Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys are very, very, very good
First off, it's a cool album sleeve.

It hooked me when I saw it on the underground and I repaired immediately to Spotify to see what this is all about. Superb: genuinely new, imaginative, broad minded and angry music - angry in the way that young men in rock 'n' roll bands should be and, frankly, haven't been for far too long.

The first impression I...
Published on 20 April 2011 by Olly Buxton

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Immensely Disappointing
I seem to be alone in this opinion, but this was incredibly disappointing after Save The World....and that was a little disappointing after Under The Fog.

The novel King Blues Sound has vanished to be replaced with irritating pop music. The well written and witty lyrics have vanished to be replaced with cliches and silly, misinformed rants against easy targets...
Published on 11 July 2011 by Mr. J. R. Walsh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys are very, very, very good, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
First off, it's a cool album sleeve.

It hooked me when I saw it on the underground and I repaired immediately to Spotify to see what this is all about. Superb: genuinely new, imaginative, broad minded and angry music - angry in the way that young men in rock 'n' roll bands should be and, frankly, haven't been for far too long.

The first impression I had was of Rage Against the Machine, (courtesy of the second track on the album) but it quickly settles down ino a different groove and I think the Clash and the Specials are a much closer fit. These guys are very British, very London, there's punk, reggae, ska, ukuleles straight forward rock n roll here with - and this might be offensive to pretty much everyone's sensibilities one way or another - a dash of Lennon & McCartney thrown in for seasoning. For all their urban streetness (and there's plenty of that), The King Blues somehow extract that strand of winsome eccentricity that makes this wonderful country such a unique place. I'm now working through the back catalogue, and I recommend you do too.

Game changing music.

Olly Buxton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Immensely Disappointing, 11 July 2011
By 
Mr. J. R. Walsh "jonnothemackem" (Lancaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
I seem to be alone in this opinion, but this was incredibly disappointing after Save The World....and that was a little disappointing after Under The Fog.

The novel King Blues Sound has vanished to be replaced with irritating pop music. The well written and witty lyrics have vanished to be replaced with cliches and silly, misinformed rants against easy targets (how many times to bankers and bonuses get mentioned?)

5 Bottles of Shampoo is excellent, but sadly spoiled somewhat by the backing track. Shooting Fascists could have been so much better. As it stands, it's too short.

I found this album excruciating to listen to. I suppose all bands change direction and I'm just one of the fans The King Blues had to leave behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King Blues, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
I first heard this band when one of their tracks was used in a local soap on T.V. I was using the computer and heard the song in the background, Googled the lyrics and started collecting their albums.

There's a few great tunes on here and some good ones which could be great but are a little short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
Punk and Poetry- a perfect combination. Music that makes you feel something. Nothing beats good songs with real meanings, highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
It has talk singing as i call it and features punk anrti establisment lyrics aswell as some songs about love and friendship if you like Jamie T, Cage the Elepant... you will like these guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars punk and poetry, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
very original - love it - the service was excellent it arrived the next day. the cd is awesome a joy to listen to something original, if you liked the clash you will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great energy, great tunes, great album, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable album with lots of angst and catchy hooks. The stand out track for me was 'Set The World on Fire'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
This is a career defining, justifying album. A true classic that will still be relevant and excellent in decades to come. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Punk' and 'Poetry' sums this album up perfectly!, 12 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
I wasnt blown away by the previous album. But this is utterly splendid! I listened to it pretty much every day for weeks. Perfect mix of angry political shouting, but mixed with self depreciating humour and ska pop punk melodies. These guys care, they care a lot but they dont take themselves too seriously. They are honest good hearted people making honest good hearted music about the things they care about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful & Passionate, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Punk and Poetry (Audio CD)
Punk & Poetry is the third studio album from The King Blues, and once again it proves better than their last. Last Of The Dreamers sets the tone for the album, leading into We Are F**king Angry, a rioting anthem for the 'students, workers and unemployed.' Set The World On Fire is reminiscent of The King Blues in their Save The World Get The Girl era. Dancehall is a short interlude of spoken word, breaking from the pace of the album so far. The Future's Not What It Used To Be picks up from the previous tracks, leading into I Want You, a rocking, upbeat love song. 5 Bottles Of Shampoo has been gaining acclaim at The King Blues' live shows, and here is placed to music without loosing any of its impact. Sex Education makes use of a skanking beat, whilst Shooting Fascists returns to the basics of vocals and ukulele. Headbutt - released last summer - has already become a favourite of fans. Does Anybody Care About Us is a summer anthem declaring that we will not give up. Everything Happens For A Reason is beautiful, heartfelt song about frontman Itch Fox meeting his love and becoming a father.

After all the delays leading up to the belated release date of this album, there were high expectations for it to surpass. And it's fair to say that The King Blues have managed to do just that. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punk & Poetry [Explicit]
Punk & Poetry [Explicit] by The King Blues
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews