For all their urban streetness (and there's plenty of that), The King Blues somehow extract that strand of winsome eccentricity that makes this wonderful country such a unique place. I'm now working through the back catalogue, and I recommend you do too.

Game changing music.

Olly Buxton
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
I wasnt blown away by the previous album. But this is utterly splendid! I listened to it pretty much every day for weeks. Perfect mix of angry political shouting, but mixed with self depreciating humour and ska pop punk melodies. These guys care, they care a lot but they dont take themselves too seriously. They are honest good hearted people making honest good hearted music about the things they care about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
Punk & Poetry is the third studio album from The King Blues, and once again it proves better than their last. Last Of The Dreamers sets the tone for the album, leading into We Are F**king Angry, a rioting anthem for the 'students, workers and unemployed.' Set The World On Fire is reminiscent of The King Blues in their Save The World Get The Girl era. Dancehall is a short interlude of spoken word, breaking from the pace of the album so far. The Future's Not What It Used To Be picks up from the previous tracks, leading into I Want You, a rocking, upbeat love song. 5 Bottles Of Shampoo has been gaining acclaim at The King Blues' live shows, and here is placed to music without loosing any of its impact. Sex Education makes use of a skanking beat, whilst Shooting Fascists returns to the basics of vocals and ukulele. Headbutt - released last summer - has already become a favourite of fans. Does Anybody Care About Us is a summer anthem declaring that we will not give up. Everything Happens For A Reason is beautiful, heartfelt song about frontman Itch Fox meeting his love and becoming a father.

After all the delays leading up to the belated release date of this album, there were high expectations for it to surpass. And it's fair to say that The King Blues have managed to do just that. 5/5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
Wow, finally something as fresh and punchy as RATM. Brilliant intro, really sets you up for album's powerful display of intolerance towards today's nanny state. Best buy this year!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
It has talk singing as i call it and features punk anrti establisment lyrics aswell as some songs about love and friendship if you like Jamie T, Cage the Elepant... you will like these guys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
very original - love it - the service was excellent it arrived the next day. the cd is awesome a joy to listen to something original, if you liked the clash you will love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Punk and Poetry- a perfect combination. Music that makes you feel something. Nothing beats good songs with real meanings, highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
This is a career defining, justifying album. A true classic that will still be relevant and excellent in decades to come. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.