Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!!
i recently bought a candle making kit so thought this book would complement it nicely - boy was I surprised!!! It gave me many more ideas than i had thought of and most are very simple. Now everyone is getting candles for christmas. I was so pleased i have now started buying ingredients for the soap making chapters of this book. I would advise though that you purchase a...
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by Julie Griffiths

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse buy ever!!!
The book seems to contain some useful information about candle and soap making, but it is presented in an extremely dull fashion with so much I and I's and lots of I's. It gets boring reading through all the more "beating about the bush" and less of "heating the nail on the head". The book has good ideas I reckon but only if you have the patience of 'I don't know what on...
Published on 24 Sep 2011 by MYD ViBeS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!!, 12 Aug 2010
By 
Julie Griffiths "JG" (Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i recently bought a candle making kit so thought this book would complement it nicely - boy was I surprised!!! It gave me many more ideas than i had thought of and most are very simple. Now everyone is getting candles for christmas. I was so pleased i have now started buying ingredients for the soap making chapters of this book. I would advise though that you purchase a thermometer appropriate for candlemaking - it can make all the difference between a great candle and an ok candle. A 5* book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Candles and Soap For Dummies, 22 April 2009
Brilliant book- explains the trade lingo and goes into depth about techniques and materials. Clear and concise. The book even gives tips how to go around setting up your own business in the candle and soap making industry. Smashing book for the beginner or pro! 5 whole stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candle making review, 3 May 2013
Advantages:
Love love love my book great tips and ideas
Well explained
Easy to understand
Disadvantages:
Wish there was more colour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse buy ever!!!, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Making Candles and Soaps For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
The book seems to contain some useful information about candle and soap making, but it is presented in an extremely dull fashion with so much I and I's and lots of I's. It gets boring reading through all the more "beating about the bush" and less of "heating the nail on the head". The book has good ideas I reckon but only if you have the patience of 'I don't know what on earth'? which I obviously don't have. May be I am not a dummy. Although I have not read the whole book but funnily, the book does not tell us about the most exciting soap making skills. For example, how do you make soap from scratch using ingredients from home? the cold process is one of the most exciting methods of making soap and dodging it is quite questionable? All soap making processes have risks attached to them including melt and pour methods described in this book. It is therefore not a good reason to dodge that method because of the associated risk. It is therefore assessing and managing risk in any case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere this is poor, 11 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very very poor effort, if it was free I couldnt recomend it! the text is weak and contains about as much useful information and illustrations as you could place on 2 sides of A4. avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok for candles, not for soap-making, 13 Feb 2010
By 
C. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're interested in a beginner's book for candle-making, this may be worth a look. But the soap-making section is awful. Most soaps are made with a substance called lye, and the only reference to lye instructs the reader on how to avoid having to use it by buying 'ready soap' which is microwaved and put into moulds. Surely a book on soap-making should instruct the reader on how to use one of the most fundamental soap-making ingredients in the last two centuries? Poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CANDLE MAKING, 30 May 2009
By 
This box is exzctly as it states. The instructions and advice are excellent for beginners. If you want to start making candles this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dummy book on candles, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to follow instructions. The illustrations are clear. Would recommend to a beginner. And think that they would follow it with no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book,well set out and easy to understand. I would definatly reccomend this book for the beginner,very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant wait to get started, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is wonderful.I was making candles before,not successfully.It also has the added benifit of the soap section.Came in good time and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews