Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very honest insight into policing a modern day city
A very enjoyable and painfully honest account of modern day police work, gives an insight into policing that you would normally only get by doing the job.
Most books and TV programmes tend to idealise and glamourise police work, this book is definitely not a PR job for the police force.
The book is critical of the pace of change in the police 'service' and...
Published 16 months ago by David Rhodes

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very gritty
This is the fourth book of "real life copper" memoirs I have bought and it is very different from the others, in that it largely covers the areas where police fall short of the theoretical ideal.

Some of these nobody will approve of - lazy time-servers, seriously ill-conceived operations, policemen drunk on duty or behind the wheel.

Some will...
Published on 14 May 2013 by R. M. M.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read if the Police Force interests you., 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
As with many of the Police books available for Kindle this is worth every penny - easy to read, amusing whilst being informative, and helps the reader to understand how modern cops work & think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
I love this book I have it on my kindle I laugh when I'm reading it on the train and my wife complains as I keep telling her about the bits I have read a great book and very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars laugh out loud moments, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
What an awesom read this was! So many laugh out loud moments and incredible honesty, could t put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
great writing & so honest! paul really did struggle but in the end he took a brave gamble which paid off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
Well written memoirs by a very interesting character - was a read page turner.

(Please remove the word count limit on reviews as there is no need for it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish., 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
As an ex policeman I feel somewhat ashamed that Paul Browning should even attempt to write such an ungrammatical, badly spelled, jumbled,rambling and chronologically mixed up article. He also contradicts himself at least twice in this over-long book!
As regards the related levels of violence in his book. Any policeman will know that cities the size of Coventry have physically explosive outbursts from time to time. However,the alleged levels of violence experienced (almost daily) by this poor officer seems to be excessive - in fact so excessive that I find it very hard to believe! It also rather stretches my imagination when I read of his alleged swashbuckling violent responses to such assaults. I can honestly say that had such violent police attacks on the public occurred in my force; the perpetrators would have been (and were occasionally) faced with instant disciplinary action. Basic rank constables, and supervisory ranks would not have tolerated this excessive use of provocative and gratuitous force. If what Paul has written about himself is true, then for the good name and reputation of the force, no self respecting police officer of any rank would want to be associated with such an unstable and disagreeable character.
Grow up Paul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into life in the police, 23 April 2008
By 
J. Winters (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has to be the best autobiography I've read.

The author's honest and frank account of 12 years experience in the police force is hugely engaging - tragic and at times, hilarious.

If you can only come to understand someone by walking a mile in their shoes, this book delivers hundreds of miles of experiences and provides an opportunity to genuinely understand not only one man's struggle but the wider picture of policing and criminality in the UK.

If you've ever wondered what it's like to be in the police or just want the opportunity to see the world through someone else's eyes this book is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book if you want to know the truth about the Police!, 25 April 2008
By 
S. Rollings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first picked up 'The Good Guys Wear Blue' I was not too sure what to expect. However within minutes I found it hard to put down. This is a graphic account of what it was like (and maybe still is!) to be a police officer in the UK. The book is written in a very honest manner, and is filled with many stories that will make you laugh, some that shock, and some that will make you want to cry. The net result is a hugely engaging read which for me was a real eye opener. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fasinating, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
Found the book by accident whilst 'surfing' the Kindle Store . One of those books you can't put down. Could relate to most of it as served 30 years in Greater Manchester Police . Lots of in depth feelings and emotions in the scripts. Thought provoking. Really great read, now three quarters of the way through seven people saved my life. Got a feeling I will be 'absorbing' a few more of Paul's book in the very near future. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the squeamish, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guys Wear Blue: One Mans Struggle Policing the Streets of Broken Britain (Kindle Edition)
If you believe all you read here you are likely to lose some faith in our police force, it is a tough job done by men who, in my opinion, have insufficient training and are underpaid and under supported. Like anywhere there are good and bad and they need cool headed judgement and good back up both of which could be included in training.
I wish them the best of luck and thanks for sticking to this job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews