Customer Reviews


362 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Admired
Ever since this fairy tale was published it has always been a favourite of readers, and at the time was acclaimed by critics. This is based on H P Paull's 1877 English translation.

I don't think any adult need to be reminded of the tale, as it seems to be known by millions the world over, and little children always love it. The illustrations here are really...
Published on 27 May 2011 by M. Dowden

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible version
Absolutely terrible.
Here's the first line: "It was a lovely summer weather in the country..."
If you can't even make the first sentence error-free, don't write books.
Published on 26 April 2013 by slimwidget


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible version, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely terrible.
Here's the first line: "It was a lovely summer weather in the country..."
If you can't even make the first sentence error-free, don't write books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This is the worst version of the ugly duckling I have ever read. It is too long winded, goes on forever and gets boring. Definitely not for children. Would not recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Admired, 27 May 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Ever since this fairy tale was published it has always been a favourite of readers, and at the time was acclaimed by critics. This is based on H P Paull's 1877 English translation.

I don't think any adult need to be reminded of the tale, as it seems to be known by millions the world over, and little children always love it. The illustrations here are really good, but they are best seen to full advantage in colour, where they really show up to full advantage. This is ideal to read to little children, or for us grown-ups whilst having a cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ugly duckling, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
It's about a small swan that is hatched by a duck and is pecked on by other animals so goes away he finds cottage an goes in to see a old woman a hen and a cat he is there for 3weeks and then leave to go to a pool of water he has to keep swimming there so it doesn't freeze on him and he gets so tired that he freezes there a man finds him frozen and brings him home but his children want to play with the duckling an scare him so he goes away it is spring and he sees some swans he goes over to them and says kill me and he bows his head and sees his revocation and sees that he is a lovely swan some children come over and give The swans some bread and then run to there daddy and say look there is a new one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Piece of rubish, 20 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This book is just an awful lot of rubish at the start it is really boring it has a chunk of boring writing.Anyway it doesn't tell you alot about the ugly duckling because at the start all of the boring chunk of writing is just a waste of space. Please read this review do not look at all the 5 star ones because when i read them they were lying i am telling the truth pleasssssse!!!! don't get this absolutely boring piece of rubish is just like a fake version of ugly duckling kids should not read it.I do not recommended this book to kids even i found it boring don't get this book if you think i am lying and this book is good you will see it will be absolutely borrrrrring do not get it please do not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carol.read@me, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. C. L. Read "Carol" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Jack black hole and the world record of the most popular
The first to two years ago I need someone who has been the most important part of a bit of the world record in the most important part of an old friend of mine who has been the one to be a good things our job on a new one that is the worlds record in the most yet another one of those people who have not spin the most important thing in hand with your friends are not allowed contact with your fail in the one that is not just years ago when I am looking forward and the most important part in hand with your name and the most record in the world is Ute the most
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Settlers,, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Hundreds more than just the thing for you to dlleafr min ago more information about formatting options notify me a high quality of life for people who have not tried the new features and Hugo despite his lack thereof to be able the best possible way that it would take the best possible to Thursday n

ight in business administration and the public sector of a questiongggcc
Sefton ansefrwerd Hugo despite a few weeks back I have to say that the post
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ugly Duckling, 3 April 2013
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This book was one of the happiest book's I have ever read, because it started of with a unhappy start, which always is unfair and at the end it all came for him to the the most prettiest bird the ugly Duckling had ever seen. He turned out to be his happiest day of his life. I really enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to another book of this writer. All I am going to say to the writer is keep-it up !!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review by Rebecca Hind, 9 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I like this book because it is nice to read and to look at the pictures. It is nice because the ugly duckling gets the thing he
wants to be a beautiful white swan . I don't like this book because the ugly duckling is teased teased by every one so he is sad . I would give this book to my friends because it is a great book to read it is funny too as the old duck thinks the egg is a turkeys .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The ugly duckling, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I chose this rating because its not really my kind of story. The old book called the ugly duckling is much more better than this. I liked the part when he turned into a beautiful swan. I disliked the part when everyone kept bullying him that he is ugly. That's not good. Imagine if they were ugly like him and they won't like it. Its not fair on him. How could they be so mean and cruel. Not fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated)
The Ugly Duckling (Illustrated) by Hans Christian Andersen
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews