Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AKUS back on winning form
Paper Airplane marks Alison's fourteenth album and is a storming return to form for the angelic voiced 27 Grammy Award winner and her band Union Station. The title track pretty much has the classic AKUS sound and feel to it and is currently receiving plenty of radio airplay although there are plenty of other gems to be found here. Dust Bowl Children has Dan Tyminski's...
Published on 12 April 2011 by PavlovsDog

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...keine wirkliche Enttäuschung, aber auch keine helle Freude"
(not really a disappointment, but also not an unalloyed pleasure). So said the music critic of the "Basler Zeitung", one of the local rags. I tend not to believe music critics, or indeed art, theatre, cinema and book critics, who appear to write mainly to get "cred" with other critics, and not to inform The Great Unwashed, in comparison with whom they are SO much...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Teemacs


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AKUS back on winning form, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
Paper Airplane marks Alison's fourteenth album and is a storming return to form for the angelic voiced 27 Grammy Award winner and her band Union Station. The title track pretty much has the classic AKUS sound and feel to it and is currently receiving plenty of radio airplay although there are plenty of other gems to be found here. Dust Bowl Children has Dan Tyminski's drawling southern vocals on an upbeat tune if somewhat slightly depressed lyric although it makes for great foot tapping stuff. Lie Awake is a slower and darker song with velvety vocals and subtle fiddle from Alison while Lay My Burden Down comes in as a more upbeat tune with a bleak lyric hidden amongst finger picking guitar. My Love Follows You Where You Go is the real gem on this album with a complex vocal and great hook to the chorus, upbeat and tuneful with angst painted all over it. Classic AKUS. Dimming Of The Day is beautiful cover of the Richard Thompson song reminiscent of "Ghost in this house". On The Outside Looking In is Tyminski's second solo vocal here, bluegrass style aplenty. Miles To Go is an up tempo song with nice Dobro and fiddle work. Sinking Stone is another gem with a more complex vocal and composition than some of the other tunes here. Not strictly a bluegrass sound, more a country/pop tune with a late seventies sound to the vocal and melody. Bonita has Dan Tyminski sing a typical country tune with a western style theme while the final track, My Opening farewell, showcases Alison's vocal ability with smooth storytelling and a medium paced melody. Musicianship throughout the recording is as usual top notch, Jerry Douglas' Dobro sounds even better than ever. This album should see Alison Krauss add a few more Grammy's to her collection. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alison Krauss and Union Station - The gold standard for bluegrass music, 13 April 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
Alison Krauss is effortlessly a class act and one of the great voices of American music. Here on her 14th album and first with Union Station since 2004 she yet again shows that as a vocalist operating in the field of country and bluegrass music that she largely untouchable. You could possibly argue that following the great "Raising Sand" recorded with Robert Plant that an opportunity is missed here for some deeper experimentation which follows some of more raw explorations on that album such as the Tom Waits covers, but really who cares when the songs are this good and that voice quite as beautiful as it is? Krauss and Union Station are have been described as the gold standard for bluegrass music and on "Paper Airplane" you do sense much more of a band effort with three lead vocals undertaken by guitarist Dan Tyminski, and the cover of Peter Rowan's "Dust bowl children" in particular a fine epic of finger picking banjo/guitar and authenticity not heard since the "Oh Brother where art thou" soundtrack was safely tucked into a record sleeve. Tyminski's rustic voice again figures on the bluesy "On the outside looking in" to great effect.

However let us delay no further and get into Krauss territory. When it comes to Richard Thompson's "Dimming of the day" there is already the great original sung by folk queen Linda Thompson with her ex husbands gloriously rugged support, a stellar version by Bonnie Raitt and slightly less fabulous versions by Dave Gilmour and The Corrs. The song could have been written for an aching longing voice like Krauss's and by god does she do it justice with lovely understated country backing from Union Station. It is stunning stuff and an absolute standout. The title track has a beautiful wintry feel and Krauss voice soars on a huge chorus which tugs on your emotions while Jerry Douglas' Dobro playing shows a master in the craft. The cover of Jackson Browne's "My opening farewell" from his debut recorded in 1972, which he has sung in the past as a duet with Bonnie Raitt, is a great folk rock version of the song and when she intones that "There is a train everyday leaving either way" and "We'll soon be gone, its just as well" you feel the pain of parting. On balance the original probably retains a slight edge although Krauss should be thanked for reminding us in turn what great treasure trove can be found in the many Browne albums. Other highlights here include the gentle pair of wistful ballads of which first up is "Lay my burden down" and secondly a song which has the words "country standard" stamped all over it, namely the classic heartbreak ballad "Sinking stone" which again Krauss's voice infuses with the requisite necessary measures of warmth and latent regret. The production of "Paper Airplane" sounds as crisp and clear as a Appalachian stream and the musicianship is located firmly in the premier division (you wouldn't really expect any different). Seeing Alison Krauss live a few years back on stage with Robert Plant performing "Raising sand" and much more live was a thrill and her concert version of "Down to the river to pray" left your reviewer smitten for life. Thus while this album marks a return to more familiar territory it is an evocative collection by Krauss and a band of musicians who are by any standards bluegrass royalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful experience, 14 April 2011
By 
DJW13 (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
Yet another highly professional performance from AKUS. Fans will know what to expect, newcomers will be amazed by the quality which exudes from the various tracks. I would of course have liked to have found more than 11 tracks (especially as there is apparently a deluxe version available in the USA with 6 bonus tracks). Also, I was disappointed that the booklet does not show the lyrics - and these are not yet available on-line from the usual sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What It Says On The Tin, 16 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
The group's posing for this album cover is the most stylised feature of an otherwise simple and unaffected offering.

Paper Airplane is predictable in delivering classic soft and soothing country from Krauss' tender vocals and the immaculate instrumental support of Union Station. The album is to a degree a two-parter with songs proferred by Krauss' sweet singing, and those from Dan Tyminski's more bluegrass vocalese and barn-dance leanings. Nothing new here, and in a sense that's why we like what is performed, time and time again.

A good example of what I am characterising is the unadorned rendition of Richard Thompson's 'Dimming of the Day'. I was waiting for the AK&US hallmark harmony vocals to reference those so vital in this song's original emotive impact, but apart from the gesture of one subdued shared line, the song is a Krauss solo played straight and true and simply. Again, nothing new and nothing wrong here. It's just something I noticed and thought about.

Indeed, the only question one would ask of this perfect latest release is why isn't Alison sharing the shared stare of the others on the album's cover? That's a real poser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 14 April 2011
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
That's the only word for it. There's more emotion in Alison Krauss' voice than a hundred x-factor winners. Union Station, her band, are are consumate musicians. What sort of music is it? I dunno. Bluegrass? Folk? Blues? It's all those. Krauss' wonderful soprano voice carries through with a purity I've rarely heard.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can we say 'finally'?, 13 April 2011
By 
Dan Craggs (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
Over the past few years, it's become obvious to me that Alison Krauss and her band don't just make music, they understand it. That's been absolutely key to the generation of such wonderful structure in their albums and the songs on them. They know when a song needs the traditional touch or when a tune needs Douglas' dobro to smash its way through, and Alison knows when to give way to Tyminski's increasingly rich vocals.

The result is that this album, unsurprisingly, contains a veritable showcase of how music should be made. It most certainly wasn't rushed (that was quite a gap since Lonely Runs Both Ways) and despite Krauss' recent commercialisation it remains solidly grounded. The band know who to call when it comes to production values too, and the result as ever is a warm, full sound that still knows how to be subtle.

The album's eponymous track, Paper Airplane, comes right at the start and does a sterling job of setting the stage. Krauss' almost haunting chorus vocals certainly make you take note, and Robert Lee Castleman's lyrical penmanship is especially noteworthy. Immediately following, we're introduced again to a more traditional bluegrass song from Tyminski who sounds more confident than previously, and rises to the occasion in spectacular fashion when called upon, a total of three times on the record.

Not wanting to go through tracks one by one, stand-out choices for me (other than the title track) would be: My Love Follows You Where You Go, a wonderfully blended tale of heartbreak and eternal longing; On The Outside Looking In, a Tyminski rendition of a Tim O'Brien-penned story about waiting for unrequited love; and Lie Awake, an entrancingly tuned and harmonised song about indecision in a relationship - are you noticing a pattern in subject matter yet?

It almost goes without saying that instrumentally the album is spot-on, with all band members showing true versatility. Similarly, harmony vocals range from punchy to hair-raising; Krauss is lucky to have the gents along for the ride in that regard. However, there's no instrumental! No equivalent to Choctaw Hayride or Unionhouse Branch. Newcomers may appreciate this, die-hards may not. Can we forgive them this once? Probably.

What is there to say in such short order as a summary? The album more than deserves its seat next to the previous successes. Alison Krauss and Union Station never fail to produce something spectacular when they get together. Just... can we not be made to wait over half a decade until the next one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - What a collection of songs !!!!, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
The more I am listening to this new CD there more I like it.
I even drive my wife nuts by pressing the repeat button again and again for some of the songs.
All songs chosen are great for themselves, but it is the up-tempo tracks that I like most, like track 5, 7 and 10.
I am biased for "handmade" music like this, where I clearly can differ between the instruments and each of the members gets his share of a solo in the instrumental bridges in these songs.
All members of the group a good instrumentalists on their instruments, but I have to admit that it is Jerry and his dobro, that I like most and I am getting really excited about to hear.
He is really a genius on his instrument, but acting as a team member on all the tracks.
It is a pity that Alison and her boys needed so much time for this new studio work.
I hope that I do not have to wait that long again......
Anyway - let's not think about that, but enjoy the fantastic music on this cd and Ron's banjo, Dan's guitar & mandolin,the "boom-boom-boom" of the upright bass, Alison's fiddle and String wizzard Jerry on his dobro again and again and again and again ..... :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartwarming, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
well,,i ordered it for christmas but it came early ,so i was unable to refuse myself the pleasure of listening,, and as usual alisons voice just filled me with joy
i think she could sing the phone book and make it good,, i love the whole album and have not yet picked out my most favorite song yet ,,its been played day after day since it arrived ,,,now i am having to check her back cat. to see if i have missed one so christmas i have something to open ,,?// yup i have to buy my own pressies too as on my own ,,lol

but paper airplane?? how do u better that?
only alison can do that so hurry up doll
i am needing my next fix from u honey xxx
i chose my user name as a joke but it seems
cruel to say nobody loves your album i think
eveyone who listens to this will love it xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AKUS Excell, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Paper Airplane (MP3 Download)
The long awaited new album from AKUS does not disappoint. The angelic voice of Alison Krauss together with the brilliant dobro of Gerry Douglas, the banjo of Ron Block, the guitar/mandolin of Dan Tyminski and the solid bass of Barry Bales make this a must for those who like good music. I have seldom purchased an album on which there was a track I did not care for, this CD is the exception. Perhaps because this band is made up of real muscicians they always produce a solid performance. The title track Paper Airplane is excellent but for me the tracks Dimming of the Day and My Loove Follows Where You Go are even better, Ron Block on the banjo is inspired. If you are a bluegrass fan this album is a must, if you are not it is still a must just for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still singing like an angel..., 4 April 2015
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paper Airplane (Audio CD)
...and that's just Dan Tyminski. Actually, Dan sounds at times uncannily like George Jones, but then the Master influenced most country singers.
This may well be - as some have implied - more of the same (though I don't really agree) but if 'the same' is as gorgeous as this, then bring it on. When you have a singer with a voice of near-perfect loveliness like Alison Krauss, a dobro player of the calibre of Jerry Douglas, and a second singer as good as Dan K, you know you're onto a winner.
I've yet to hear a below par album by the band, and this sounds to me like one of their most thoughtful, evocative records to date.
Alison sings most of the songs, with Dan taking lead on a handful. The combination of their two voices is heard to good advantage on some tracks too. Many of the songs on this 2011 release are slow and contemplative, giving it a grave beauty.
If you have the Exclusive Deluxe Edition as I do (as usual Amazon has lumped all the reviews together, whatever the edition) you're rewarded with six extra tracks, three of them from their album Live, which seems a bit odd, but as I don't have that one I'm not complaining.
I was fortunate enough to see Alison Krauss and Union Station in Manchester about ten years ago, and will never forget what a great gig it was, and how hilarious Alison is between songs. (You'd never think to look at her!) To have their music on so many CDs now is to be able to listen to some of the loveliest music being made right now.
There are two excellent cover versions that I should mention: Jackson Browne's My Opening Farewell and Richard Thompson's Dimming of the Day, both ideally suited to the sweetly plaintive soprano of Ms Krauss. They also do a Tim O'Brien song, and the band's banjo player Ron Block sings his own Faraway Land. And there's much else besides.
Alison K has one of the most captivating voices in the world, and she shows why on this lovingly put together album.

Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paper Airplane
Paper Airplane by Alison Krauss & Union Station
Buy MP3 Album£7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews